Domestic Disaster-ess

I can be a domestic disaster pretty much every day, but some days… Some days are extra special when nothing ever goes right.

Waking up to a headache is normally a clue, in my case. It doesn’t help that you’ve had some really busy days, when even weekends are crazy, every minute of sleep counts, and when you wake up with an aching head, feeling like you haven’t had a wink of sleep, things don’t seem quite as rosy.

Today was one such day. I woke up with a headache. Headaches are horrible for me, at any time of the day, but when I wake up with one, it’s just pure torture.
So I had to drag myself out of bed, with my head banging with every move I make. Forcing myself to get on with things which had to be done. The kitchen was a mess, I had been too exhausted yesterday to pop things into the dishwasher, and dishes sat there, staring at the incompetent woman who left them in such a miserable state, tutting away, I’m sure, but I was happy to ignore them until evening when I would have more time to tackle them.

Downing a cup of coffee made me feel a wee bit more human, which isn’t saying much, but still. I managed to put a saucepan of water to boil an egg in and rushed off to have a quick shower. Rushing back into the kitchen, after the shower, I poured out some milk into instant oats (easiest option is all I can think of on days like this), and popped the bowl Into the microwave. Next thing on my list was to take the boiled egg off the cooker, and in my hurry, to my total horror, I found myself knocking the bottle of milk over with the saucepan of boiling water. I had boiling water splash on my hand and milk all over the counter and the floor!

I could have cried and I would have, for sure, if only I had the time. My morning routine is water-tight. I have no time for luxuries like cleaning the kitchen or crying over split milk. But today, I had no option, unless I wanted to come back home to a stinking house. Instead of sitting down for breakfast, I had the fun job of mopping the kitchen down. I wish I could tell you that it was a quick 10 minute thing. It took ages, absolutely ages. My slow-as-a-snail, when it comes to eating daughter, had finished her breakfast and had a bath before I managed to finish cleaning that mess. And the icing on the cake? The milk in the instant oats which I had popped in the microwave had boiled over too! My cleaning woes clearly showed no sign of abating. There’s only so much cleaning I can take before 8 in the morning!

Clearly there was no way I could reach work on time, so I just gave up trying. Reached school on time, thankfully, and I reached work 15 mins late, not too bad, when I think of all the chaos.

But there was a silver lining :), I came back home, in the evening, to an absolutely gleaming kitchen after ages.

38 thoughts on “Domestic Disaster-ess

  1. Aww, Smithu! Hugs, for seeing the sliver lining 😀
    ‘No time to cry over spilt milk’ 😆
    This was very well-written.
    Charlie chaplin was right, comedy is tragedy seen from a distance… 🙄 :mrgreen:
    *runs away laughing*

  2. God! Some days are like that!! I have seen that usually the magnitude of such disasters is inversely proportional to the time at hand. Glad for the silver linings! 🙂

  3. Hahaha! Hugs, Smits! Some days are just not yours. I can totally relate with the post. But you have recounted the crazy moments so hilariously that I couldn’t help laughing. Goodness you didn’t have time to cry even..LOL! Hugs again! You take care 🙂

    • Hugs Deeps 🙂 it did feel funny in hindsight, when I was out of the situation 🙂 I still don’t know how I managed to be so efficient in messing everything up. And I didn’t learn from experience, I spilt some milk, again. Nothing to yesterday’s scale, but still managed to spill a little. Sigh!

  4. Hugs! I had similar experiences all of last week. Feels like we are in a zombie world due to sleep deprivation…it’s all a continuum. Sometimes I feel I haven’t slept since I had my baby. Hang in there..

    • Hugs, Maddie! I’m a total zombie if I’m sleep deprived. I can’t even blame it on Daughter, I’m useless. I wake up at 5:30 even on the weekends.

  5. Oh poor you Smiths…. But I did have a little laugh because I’ve just left a kitchen either a sink full of dishes and an oven with dosai batter that just got BAKED into a mega and Inedible idli/dosai … I’d left it there to rise and had forgotten all about it. Dozed off only to wake up to find a vessel of baked batter… Bwaaaaa

  6. Hi, It felt as if I am reading about myself, this is exactly how I run in the mornings and I can so understand how you must be feeling when everything went wrong but then all’s well that ends well… coming here after ages… take care

  7. Pingback: Day 29: It’s all about food! | Any Excuse to Write…

So, what do you think?

