The best sort of worries..

…have to be the unfounded ones…

One of the biggest worries I had with all this shuttling back and forth, across countries was Daughter.

One of the reasons I wanted to move back to Bangalore was to put an end to our nomadic lifestyle and put down roots. The dream that I had of daughter growing up in one place, with friends that she would have known for ages. Not a huge deal, I know, but one can fantasize..

Clearly that was not what was ordained for us. And it really worried me that we were turning daughter’s life upside-down, too much, too often. The biggest challenge has always been getting the right school. By the right school, what mean, if course, if the right environment for her, where she is allowed to be herself, while being pushed into improving herself.. Too much to ask for, I know. Any school will do, as far as she’s happy, I guess. In India, I just went with the only school where I managed to get admission into, hoping that it would be fine. It was, thankfully, and it also had loads of children from our apartment so things were smooth.

Moving back to UK, came with its own set of school related worries. Especially since it was midterm, and chances of getting anywhere decent would be slim. I had resigned to the fact that she might get into some not-so-great schools, as the others would certainly be over subscribed.

To my absolute astonishment(delighted astonishment, I have to say), she got into a very good school. A bit farther than I would have liked, but that hardly matters, does it, as far as she is in a happy, secure environment.

It was her first day today, and she is back happy. Can’t ask for more.

18 thoughts on “The best sort of worries..

  1. Can I just for one time say “I told you so?” πŸ™‚ She brings smile…your little sunshine…muahh.

    Now it is time to make us smile with your regular posts okay? and err keep the snow pics away from me okay? πŸ˜₯

  2. I have been in similar situation too when we moved, there is nothing like finding that school of choice and Poohi is happy that is the biggest thing here. I am smiling too πŸ™‚

  3. All the best! Most schools in UK are good, at least in Edinburgh they are. I have harangued teachers with my unending questions before I enrolled my son in Nursery πŸ™‚

  4. Dint I tell yea good things happen to good peop :). Glad she loved it n am sure lal this travelling will give her lota exposure than growing roots in one place!

So, what do you think?

