Day 20: Just Desserts

I’ve been obsessing over making a lemon drizzle cake since Friday. You know those days when you long to get stuck in and make something. 

Friday went by in a whizz, we made an absolute last minute plan to watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to find them and went straight from work/school to the cinema. What a treat it was, although I have to say, towards the end, I could have done with some of the action/destruction scenes edited out. But that’s just me. Other than that it was such a fun movie. And I love Eddie Redmayne. Having overdosed on nachos and soft drinks I certainly didn’t have any energy left to bake a cake. 

Saturday we had a Diwali night organised by an Indian organization and again the day whizzed by before we knew it. 

Sunday dawned nice and early when I was woken by a throbbing head at 4:00. I forced myself to go back to bed. All of us woke up late and only managed to have a late brunch. Through the morning, while I was making paniyarams, Lemon drizzle cake was playing on my mind. I was in two minds, too much heavy eating has been going on and baking a cake would mean some more torture for my tummy. That was when I remembered this vanilla and lemon pander donuts recipe.

You know instinctively, don’t you when you come across recipes that will work for you? This was one such recipe. My favourite flavours and no need to fry! What more can I ask for? So I threw in the ingredients and whipped it up. And how did it turn out? Absolutely delicious! Daughter and I loved it, husband didn’t like the lemony flavour. Unbelievable, isn’t it? I love citrus flavours in desserts, while he can’t stand it. I’m not complaining though, it just leaves more for Daughter and me. 

Where are the pictures you ask? Didn’t get a chance to take any. I halved the recipe since it was an experiment and it was over in minutes. 

I’ve got to make more now. Or should I make the lemon drizzle cake next? Decisions, decisions!

9 thoughts on “Day 20: Just Desserts

    • I wish! I so wish! Haven’t baked for ages actually. This obviously doesn’t count for baking. Had planned to do a proper Christmas cake this time but have lost the enthusiasm now.

So, what do you think?