Day 7: I lust after….

…Food!

I love my food. Not the food I make but the food I like to eat. Sometimes, very rarely, the foodmakes the cut, but I’m such an inconsistent cook that it happens quite rarely.

I am going to tell you about the food that make me drool, food that I can dream about.. Food that makes me happy. In no particular order, just as they pop into my head.

1. Burrito Bowls. The first time I had one of these was in America, at Chipotle, over 12 years ago. It was ‘love at first bite’. Such a delicious thing! Coriander and lemon rice, layered with refried black beans, grilled chicken topped with a selection of salsa (I have a bit of each variety) and salad. I forego the sour cream, avocado and cheese. I like mine without that. And then just dig in. The hot and sour taste with the milder taste of grilled chicken and the crunch of the salad! Heaven. My mouth’s watering at the mere thought of it. I dragged husband to try these when we went back on a trip to Las Vegas, and he ended up loving it just as much as I did. If there has been one thing I’ve missed in the UK, it’s been these.
Luckily enough, they have started showing up in the UK as well. We came across a chain in Bristol which came quite close to the original a few months ago, and this time in London, I ate my heart out at Chipotle. So so very satisfying.

2. Pasta – I’m a pasta person. I’m not too fond of pizza unlike husband. Daughter likes both. Nothing makes me happier than a delicious pasta. It could be creamy with a hint of cayenne pepper, or just drizzled with olive oil and mouthwatering pesto. With some grated parmesan. Bliss. I could have some now!

3.Dosas – if there is something that is my ultimate comfort food, it has to be dosas. I can’t begin to tell you how much I enjoy them. I have such wonderful memories of coming home from school and Amma making the most yummy dosas with delicious sambhar as a snack. There were years when we would go hunting for Chennai Dosa (a chain of restaurants here). Those times have come to an end, because I make the yummiest of dosas now:)

4. Golgappas – You know how the tastes you grow up with stay with you? Well, nothing can match the taste of golgappas in Jamshedpur. I’ve learnt from bitter experience that none of the places I go to have that perfect combination of flavours! I’ve managed to replicate it to a large extent at home so these days if I feel like some golgapppas, I just make them at home.

5. Chicken Biryani – I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I have to say it again. I absolutely love chicken biryani. Especially the ones we get in Andhra restaurants in Bangalore. And it’s been so long since I’ve had them. Sigh.

(To be continued) .. In the meanwhile, why don’t you folks tell me what you lust after?

23 thoughts on “Day 7: I lust after….

  1. Wowie… Love at first bite!! I love nachos, pasta, gol gappa… I am already hungry and the list is unending.. Food was and will always be the love of my life :)..

  2. RIGHT now where am i supposed to get the Golgappas and Dosa’s at this time of the day.. right I am going to get in my car and Drive to yours .. so you better have some of these READYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    this is what you get for posting a delicious yummy post .. and then not providing all this food tooo ..

  3. Loved this post!

    My one and only true lust is the great gujarati thali! I can never get all the items in a sitting at home, sigh. During my pregnancy, I went to a famous place some 20km from my home, only to find it closed that very day for some wiring issue 😥

  4. I love everything that you mentioned in the post except for Burrito Bowls (which I’m yet to have and it has been added to my bucket list with immediate effect) and Pasta (I do enjoy a good bowl of pasta once in a while but not a great fan)

    The way you have described each and every item in the list, Im gonna have sleepless night for sure. I’m lusting for them now.

  5. A foodie’s list. Dosa, Golgappa and pasta ma fav too. Loove Briyani, Pav Bhaji and beef fry to death plus South Indian ani Maharashtrian Thali:) Pulao is another favorite of mine. The list is endless:)

  6. Lovely.

    I love pizzas and pastas, any variety of sweet-sour chaat, pav bhaji, well-made pulao, undhiyu, khaman, and roti with aam ras. 🙂

    Haven’t had the burrito bowls ever. They sound gorgeous!

    • I’m not too fond of sweet in chaats. I get put off by the fact that most chaat places put that sweet chutney by default. I like the sour and hot variety more 🙂

  7. Pingback: Day -19 I Lust After… (a stolen tag) | mylifenthoughts

So, what do you think?

