Why I Write.

So many reasons, and all difficult to put in words, I find. Then again, when I think of myself, I wouldn’t dare think of myself as a writer, I’m just a blogger.

whyiwrite

So why do I write on my blog? Well, because I need to. It has become such a part of who I am, that I just need to. Sometimes my writings stay as drafts, some deleted, some languishing on as drafts forever, some see the light of the day. Whether my posts get published or not, just writing down stuff helps. I guess it gives my thoughts some clarity. And it has, given me a direction, of sorts. My writing has become a place for me to voice opinions, views and have discussions with so many like-minded people. With my writing, I think I can say, that I know who I am, what I stand for, a little bit better.

My blog has become a place for recording things, everyday things that I would have definitely forgotten otherwise. I hope that one day Daughter would enjoying reading it. The only thing I would wish is to record more diligently, but that’s the thing with me. I can only write when I am in that mood. I find it really difficult to write on schedule or with any sort of planning. There are times when I just don’t write anything. And other times when I write, but I don’t feel like sharing. Some things/events that are just special, that I want to hold close and keep to myself.

The best part of being a blogger, the biggest reason I write is, of course, you guys. You make me want to write, to share. It is that feeling of being part of a community, of belonging, knowing that there are people who read my crazy writings, that makes me write, makes me share, ask for advice and have fun, loads of it.

A few years ago, I would have laughed if someone told me that I would share so much online. It was just not me. But today, I can’t think of a time before I started blogging. Although, even today, the place I share the most, is here on the blog. For some reason, this is the place I feel most comfortable in. It is the place where I’ve found so many like minded friends. It is my happy place. I have reached a point that when I am intensely happy, or sad, or outraged or just peacefully happy, I turn to write. Yes, I might not publish them all,as I mentioned already, but I like being able to put my feelings down in words.

I write because it keeps me sane and happy and fulfilled.

Write Tribe Prompt

44 thoughts on “Why I Write.

  1. “I write because it keeps me sane and happy fulfilled.” That sums it all, Smits! Yes, it IS so fulfilling to be able to put your feelings down in words, isn’t it? And you do that so very well through your words πŸ™‚

    Keep writing the way you do :). Hugs!

  2. Hi Smitha this post is simply awesome. Every wo4d seems to to hacome from the heart. No makeup. Just a conffession “i write because it keeps me sane “. Great post.

  3. I loved this prompt, have been reading it over lot of blogs! For me too, it has helped me to hold on to memories, even have a timeline of sorts to the way I’ve been, bits and pieces about my children, and being connected to people! Lovely post!

  4. Pingback: Why I write…. | Pins N Ashes

  5. I love your blog. Even though I have never commented I have been a regular follower of ur blog. Intact it is reading about people like you that I have taken a baby step into this virtual world.

    • Thank you so much for telling me this. It really made my day πŸ™‚ And its just great that you have started blogging too. Waiting to hear from from you.

  6. So true – blogging has created so many wonderful connections. But I think the name of your blog summed it up really well – Any excuse to write!
    Dropping by from “Why I write”

  7. The very fact that so many of us are around to write, to read and waiting for each others posts… and a non blogger will never understand this feeling of online sharing .. πŸ™‚ Mwaaaahs and please keep on writing …

    • For me too, Sari. The blog helped me keep sane. I am sure I would have gone crazy as an SAHM if I did not have this outlet. All you guys I met, makes my life so much richer.

    • I know. There is something about blogging, that has me hooked. I am positive that the only reason I remained a SAHM for this long was because I had my blog:)

  8. Yes blogging … it has given me so much. It is wonderful to be a part of this vibrant caring and sharing community. I can identify with what you have written

    • πŸ™‚ I am not really an introvert, but I never thought I would be someone who could share stuff on the internet, it felt too public. But somewhere down the line, its become part of my life, part of who I am:)

  9. Pingback: Why I write…. | pins & ashes

So, what do you think?

