Bus Chronicles 1

I had decided to start a weekly bus chronicle, since it has become the most happening part of my life. Only to find that I don’t even have enough to write about our bus rides on a weekly basis. Yes. I know. I do lead a sad life:)

– the bus I was traveling in, broke down! That is a first, and I was secretly excited, but had to hide it because everybody else looked rather annoyed. They must all have things to get to. Unlike me, who is rather jobless. Reminder to self,’ Go do some job search, the jobs don’t know you are looking for them!’.

– My seven-year old has become a faster runner than me. She’s caught the bus twice this week by running and reaching it just before the bus took off. Can’t tell you how grateful I was, saved us a wait of 30 minutes, and on cold, wet days, every minute counts!

– As I mentioned in another post, I was pleasantly surprised when the bus driver stopped mid way for us, I’ve just figured that it happens a lot here. Probably because it’s a small place, and they get to know the regulars. I’ve also seen people waving, blowing kisses to the drivers as they drive by. This is the first time, I’m living in a really small place and as you can see, it’s very different. So far, different in a nice way.

– This last couple of weeks, my luck with buses haven’t been so good. I’ve been complaining about buses coming before time, but these
last two weeks, the buses have been running late. When I am on my way to pick up daughter, the timing is rather tight. If the bus is late, I have no option, but to get a taxi. So now I have had some rather interesting conversations with taxi drivers which I’m afraid, needs a post of its own.

– I’ve been planning to make the most of my bus pass and travel all the way to Birmingham. Today, I went some part of the way. There are these Indian shops in Birmingham and I was hoping that they would be on the bus route. I made the mistake of not checking on the journey planner. I decided to walk on the wild side, and ended up in a bus going through a lot of rather shady areas. Clearly the ‘wild side’ was not for me:)

– You know you’ve become a regular when a bus driver tells you that he saw you somewhere and waved but you were too busy on the phone!

– Morning bus rides to school are a bit more interesting, with children and parents drama being played out in the buses. You find mothers at the end of their tether, children being naughty, and sometimes springing last-minute surprises on their mums -‘ I forgot to give you this, Mum’ which is sometimes an important communication from the school. And we, the rest of the bus gets to see the mother’s fury πŸ™‚ And sometimes you get to see the most well-behaved children and the gentlest of the mothers, happily, on their way to school. It’s almost like a soothing balm.

– The trip after dropping Daughter off at school is no less interesting. You get to see people rushing to get to work, while some, like me, are on our way back home, so are less harried, and enjoying the peace. You also get to hear interesting phone conversations. No, no, I am not eavesdropping! Some people are loud enough for the whole bus to hear. Once I heard a Pakistani lady diss her sister-in-law. It was funny, to say the least πŸ™‚ She had such issues with that lady πŸ™‚ Of course, what she was aiming at was the point that if only her brother had selected someone from Pakistan rather than a lady who was brought up in the UK, life would have been so much smoother. Of course, smoother for whom would be my question :), which I kept to myself, of course πŸ™‚

With all this happening, I have stopped carrying a book on my bus rides. So much more fun listening, and watching πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “Bus Chronicles 1

  1. These chronicles sound interesting and different from what I would imagine otherwise. And have you seen that bournvita ad where the mother says, that my son would learn to succeed when he beats me in running not when I let him win or something similar…your daughter running crossing you to catch the bus, reminded me of that….

    P.S I can’t imagine you without a book considering the speed with which you read them.

    • I haven’t seen the ad, OHW. I hardly watch any TV 😦

      I used to carry a book, but these days, I find enough and more entertainment πŸ™‚ I do carry books if I have to wait anywhere. Couldn’t waste that time by not reading πŸ™‚

  2. Hahah… there is so much to see and observe in this world, don’t you think?? πŸ˜€

    Ouch! Hope that being those shady areas didn’t land you in much trouble. You should write about your chronicles there as well πŸ˜›

    This is the first time, I’m living in a really small place and as you can see, it’s very different. So far, different in a nice way.
    Oh I know what you mean. I’ve stayed all along in London while I was in UK, and then I ended up visiting my friend who stayed in Reading. The entire atmosphere was so different, that I can’t begin to tell you. However I visited Manchester as well and didn’t like it quite so much. Ah! Well… different strokes for different folks! πŸ™‚

  3. What??? You went to Birmingham from Glasgow?? By bus?? How long did that take?

    Observing people is a very interesting hobby, isn’t it? Much more entertaining than fiction! The mother kid school drama on bus just reminds me that it’s the same all over the world. Be it East or West, kids, family, life, situations are same.

  4. Hahaha! Such interesting sights and people all the while riding in a bus! And you say you’re leading a sad life…what Smits! πŸ˜€

    I see that you have made your scrabble move..let me run to the board and play my turn now πŸ™‚

  5. Oh bus rides are fun. Here they get too much at times. One time, an entire conversation played in front of me between two women about fixing the wedding of one of their daughters. And they ended up fixing a time to meet somewhere for ‘seeing the girl’. Yes, all in the bus. Yes, in front of all of us (esp. me who was actually staring at them in rather rude way) πŸ˜€

  6. Awesome..reminds me of the bus rides R and I take everyday..of course, ours also involves pushing a lot of people and shoving our way out to get down πŸ˜‰

    • Here, that is all very civilized:) People wait for others to get off, before getting on. Give up seats for the elderly. But then of course, the population is so much lesser that it is easier to be considerate.

  7. LOL. Bus and train journeys are fun that way. I usually don’t read on such journeys because, as you say, there is so much to listen, see and take in. πŸ™‚

    Cute post! Looking forward to more of your bus and taxi chronicles.

  8. Ok, girl. Need your help in planning a trip to Kerala. We are considering one, for about 5 days. Would love to see Kerala through the eyes of a local. Do let me know if there’s anything you think I should do, or I would like. Any favourites that you would recommend I do/visit/see/hear/eat? Do mail me in detail. Thanks in advance! πŸ™‚

    • Will mail in detail, but the truth is that I have hardly seen Kerala, TGND 😦 I only end up in Wayanad with my parents. Will check out and let you know though. Will call and email πŸ™‚

  9. You reminded me of good old train days. So muh to see observe & soak!!!! Travelling by public transport can be magical provided there is enough space for everyone to sit/ stand πŸ˜‰ which is a rarity in India!

So, what do you think?

