No season for thanksgiving..

Or to be specific, there is no specific season for Thanksgiving – it happens all year around, doesn’t it? Especially when you have help pouring in, just when you need it.

Daughter and I had been ill since the beginning of this week. I recovered, but she got even more ill. One evening, her temperature spiked and I, to be honest, was a wreck. I was still ill, did not know any doctors I could rush to, had no option but to call around asking for information. My plan of action was to get her temperature down, for the time being, and get her to the doctor the next morning. It was a rainy day, roads jammed, cold winds blowing, there was no way I could take her anywhere that night.

Before I knew it, my cousins came over to us to their doctor, a really nice doctor, who, btw,was really nice. My friends called in with offers of food, transport, and any other thing that we might need. It was a mad, mad day when everything that could go wrong, did, but also a day when I got all the help I could have asked for and much, much more.

I can’t even begin to express how grateful I feel. It’s tough when you are alone, but all the people I have here, never lets me feel alone. Knowing that help is just a phone call away, and sometimes, even that phone call isn’t needed, is such a huge support. It’s times like these that feel truly grateful, for family and friends that I can turn to. And I just hope I can be there for them in their hours of need.

31 thoughts on “No season for thanksgiving..

  1. Its a wonderful feeling! Have been in exactly the same situation a couple of times — and overwhelmed by the care and support. Hope u and daughter are absolutely fine now. take care.

  2. I am sure you will be too..
    How is the little one doing now.. is she up and running and all fine and welllll…

    It is always a good feeling to know the people are there and just a fone call away..

    Take care of yourself..

  3. It sure does feel wonderful to be taken care of when you need it, without even asking for it. Or knowing that help is just a phone call away. Can totally relate to that feeling. πŸ™‚

    And, yes, there is no season for Thanksgiving. Just like there is no specific day for Friendship or Love. πŸ™‚

    Take care, Smitha. Hope you guys are better now. Please do not hesitate to call us in case you need anything at all.

  4. 1st thing 1st I hope ur daughter is better now.
    And incidents like these keep our faith in the mankind alive…these things make you feel wanted & loved. And I so agree with your line ‘And I just hope I can be there for them in their hours of need’

    Take Care!

    • Yes, things like this do reinforce our belief in the goodness around us.. and yes, I hope that I can do the same for them too.

      Daughter is better, still running a temp but much better

  5. Hugs Smitha i have gone through this.It is always nice no to just think that they are going to be someone who will help us in need…Hugs to all those who helped you and who helped me……

    How is poohi doing?? maybe she is missing her dad….

    • Yes, it is wonderful to have this kind of support, isn’t it, Sari?

      ‘Hugs to all those who helped you and who helped me…’ – Absolutely!

      Poohi is fine now, she is missing her dad and now counting days for his holiday to begin πŸ™‚

  6. It’s good to know that there are people who are just a call away when we need them the most. I am always thankful for such things.
    Hope you and your little one have recovered by now. Sending warm hugs on your way…

  7. Oh dear god! Hope she is fine now! I can so understand what you must have gone through. Glad that you had family and friends around to help you in need. Yes its at times like this you realize how blessed and lucky you are to have such wonderful people in life πŸ™‚

    Hugs and take care. Call you in a bit πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

