Bird Watching

It all began when I was browsing on Amazon and came across bird feeders. I read reviews of people who said, ‘Just install this and see the wild birds flock to your garden!’. Now that sounded just wonderful! What fun it would be!

So I ordered it right away. Actually, I wasn’t so impulsive, I browsed around a bit, and then found one in a little store in the town centre, cheaper than at Amazon! So I dragged Husband to the town centre(I needed the car to bring it back home, taking a taxi would have beaten the purpose of a good deal, no?), on the promise that I will set it up, he just needed to act like a chauffeur.

So I had it all set up and sorted as soon as we got home, and then the wait began. I would watch whenever I got the chance, in the hope of getting to see those wild birds flocking to the garden. Very soon, those hopes disappeared. I couldn’t spot a single bird, although I could see the nuts vanishing but never did I manage to catch a single bird eating it! Who was eating up the nuts? Was it this gutsy squirrel, who roamed around the garden?

P1180274

To be fair to it, I never saw it close to the bird feeder, but you never know. I even delegated the watching job to husband and daughter, but they weren’t to be tempted, or bribed – I tried it all.

The waiting and watching continued. I emptied bags of nuts, into the feeder, only to see it disappearing with no sign of whose mouth it was disappearing into. Until one day, I saw her! A magpie pecking away at the nuts.P1180283

Soon I had given up waiting for all those exotic birds to come flocking to the garden. I still topped up the bird feed, but I didn’t do any more watching. I decided to satisfy myself with the pigeons and the magpies. They, were very frequent. They even fought for the bird feed at times. I could see the evidence of the fights, if I happened to miss it, the grass near the bird feeder would be littered with feathers. Only feathers, thank god, I don’t think I have it in me to clear up anything more gory.

Then, one morning, out of nowhere, I came down for my morning cup of coffee, and glanced out, to see this!

Edited to change the picture. This one is slightly better than the other one.

P1180822

I had no idea what bird it is, but it was so cute! And different! At least it wasn’t a magpie or a pigeon! I just wish it were a clearer day. It was a really foggy day and had glass windows as an additional obstacle, so it wasn’t the clearest of pictures. But, it still made me happy. And also a little bit more hopeful. May be I might get lucky with those wild birds, after all? May be not, but nothing wrong with dreaming 🙂

PS: Since then, I did my research and I think it is a Blue Tit.

9 thoughts on “Bird Watching

  1. Aah… I wish I could keep some feed out for birds here too.. But I would have crows and pigeons alone fighting it out!

    That small one, the blue tit… looks too cute!

    • Funnily crows seem to keep away here:) But I think magpies are part of crow family, if I remember correctly. The last couple of days, something seems to be knocking the tray off and feeding off the nuts. I’m wondering how to capture it red handed.

So, what do you think?

