Conditional Respect – 2

Something that always upsets me is when I see people behaving badly with others who have no option but to keep quiet and bear it.

Sadly, I keep seeing instances of that. I had written about this a few years ago, but can’t help writing about this again.

Yesterday, we were at a supermarket, and as we were leaving, the security guy checked our bill and our purchases – standard procedure in most places these days. There was a family ahead of us who they found had one packet of something that was not reflected on the bill. Probably a billing mistake, I am sure they wouldn’t have been stealing it, but as soon as the security guy pointed it out, they blew up, shouted at him, and threw the packet, rather aggressively, into the shop and stormed off. Totally over-the-top reaction, in my opinion. I am sure there was a polite way of handling it, especially because the security guy was quite polite.

This morning, again, at another supermarket(which begs the question, how much do I shop?, but that’s a question for another day :)), I saw another lady being rather nasty to the cashier because she did not pack the bag properly. I don’t know, it feels so sad when I see stuff like that. I do understand that people do get frustrated, but why take out our frustration on somebody else? The saddest part is the people who have to deal with such rude and nasty customers several times a day. I wonder how they must feel? Once I told a security guard, a simple Thank You, and had him tell me how some people are so rude to him. I am sure that he certainly appreciates the few kind words that must come to him.

Every time, I see such behaviour, I can’t help wonder what joy, what pleasure people get from treating others who can’t answer back, or who can’t retaliate badly.

Just a power trip, I suppose. Just a way of passing on what they might have been receiving from somewhere else.. Why else would one treat another person in this way?

16 thoughts on “Conditional Respect – 2

  1. hmmm you are right its the power trip, as such people are probably chicken outside and the only people they can shout is at the security in a store.. Although I doubt if the same people will be so rude here in uk.. I mean u seen the security people here ..

    sad

  2. hey we are blog-a-thon-mates.. and I m liking ur posts here.. You actually stole my thoughts, I exactly experienced a similar situation today and many more before came gushing in… completely agree with you on how ppl forget to give people respect…
    Yokay now plz dont blame me for stealing this concept as a blog which would come out soon..

  3. Sigh! I feel so bad when people act like that too 😦 The lady who works at my place keeps telling me that she likes working with us because we talk to her now and then whereas the neighbour always talks to her with an anger in her tone. Wonder why 😐

  4. I have realized this many times.. showing the power to weaker people who cannot react back is the least anyone could do.. doesn’t this apply everywhere? a teacher to students, principal to teacher, manager to subordinates, some parents to their kids.. its that superior feel that ones get that makes them act like this.. Sigghhhh

  5. I have had a similar experience with a security guard in a mall in Mumbai. I kept going there a few times and he recognised me right away just because when he wished me good morning, I smiled and wished him back. And said thank you and bye while leaving. And most importantly, acknowledged his presence.

  6. You know the true nature of a person by how they treat people lower down on the social and economic ladder. Someone said that right? JUdge a man by how he treats his inferiors. Common courtesy is oh so uncommon!

  7. I feel strongly about this too. But as Anisnest says it happens everywhere – talking down to people who one feel’s are not equal to you. And if one doesn’t have this basic decency of talking to people with respect, what makes one better in any way?

  8. Darn! Sometimes people can be so so rude na 😦 It just irritates me that we dont seem to thank people who are infact so helpful to us..one of things I do with R everyday is thank the BEST bus driver and conductor when we get off!

  9. I have seen this many times around me – this passing on of abuses and bad behaviour to people who can’t retaliate. It is so sad. I can’t help but be bugged by it too.

    I try to be as sensitive and polite as I can to the people around me, irrespective of their financial status or class. I can’t be any other way. Sometimes that too is misused, but then, that’s how I am.

  10. Pingback: Giving respect to an Individual | Lost in My Lil World

So, what do you think?