Day 29: It’s all about food!

I’ve seen Srividhya’s tag  going around and had been planning to use it. One day. Today is that day. Desperate times. When I don’t have the energy to think. Actually yesterday was the same but I remembered something that I could make into a post. And given that we are this close to completing the Marathon, I would hate to give up now.

So here we go.

1.What is the first dish that you cooked?

Ooh! That’s a tough one. I think it was boiled eggs. Once my friends and I had a picnic. We used to live in a set of terraced houses and the end of the line of houses was a club house sort of place. It was a house which was used as a club, to be more accurate. And after they had some functions there, I vaguely remember that there were some sort of cooking stove, left behind. I can’t even remember what or how, but I remember my friends and I boiling eggs and making Maggi. I must have been around 13-14, and I do think my contribution must not have extended beyond shelling the eggs. But still, it counts, doesn’t it. I do remember us being super excited about it 🙂

2.What is the first dish that you cooked for your better half? (If you are not married, you can tell us what you are planning to cook for him/her)?

I can’t remember what I first made for husband, but can assure you that whatever I made was definitely a complete disaster. I was a horrible cook. Not that I’m any good now, but at least it is marginally edible now 🙂

3.Which food were you reserved to try first but then liked later it since you acquired the taste?

Chicken. My family is a little different. My mum is a non-vegetarian but my dad is a vegetarian. He had no problem with us having non-veg, but it was quite rare for us to have non-veg at home. When we were little, it was mainly when we went to my grandparents place in Wayanad that we had non-veg. Mainly chicken. Now, I would never eat it. For the longest time, I refused to touch it. Until I became friends with a girl called M. She used to describe chicken with such detail that I had to try. Absolutely had to try. And once I tried it, I fell in love with the taste.

4.What is your comfort food?

Anything at all that Amma makes. And if that is not an option, Dosa with chutney.

5.Which dish of yours you like the best?

I adore my version of ennai kathrikai.

6.Which dish of yours your family likes the best?

Daughter loves her green curry. That’s my secret curry which allows me to sneak in all sorts of vegetables.

Husband loves my coconut chutney, my dosas and rava dosa at this point in time.

7.What is your favorite street food?

Chaats and golgappas in Jamshedpur. Nothing, absolutely nothing comes close.

8.Tell us about any of your kitchen disaster story.

Now here’s a question I can answer with aplomb. I can just walk into the kitchen and create a disaster. You can read about how efficient I am here and here and here.
And if you are still not satisfied, let me tell what I’ve managed to do just the other day. I’ve managed to mess up my Dosa batter. Big time. Something has gone wrong with it. It is stinking instead of having that lovely smell of fermented batter.

9.Any one or two food confessions 😉 😉

I hate sweet in savoury dishes. Even in chaats, I’m not too fond of the sweet chutney.

I love salads. Almost all sorts of salads.

I can’t stop eating some sort of snacks, like biscotti for instance.

10.Apart from basic stuff, like milk, yogurt, veggies what you have in your fridge or in pantry? (Name any 3 items)

1. Hummous
2. Pita bread
3. Desiccated coconut

11.Any food related or cooking resolutions for this year?

I don’t do resolutions but I’m always trying to eat lunch on time and carry healthy snacks to work. And carry lunch if possible. And to avoid sweets.

12.In our custom when you goto Kasi, you need to give up one of your favorite veggie and fruit. So you cannot eat that veggie or fruit from then on. Which one you would you give up? (It should be your favorite one)

Oh dear me! I would just give up this tradition 😉

13.You need to prepare a 3 course meal for a party? What dishes will be there in your menu?

Aloo tikki chaat / panirayams with peanut chutney

Pulav/Jeera rice/lemon rice with methi malai mutter/ennai kathrikai/ dal makhani/ Kerala style egg curry

Store bought naans

Tiramisu or a Tres Leches cake for dessert.

And I’m done! I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed doing this tag!

15 thoughts on “Day 29: It’s all about food!

  1. Ahhh.. Thank you so much for taking this tag and pinging back 🙂 Glad you enjoyed and I loved all the answers too. Tres Leches is our favorite. I am ordering the same for kiddo’s bday. 🙂

    • Srividhya, Thank you! Thank you for creating the tag, I had so much fun doing it!

      We all love tres leches. I haven’t made it in a while though. One of these days, I’ve got to make it.

  2. Would you pls share the recipe for ennai kathirikai? the husband loves kathirikai as much as I hate it and there are a bunch of kathirikais wating patiently for me to pick from the refrigerator..I was thinking of turning them into vaangi baath for this weekend’s lunch..
    what is green curry? is it thai style? my green curry would be just keerai masiyal 🙂

    your party platter is so inviting… paniyaramssss slurrpppp

  3. “My mum is a non-vegetarian but my dad is a vegetarian. He had no problem with us having non-veg, but it was quite rare for us to have non-veg at home”…oh my god!! You described our household totally!! My sons do eat non-veg readily though but usually from restaurants!!

So, what do you think?

