Counting My Blessings

Life.

It sure knows how to shake you out of complacency, doesn’t it? One minute, you are planning for the future, the next minute has you wondering what hit you.

Sometimes all I want to do is lie down and go to sleep and wake up only to realize that everything was actually a dream. If only life worked like that.

As easy as it is to wallow in negativity, the one thing I’ve realized is that counting one’s blessings makes such a difference. Of course, I might not always do that when I do feel low and down, but when I get to it, it makes me feel better, instantly.

Little things that make me happy. Being so far away from my parents is something, I always feel bad about, but just knowing that I can rush there whenever I need to, helps. I can’t imagine how difficult it must have been for people who emigrated a few decades ago. Without the conveniences of phones,or the internet to communicate with, or perhaps not even the money to make a quick trip back home.

Daughter and her antics. Some drive me up the wall, but most times, I feel incredibly grateful to have her in our lives. She is the sunshine in our lives.

Having a supportive partner, is such a huge blessing. Especially when you see how hard some people have it.

Getting to spend time with my parents. No matter how old I get, that feeling of being with them, is priceless. One that I look forward to all the time. And when I leave home to return here, that sadness, never reduces. It always makes me wonder how people can differentiate between genders and expect women to have no ties with her family. The emotions that bind parents to children, surely is the same, irrespective of gender. Yes, some might be more attached, but that is a personality thing, isn’t it?

Coming back to what I was talking about, so many little things to be grateful for. Facing a difficult situation, for me, has, in many ways, made me count my blessings, made me appreciate what I have, even more.

So when daughter, all of the sudden, gives me massive hug, and clings on to me, pretending to be a Koala bear, I hug back, hold on to her, for a few more minutes, basking in the love she showers on me, even if we are running late for school.

20 thoughts on “Counting My Blessings

  1. Sigh! What a lovely post, just captures your mood so perfectly! I guess we should be thankful for lovely stuff in life na?

    Glad you posted,I was going to email you and ask where you disappeared πŸ™‚

  2. So true, it is all these small little blessings that make life worth living overlooking all the negativity and rotten things, isn’t it?

  3. The last few lines brought a smile a to my face πŸ™‚ and reminded me of a bear hug moment!!!

    Counting our blessings is something which we should do quite often…..all will be fine….

  4. Yes, blessed we are.. of the supportive people who surround us, and the peaceful times we have.. and to feel blessed is a blessing as well.. hugs Smiths πŸ™‚ beautifully written resonates so well with most of us πŸ™‚

  5. This post is so appropriate to me , I can’t tell you how much alike we think. Looks like you have written what’s on my mind. Good to hear from you after long time. How’s everything at your end?

So, what do you think?

