Day 5- Footloose and Fancy-Free..

…was our state for the last five days.

Actually, child-free is the probably the more appropriate terminology although truth be said, I did feel a little footloose and fancy free..

  •  No rushing from work just in time to reach the after school club. 
  • No morning madness to get her ready in time. Actually, all that I do these days is scream all the time in the mornings, all the actual getting ready bits are done by her, but still. 
  • Lazier mornings, and on one morning when I had the worst headache in the world, I had the luxury of having an extra 1/2 hour lie in rather than having to get up anyway and get on. Pure Luxury.
  • Evenings spent outside, shopping, with no worries around it being a school night.
  • Husband and I watched a movie together at the cinema last night after ages. A grown up movie that is. Bridget Jones’ Baby if you insist on knowing. 

One of daughter’s friend’s mum asked me how I coped, did I miss her terribly, and I had to be honest, ‘Not particularly’!

And yet, I wonder why, I spent the whole day today, checking my email for school updates. Willing them to email that they are arriving earlier than expected. 

Wonder why I left work at 15:45 when I didn’t hear any further updates from school. 

Wonder why I couldn’t wait in the car for the coach to arrive.

Wonder why I couldn’t help stamp my feet in annoyance when minutes ticked by without any sign of the coaches.

Wonder why I couldn’t wait to have that daughter of mine back in my arms.All the freedom, the fun, the joys of being ‘free’ was forgotten at the sight of her waving at me through the windows of the bus. Her non-stop chattering, her excitement at all that she did at the trip. So much to share from the moment I picked her up. All the shopping, movies, dinners of the world aren’t worth the happiness of having her back at home. Even if all she is doing is sitting and reading a new book her dad got for her from his trip to India. I’ll take that anytime.

God! How am I going to manage when she goes to Uni! And its only about 8 years away! 

8 thoughts on “Day 5- Footloose and Fancy-Free..

  1. LOL! Hugs Smits! I totally get what you mean. The child-like excitement and a mom-like anxiety at the same time.

    The half hour of extra sleep is what I looked forward to most when Namnam went camping but as the day closed in, there was such a strong urge in both R & I to go to her room to kiss her goodnight!

    I told him the same thing that you felt..wonder how I will cope when she leaves for uni! I am so going to be a wreck 😀

    • Deeps, there was a funny vacuum, something missing, wasn’t there? I’m so glad she’s back. And I might have to do what a friend of mine was planning – move to a flat whereever she goes to Uni. Although that might be a sure fire way of ensuring that she completely disowns me.

  2. Awwww! I totally get it! Not really but really miss the kid 🙂 I was away on work last week and enjoyed the alone time but still felt alone that the little fellow is not with me…does that make sense?

So, what do you think?

