Day 31: An election that counts

This was not what I planned for the last post of the blog marathon. Funnily enough, this blog marathon hasn’t been as tough as the others so far. I’ve been having loads of ideas, the only problem was getting the time to jot it all down.

Anyway, as I said, this wasn’t what I had planned. I had planned a nice, ‘it’s been so much fun doing this blog marathon’ post. Also, this one is extra special, as this has been the only blog marathon, apart from that photo a day challenge, that I have actually completed. I normally fall off somewhere. Not this time, clearly. Maybe I should just do this, chose the busiest time of the year and do a blogathon. It was such a fun ride. I didn’t comment on posts, as much as I would have liked to, or read as much as I would have liked to, but still enjoyed it thoroughly. So thank you, Seema, for roping me in πŸ™‚

Getting on to the topic I wanted to discuss. Delhi elections. I’ve been a sporadic follower of events. I’ve been reading stuff off and on. My sympathies (and my vote, if I were eligible) are completely with the Aam Aadmi Party.

They have released their manifesto today, and it is such a thought out manifesto. So many points had me nodding away. Who wouldn’t vote for a party like this, I thought. But I am wrong. So many wouldn’t.

Why? Now that is something I can’t figure out. Why are we fine with voting in career politicians who have done little or nothing in all the years of being in power? Why do we jump on Kejriwal and demand explanations for all sorts of things? Let me clarify here, there is absolutely nothing wrong with holding politicians accountable and asking them for explanations. What makes me wonder is that the nobody seems to be holding a BJP or a Congress to the same standards. It is almost as if they have got some holy exemption on the grounds of having been in politics for long.

The vitriol against AAP also makes me wonder why BJP, for instance, is so worried that AAP might win. The only reason is that they know that they will be forced to be more accountable. They wouldn’t be in a position to line their pockets as much as they could. They wouldn’t be able to get away with doing nothing. That to me is the biggest reason AAP has to win the Delhi elections. We need an honest party, we need someone to keep the mainstream politicians in check, we need a party that is accountable. Hopefully, one day, all parties will be forced to the same high standards.

If they lose, we are in danger of losing the last chance of having an alternative. I’m not saying that AAP is the epitome of all things good, but I do think that they mean better than other parties. They have less at stake.

And all those who say, ‘Kejriwal was given a chance’, all I ask is, why are we so reluctant to give them another chance while we happily give BJP and Congress chances after chances.

I’ve got my fingers crossed (and toes). I do hope Aam Aadmi Party wins. Even if they don’t, I hope they get a sizeable number to make a strong opposition. And I hope that us, the people of India, question what our media, our politicians feed us and make a decision that will actually make a difference in our lives.

17 thoughts on “Day 31: An election that counts

  1. Congrats on completing the marathon! πŸ™‚

    You already know my thoughts on the Delhi politics, Smitha. Like you say, I hope AAP gets a sizeable portion of the votes even if they don’t win. That way they could keep the ‘seasoned’ politicians in check! But I really hope they do win. Let’s see.

    • Thank you Maya! Congrats to you too! We’ve all done it together.

      As for politics, we are both in the same camp, aren’t we? let’s hope things work out for the best.

  2. I felt this way last time around. But kejriwal does nt seem to know what he is doing. His claims and actions are far from each other too.
    Yes, that is the case with all politicians. But it is his holier than thou attitude that does a tap dance on my nerves.

  3. I felt this way last time around. But kejriwal does nt seem to know what he is doing. His claims and actions are far from each other too.
    Yes, that is the case with all politicians. But it is his holier than thou attitude that does a tap dance on my nerves.
    And congrats on completing the blogathon!! I ve been reading your posts every single day and I enjoyed all of them!
    I have nt commented because wordpress always gives me hell of a time before publishing my comment if at all. So with prayers I post this comment πŸ™‚

    • Kejriwal, I think needs PR which most seasoned politicians have. But when I listen to him, he feels honest. He doesn’t talk big and fluff around. That gives me hope.

      So glad you liked the posts, I was literally just about managing to post. Too many nonsensical posts πŸ™‚ Thanks anyway πŸ™‚

  4. Congrats on completing the blogathon πŸ™‚

    I do agree with you on Delhi politics. And whenever an election comes we are looking for a candidate who has lesser of corruption or crime records of all. That is a sad state and wish that changes.

  5. congratulations Smitha… we all did it πŸ™‚ Delhi politics? what there is election in Delhi? such is my current state.. sorry 😦 I am not following news, not at all… Its been ages I even opened a news site or feed..

  6. I doubt if AAP will win again, the reason being we the people who vote hardly vote while thinking , it is like a trend with us .. we vote for the sake of it ..

    and actually I dont think we look at those who are less corrupt or have lesser criminal records its the other way round if we go by history we actually VOTE for those who are Well known offenders and who have so many cases of corruption going on against them ..

    I think it is more of who is in the news more no matter if it is right or wrong .. GOt to be in the public eye , however to win the battle of votes πŸ™‚

    and congrats on finishing the blogathon ..

So, what do you think?

