Bullets for a change

No, no, its not about the India-Pak situation, its just a bulleted post, for a change(and also because I’m lazy today).

Its been one of those days when I have loads to write about, but no time to sit down and actually do it.

– Back from a lovely holiday, which was everything we wanted it to be. More to come in detailed posts, when I get a chance to sit down and jot it all down. Sigh! Why do good times have to come to an end?

– talking of ends, husband’s holiday is coming to an end too. Just a few more days of togetherness. Its making me upset and depressed, just thinking about it. All I can hope is that this comes to an end soon. If it means going back to the UK, so be it. Nothing matters more than all of us being together ..

– We’ve realized that so many of our friends have done this staying apart thingy.. Some living in India, some abroad.. Gives me the strength to wait out the next few months.. Especially since I’m hoping that it won’t last too long. Fingers crossed.

– I’ve got totally bored of shopping. I can now look at rows of clothes, accessories and move on. The only thing that I continue to lust for is books. Both daughter and I go crazy in a book shop.

– I’ve finally got a kindle for myself. The one we bought couple of years ago, got usurped by husband. I did not mind too much, because I love real books far more. This time, husband got me a kindle, and I’m loving it, absolutely loving it. This holiday, I did all my reading on the kindle.

– We met old friends today, and it was so wonderful. Last week, we had a lovely time with my cousins… Bangalore is such a fun place. I wish, and wish that we get to stay on… But then if we don’t then we get to be with our close friends in the UK. Can’t really complain, can I?

– I’ve found myself a cook that I don’t really need, but life has been so much easier ever since she started, that I’ve decided to keep her on. That way I get to focus in the more exotic stuff, while she gets the boring every day stuff out of the way.

– I’ve been delighted to see that I’ve been getting a lot if traffic for my book reviews. One side effect of that haaram.com thing has been that I’ve started keeping an eye on the stats. And I get delighted to see people land on the book reviews. I hope my reviews are helpful. They are just my opinion of the book. What I don’t find interesting, might be very interesting for others. My last author requested review had the author commenting that others seem to have enjoyed her book a lot. Which is, of course, quite possible. Some books work for some, while some don’t. For instance, I can’t read Chetan Bhagat, but that hasn’t stopped him from being a best-selling author, has it?

And that about it. I guess I can do the rest of my updates another time. I’ve been too lazy to log onto my laptop, and typing on the phone gets a bit boring after a bit.

17 thoughts on “Bullets for a change

    • I’m back to real books since I got back. So I’m kind of certain that it is great on a holiday, but when what you want to do is cuddle up with a book, there’s nothing like real books:)

  1. somehow, I’ve still not warmed up to the kindle. I have tried but miss the pleasure of holding the book and turning the page. Will have to try harder as I have a lot of ebooks waiting to be read!!

    • I really enjoyed it on the holiday. I guess not having to carry a million books helped. Knowing that once I do finish one book, there are more waiting, was a nice feel. I did move my fingers to turn pages only to realize that I needed to press a button instead:)

  2. I do really hope and pray you guys get together fast..either which ways…thats most important na!

    I hope so too, RM, fingers crossed.

    We love your book reviews Smitha…I discovered a couple of good authors thanks to you πŸ™‚
    Thank you, sweetheart!

  3. Hmmmm I agree at the end it is the family staying together that matters! I am sure you guys will work out a solution πŸ™‚

    That’s what we are hoping for πŸ™‚

    Waiting for Goa updates & Congrats for the Kindle πŸ™‚

    The Goa updates will be up sometime next week – after husband has left, and I have more time on my hands.

    And I love the way you justified the hiring of the cook πŸ˜‰ seriously we can do with a little help but when we get one start feeling guilty! Have u wondered why?

    πŸ™‚ Husband has been after me to keep a cook. I got one to start earlier, but I wasn’t too happy with her. This one is great – fingers crossed πŸ™‚

    Difference of opinion with the author? Been there done that! I especially don’t like authors who start questioning your rating, for God sake it is a book, some will like it some won’t! Agreed it is their mehnat but then you cannot win over everyone, can you?

    Absolutely! It all depends on the taste of the person reading and reviewing it.

  4. Good to know you guys had a fab vacation. Waiting to see the pics, and hear all about it. πŸ™‚

    Hope you, Poohi and your hubby get to be together real soon, and that you get some clarity on your situation. I know how much sitting on the fence sucks. 😦

    Your book reviews are lovely. No wonder people have been reading them. πŸ™‚

    I never look at the stats of my blog. I should. 😐

    Reading is a very personal experience, I feel. I might hate a book, but someone else might love it to bits. It is quite a relative thing. What a person gets out of a book is that person’s alone.

  5. Long distance can be killing. You live with it initially but later on it gets on your nerves. Hang in there…. we can hope you are almost at the end of your tunnel.

    Hope you enjoyed your holiday.

    How is your new cook? I need to get food cooked from both of you whenever we meet then πŸ˜›

    • That’s the hope, that we are near the end of this phase.

      Our holiday was just great! Will write about it when I have more time on my hands. How was your Bangalore trip?

      My cook is good:) done! When we meet you are sure to get what you want:)

So, what do you think?

