Day 23: Partywear Woes

‘Tis the time to be merry..

However for some of us its also the time to be weary. Weary of walking in and out of stores. No no, I’m not talking about Christmas shopping. That reminds me, I need to do that too, but before that I’ve got something more to worry about.

‘What do I wear for the office Christmas party’

I haven’t been to any of the office Christmas parties after I’ve joined work over three years ago. One reason or the other. This time it looks like all the stars have aligned. And a bunch of us have planned to go so we would have the  company too. The only fly in the ointment is what do I wear.

Let me explain. With my five feet nothing height, getting hold of the right clothes can sometimes be a  challenge. Even regular wear. I can find the most loveliest of clothes only to find that it’s  not available in petite. But with regular clothes I do manage to get hold of something. It’s been another story when it comes to evening wear or party wear. Not only do I need clothes that fit me, I have some other considerations to add to it. 

Here’s my wishlist

  •  something smart and yet not something that makes me stand out. 
  • a dress for which I can get shoes that I can actually walk in. With some of shoes on offer I’ll need crutches to be able to move on. Sigh.
  • Something affordable. I’m not spending an exhorbiant amount on a dress that will languish in my wardrobe until I can another occasion to wear it to.
  • And finally, something that hides all my tyres and make me look trim and sleek. 

Not a great deal to ask for, I’d have thought but clearly I was living in an imaginary world. I’ve walked in and out of all the possible stores and have one outfit that I could just about make do with. The next two weeks, my lunch hour will be be booked for this. Fingers crossed I’ll find something half decent.

So anybody else in a similar boat as me?

5 thoughts on “Day 23: Partywear Woes

  1. Ah! The what to wear woes! And it comes with so many things attached no. If you figure out the dress, there’s the footwear then there’s the hair which will never be on your side when you need it the most. Oh I hear you Smits!

    So let us know when you do figure out what to wear! A picture on FB would be even better 😜

    • I forgot about hair and make-up! I’m rubbish at both anyway πŸ™‚ I might as well go in a pair of jeans at this rate πŸ˜‰ Deeps, pic? You might be better off not seeing a pic of me dressed for the party. Or knowing me I might look just the same πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

