Brutality

.. of a new level, that’s what the last few days have been, haven’t they? First the senseless shooting in America, and now the horrific gang rape in Delhi. I couldn’t sleep last night. Sitting up listening to the news, reading.. Made me stay up, wondering, worrying.. Just how brutal can people be, how confident they must have been of not getting caught.. Just reading all this made me feel so very helpless. And if we, are feeling this hopeless and helpless, I can’t even imagine how the victim and her family must be feeling right now.

What kind of country are we living in, when the systemic failure ensures that half the population could be attacked randomly, repeatedly, and we can do nothing about it. When women are told to be ‘careful’, to keep themselves safe, when nothing, absolutely nothing is done to keep those criminals off our streets.

I hear of people saying that this is why we need to teach our daughters self-defence, that we, the people have to take measures to keep ourselves safe. Yes, absolutely. But again, these are individual measures. What about the responsibility of the government to ensure that such crimes do not happen again and again? I’ve been reading up on this, and this article makes so much sense. It talks about deterrents to prevent the crime. Ways of ensuring that potential rapists are warned away so that crimes themselves stop happening. The way I look at it, one of the most important things to do, is to try to ensure that crimes of this sort are prevented. At least as the first step.

Looking at all the issues crop up – police reforms, judicial reforms, stricter punishment, mentality of our people, it sometimes gets so disheartening. It makes me wonder if anything will ever change. If we will ever be able to live in our society without the constant fear. It makes me wonder if a day will come when I can call the police and not be scared. To be honest, I think it is, us the innocent, who are more scared of the police than the guilty. Remember that
problem we had with the maid, well, we had to go to the police station to report it, and we were actually a little scared, while she was totally comfortable. We could only assume that she had been there before, and knew how things worked. Sad, isn’t it? Is it any wonder that people would rather not report a crime, if they have an option.

All I can do is hope that one day, if not me, at least daughter will be able to live in India, confidently, knowing that we have a system we can depend on. Knowing that the police is there to protect us, knowing that the criminals are the ones scared, not us. A day when a woman knows that she is safe in the country that she lives.

PS: The one good thing that has happened is that, at the very least, the case is not being referred to with the victim’s name, as used to be the case, until a few years ago. I just wish they wouldn’t hide the faces of the suspects.

15 thoughts on “Brutality

  1. I was shocked really shocked.. to read what happened.. what sort of human being can do such a thing.

    I am disgusted that girls have to live in this fear..
    It gives me a shiver to know what people do..

    I feel ashamed I belong to such a nation …

  2. It was indeed shocking to read about the Delhi case before the Connecticut incident refused to go away from the thoughts.. As people say around may be this is what they mean by the dooms day for the victim’s family is already suffering the end of world.. I spoke with Adi about the Connecticut incident and requested her to keep them in her prayers. She was scared to hear about it initially but I felt she must know about it..

  3. You are right…it did get me wondering why the hell are we like this..when will we live in a safe country…when can we go out without getting scared for ourselves or our children…when šŸ˜¦

  4. It is the mentality. Politicians, people, police – everyone has to change they way they think, the way they behave. The law to make the punishment stringent against sexual assaults have been lying in parliament from the past 7 years. Can you believe that? It is not that important because it does not affect vote banks.

  5. just to scared now a days.. how many more such incidents need to happen for the govt to react and punish.. u r right, its we who are scared to go to police, criminal are not.. :(..

  6. This is not the first such case, and it is definitely not going to be the last. šŸ˜¦

    The Delhi gang rape and the Connecticut school killings have chilled me to the bone. I am disturbed, too.

    It is sad that we need to practice safety, measures of self-defence, while the government, law enforcement agencies carries on in the same old blundering way. It is a disgrace that we trust ourselves more than we do the government to take care of ourselves, and would rather not report crimes to the police. It is pathetic that innocent people in our country are the ones who are the most worried, while criminals escape scot-free and worry-free.

    Like you, I wonder if things will ever change. I don’t like being so pessimistic, but cases like this make me give up hope. Maybe, someday…

    I have been wondering, too, what the world is coming to. Where does so much of brutality come from? What kind of a world will I be bringing my future children into?

  7. This is the last straw. What on earth will they come up with now? Girls should not board buses after 8pm?? šŸ˜› God!! There is a limit to everything yaar….

    I just truly hope that finally some proper action takes place and reforms happen. Instead of making a hue and cry initially, and then letting it all die down….. and then wait for the next rape to happen.

    I was telling this to my friend (who lives in Dubai) the other night that if I had a daughter, I’d be paranoid about living in India. No two words there.

  8. Deeply disturbed and extremely sad is my current state of mind. What kind of a nation/culture/society is ours? Such brutality? And with such confidence? I have nothing else to say.

  9. I too am not able to sleep… I hope she survives and lives. Her parents are with her now and she saw them and communicated with gestures. I too am glad that for the first time women are asking questions, instead of being shamed and blamed into silence.

  10. There are no words to describe the feeling when one hears about her deteriorating health.

    We need to get rid of the stigma attached around the words ‘rape’ and ‘sexual harassment’ . It needs to be assessed and looked at as a horrific and brutal crime instead of a crime involving the’ honour’ of the victim. Izzat/aabroo chali gayi/lut gayi are words we need to get rid of when talking about rape. Our psyche as a nation is just so screwed up.

  11. I dont know what to say, Smits, I really dont. The hope to see a safer world, better world to raise our children seems to be diminishing much faster than I’d thought. The past few days have been gruesome to say the least.

    I wonder if there ever will come a day when we can place full faith in our systems, our law-makers.. I’m completely with you when you say that more than the perpetrators its the innocent who are scared of the police!

    A very depressing state of our nation.

So, what do you think?

