Of Royal babies, old and new

I woke up this morning to the news that the Duchess of Cambridge has gone into labour. What excitement!

My whole twitter timeline was talking only about that. There were royal baby jokes, wisecracks, and others sincerely wishing the parents-to-be all sorts of stuff. Midwives asking Kate to ‘hang in there’, as if she were going to run away saying,’ that’s it, it’s too painful, the baby can stay inside me’. Of course,,she would ‘hang in there’. There were others asking her to stay calm. Yes, I’m sure she must have been so relieved to hear all that. She must have been on Twitter, to find out just what she needed to do:)

The frenzy was funny to watch. I didn’t get a chance to switch on the telly but I can imagine breathless anchors speculating about every single thing. From the sex of the baby to the possible names.

While I could understand the British media going over the top, I couldn’t figure out what our Indian media was so excited about. Had they forgotten about our own Royal baby? Come on! That is just not done! Nor when he tries so hard to remain a ‘baby’! Our own Peter Pan. He must have been heart broken.

Then I understood. Our folks in the media must have remembered that our royal baby has vowed never to get married and have children. That would mean -No more Royal Babies for India! That wouldn’t do, would it? Something had to be done!

If our royal baby refuses to oblige, then we can just adopt this royal baby as our own, can’t we? This royal baby even had an Indian connection after all, what with Prince William and his Gujju connection. All sorted.

So tell me, have you guys been following the birth of the Royal Baby? I had a busy day, Twitter kept me posted though:)

27 thoughts on “Of Royal babies, old and new

  1. I woke up to the only this morning πŸ™‚ when somebody’s last night post appeared on my timeline – saying its a boy…now all of you can go to sleep…… and only hash tagging royal baby. For a moment I thought its a personal news πŸ™‚

  2. Indian royal heir? Who? Please to pardon me for my ignorance. 😦

    About Ms Middleton’s baby boy, I heard that the first thing in the morning, thanks to Facebook. I think it is news-worthy, considering they are a royal family, but the extent to which these things are hyped up is sheer madness. Remember all the hype that was created during Aishwarya Rai-Bachchan’s pregnancy?

  3. OMG it is so crazy! I followed the news just to amuse myself at the media circus! I think if we see planet Earth now from space it will be blue all over what with Canada, US, New Zealand all celebrating the royal birth.

  4. I am waiting for Aaj Tak to show the baby with his head encircle with a dark red indicator with an arrow pointed at it. The headlines – The queen inaugurated the baby by cutting the cord.

    • Me too! I woke up to it, when I opened Twitter to check the headlines. Only to see that my timeline was full of the Duchess going into labour:)

  5. I’m kinda bored with this hooplah around the newborn. Could we move on please? Or that’s what I felt like saying πŸ˜›

    Thank goodness the baby is born. Let’s get it over with. Oh wait, this is just the beginning eh?

    • Goodness, IHM! I don’t even know what to say to that! To me, I would feel sorry for her that if she has to worry about being glammed up at a time like this..

      • Here it is:

        //Personal message:
        . . . . . . . . . THANK YOU KATE, FOR SPARING US SOME NONSENSE FROM INDIAN FEMINIST BLOGGERS! . . . . . . . . . .

        Kate Middleton and Prince William’s First Day as New Parents | Royal Baby Buzz – Yahoo! Shine

        There’s the royal baby! Kate Middleton and Prince William introduced the world to England’s future king when they exited St. Mary’s Hospital on Tuesday evening (local time) carrying their newborn son.//

        • That guy has been seriously rankled by the ‘nonsense from Indian feminist bloggers’ πŸ™‚ The sad thing is that so many people believe that Feminism is all about ‘men bashing’. I’ve seen it here in the UK as well.

  6. oh yes! It was crazy!!
    Here too the media speculated on everything from when she went to the hospital to what she was wearing!! πŸ™„
    I’m glad some of the frenzy has died down..

    and LOL@ India’s Royal baby!! πŸ˜‰

  7. ha ha ha ha or may be our Royal Baby already has a brood but our media has been gagged πŸ˜€

    Kucch bhi ho sakta ha πŸ˜€

So, what do you think?

