Of Challenges and Birthdays

There have been a few of things I had planned to do. But they had been pushed to the back burner because of various reasons/excuses.

Now, I just happen to be lucky to be part of a wonderful group on FB called the IndiBlogeshwaris, hosted by Vinita. I say ‘lucky’ because they are an amazing bunch of women bloggers, who haven’t yet kicked me out, because I hardly contribute anything. It takes me time to get comfortable in large groups, and here, I am happy being in the sidelines enjoying the fun and the banter. Having said that, even being in the sidelines of a group like this, is a wonderful experience, so much to learn from, so much to take away. Just like this challenge that they came up with on the 1st Anniversary of the group, to pick up one task that we take up, and resolve to complete it in time for the first birthday of the group.

As I said, I had a few things that I needed to do. The most important for me at the moment being the need up the practical test to get my manual driving license. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’ve been putting it away. I would have put it away for a bit longer, citing the need to settle down first etc, etc, etc before taking it up, especially given the buses seem to work for me fine, at the moment. Thanks to this challenge, I set about it immediately. Got myself an instructor(I can’t drive the car we have now, because of some insurance issues with the lease, until I get my license), and started my lessons.

I wish I could declare that I was successful, but I haven’t. I wished I could get a test date soon enough, but clearly luck was not with me. It is rather far away. So while I haven’t successfully completed the challenge, it certainly helped me focus and go for it. And I think it gave me the drive to give it my all. And for that, I am grateful to the IndiBlogeshwaris! Here’s wishing a wonderful group of women, a wonderful 1st Birthday and many, many more to come!

30 thoughts on “Of Challenges and Birthdays

  1. Good luck, Smits! I’m sure you’ll fare well in the test and will be holding the licence in your hand soon enough! 🙂

    ” I hardly contribute anything. It takes me time to get comfortable in large groups, and here, I am happy being in the sidelines enjoying the fun and the banter.” I’m like you, Smits. I take my own sweet time to get comfortable in large groups, nonetheless its been as much fun being in the sidelines witnessing all the fun happening at IB 🙂

    Heres to this wonderful group! 🙂

  2. wow!!! I have realised sometimes activities like these pep up so much that we get motivated to do things that we avoid otherwise!! Good luck!

  3. Well begun is half the battle won Smitha. Now that you’ve focused on it, you’ll win through soon.
    Best of luck!

  4. Good Luck Smitha. I know how it feels to get a driver’s license (outside India). I got it only on my third test that too for “Manual”, when everyone else was trying for the “Automatic” one in 2003. 🙂

    • Wow! I did that too, got an automatic license, because I was in a hurry to get driving. We used to have an automatic car. Right now, we only have the manual, and we can’t change it because its a company leased car, so if I want to be mobile, I just have to get my license:)

    • I’m sure you could, if you tried once more. I already have the automatic license, so its a little easier coz I’ve driven on these roads, and know the rules.. But tests make me jittery 😦

  5. Well, taking the first step towards something you have been putting off for long is one big challenge dealt with, right? All the very best for the rest. 🙂

    The group sounds wonderful. Read about it on Deeps’ blog as well. Unable to open the page, though, not sure why.

  6. I think getting hold of that Driving license has been number priority for so many of us. That reminds me, I need to get mine. Lost it and never got it made. This must be a sign from the Traffic cops, me thinks.

    Great going and obviously you know, nothing is now impossible. Thank you for doing this with us, for us.

    • I’ve done that too. Lost my Indian driving license, and now, there is apparently no way to get another one. Here, I so need to get the manual license. I wish I had got the manual the first time round.

      Welcome here, BlogwatiG. Can I tell you that I love your name:)

  7. I’m in the sidelines myself in this group. But then that’s fun too…. because we learn so much by observing others!
    Good luck with your test… you’ll come out wth flying colours!

  8. Its been more than 9 months we moved to this state and I am still driving with my old one. I keeping adding this on my to do list and every time something else takes its place..I am now scared to go to a DMV to get a new DL.

  9. Pingback: The First Step

So, what do you think?

