Daughter Tales. Again.

*This was sitting in my drafts, possibly drafted over three months ago and completely forgotten. I’m just posting it as it is, too lazy to read & edit*

I’ve come to realise that I have a rather politically correct daughter.

The other day I was trying out a skirt in a shop fitting room. It didn’t look the best on me, to say the very least.

So I turn to Daughter and say,’ I look rather fat, don’t I?’

Daughter,’ Let’s not say fat, let’s say big’.

She’s mad about science. She just turned eight a few days ago, and all she wanted was a Chemistry set. She wanted the test tubes and all the works. I managed to track down something that met her specifications just days before her birthday. And needless to say, she’s been delighted with it. We did our first experiment the other day. And someone completely enjoyed it.

image

They’ve started an after school scienxe club at school, and last Monday was the first session of the club. She woke up in the morning, came over, hugged me and shouted,’It’s Mad Science today’. First thing in the morning. Someone definitely doesn’t have Monday Blues.

We’ve now got enough books to open a small book shop. All sorts of books, but my favourite is this one.

20140521-183141-66701520.jpg

The cover was enough to transport me to my childhood days.

In other Daughter related news, she came home on Monday and asked me, ‘Did Modi win the Indian election?’

I was stunned. We hadn’t discussed Indian elections in that much detail with her. She knows the concept of a democracy and how it works, but not about the actual parties or the people contesting.

‘Yes, how did you know?’

‘Mr P mentioned it in the Assembly today’, came the answer.

Mr P is the head teacher at her school and he discusses world events at assemblies at school. They discuss a lot of current affairs and it is really interesting to see how much children grasp. I’m forever thankful that she has such interesting teachers at her school.
While on the subject of schools, I have to say, I am deeply grateful. Such a lovely environment. We had an open evening where children demonstrated diverse subjects such as volcanoes and poetry using dance, music and imagination. They also have such a diverse outdoor playtime with games like hockey, football and cricket. We just count ourselves lucky that Daughter was lucky enough to be part of such a nurturing and enriching environment.

28 thoughts on “Daughter Tales. Again.

  1. Wishing the little one a very happy birthday and many many happy returns of the day.. god bless..

    And I cant believe that the little ones mom is a stranger again inspite of being in same city.. hmmmm well never mind I do get the hint..

    coming back to little one .. its good to know about her taste in science .. wooooo hoooo wish I had when I was a kid..

    All the best to her always and my best wishes…

  2. Oh that cover is so enticing. So she’s a science fan – enough to be happy on a Monday. that’s just so great. And good to see you writing again. Dig up all those drafts Smitha.

    • The other drafts in there all need work. This writing spurt is just because I took a few days off. Back to work now, so not sure if this will continue 😦

  3. Belated birthday wishes to your little angel! πŸ™‚
    Loved the ‘big’ and ‘not fat’ idea. πŸ™‚

    Kids are indeed diplomatic when it comes to parents. Mine whispers to me slowly at night when the lights are switched off: “Mamma, start eating one chappati less, else you won’t be able to pick yourself up when you fall.” πŸ˜›

  4. awww!! Cute she is!! She is 8 already?! baap re! where did the time go?! Hugs to her and you..
    you are so not fat or big! πŸ˜›

  5. I am so jealous that you live in UK, where I am assuming you can find Enid Blyton books in any book shop? Back home, I had all of them in hard covers….sigh! I miss my books.

    Muahh to Poohi and she is already 8? When was her bday?

    Psst psst… my boy will love to hang around with Poohi, as he loves science and astronomy too πŸ™‚

    • Do you want Enid Blytons? I can send them to you. We do get Enid Blytons easily here.

      She is 8 😦 it was in April. I had this sitting in my drafts for 3 months! I suspect they will get along like fire! He loves Harry Potter too, doesn’t he?

  6. β€œSo, your kids must love the iPad?” I asked Mr. Jobs, trying to change the subject. The company’s first tablet was just hitting the shelves. β€œThey haven’t used it,” he told me. β€œWe limit how much technology our kids use at home.”
    I’m sure I responded with a gasp and dumbfounded silence. I had imagined the Jobs’s household was like a nerd’s paradise: that the walls were giant touch screens, the dining table was made from tiles of iPads and that iPods were handed out to guests like chocolates on a pillow.
    Nope, Mr. Jobs told me, not even close.

So, what do you think?

