Memories and Yearnings

The place we live in for a number of years, leaves it’s own mark on us. Marks that may fade, marks that may become faint memories or just photographed memories in the years to come. Initially, however, they remain fresh for a while, and come back to make you yearn for them.

Christmas time is probably one of the times when we will miss UK a lot. All the lovely winter weather in India, doesn’t seem to make our yearning for the Christmas fervour any less. The lit up high streets, Santa’s Grottos, Christmas food, the school Christmas play, writing out Christmas cards… So many things… I’m hoping that by next year, we would have moved on, and forgotten about it all.

Daughter especially seems to be missing Christmas and snow! The other day, while talking to husband, I casually asked him if it has started snowing there. Only to find daughter in tears. Apparently, she’s been missing snow the most. She even wanted Daddy to cancel his holiday so that we could travel there instead! Just so that she could have Christmas there, and play in the snow. Some expectations some people have, eh?

CR’s comments on this post, made me yearn for all the trappings of winter back there. Coats, scarves, hats and boots! I miss my boots! And there is no way I can wear them here, unless I want to look really pretentious and crazy πŸ™‚ I would be happy enough if it got cold enough to wear some scarves.

Although, I have to say, Bangalore has been trying very hard to make me feel at home. So what if it can’t give us snow, its sure very successful in making us cold and wet! Now, if not boots, how about some wellies?

31 thoughts on “Memories and Yearnings

  1. Aww I am sorry I made you miss all the stuff! Why don’t you get a Christmas tree and put some pressies under it for Poohi? Bake a cake or something… So that she misses Christmas in UK less…

  2. Awwww. I can feel your and Poohi’s longing. Why don’t you put up a Christmas tree at home? Will put you in the spirit of Christmas all right. πŸ™‚

    Will do – at the moment, both of us are ill, so I guess being cooped up at home, isn’t helping!

    I am sure Christmas in UK would be very beautiful. I would love to experience that once in my lifetime.

    I am sure you will πŸ™‚ If we do go back, you should come and visit, stay with us, and enjoy Christmas there πŸ™‚

    I just wrote a post on my blog, in which I mentioned that I am unable to find myself in the Christmas spirit, which usually hits me by the beginning of December itself. I was actually thinking of asking you whether we could do something together to put us in the mood, and here you go writing this post! πŸ™‚ Let me know.

    We should! Lets see what we can plan – once we both recover.

    Bangalore has been gorgeous today! I am loving it! I long for opportunities to wear my jackets, sweaters, stoles and shawls, too. πŸ™‚

    Really? I am not too fond of cold, wet weather πŸ™‚

  3. right let me come to India, then you come to punjab and I bet you will be able ot WEAR everything you have mentioned .. it is almost as cold as here now ..

    and let me make you more jealous my work christmas do is on 20th yayyyyyyyy remember those πŸ™‚ he he he he he

    ok ok i am sorry i am being bad now πŸ™‚

  4. But but Poohi’s daddy is coming fast fast this month na πŸ™‚

    Yes!!!! That is Christmas for us πŸ™‚ Christmas comes a few days early this year πŸ™‚

    Awww! darling girl she is eh? I can so understand wanting to be back in an atmosphere of festivities and fun πŸ™‚ I hope you settle down well or rather at least decide which way you have to settle down..

    Amen to that, RM.

    If we are doing that baking thing this weekend, you can perhaps suggest something Christmasy? I dont mind trying πŸ™‚
    This weekend seems to a recuperating weekend. Daughter is still recoverin from that viral attack.

  5. Head to Delhi and you can experience first level winter, without snow. Head to Jammu and you can experience the snow as well…at first hand! πŸ˜€

    But I totally understand Poohi’s obsession with snow. My SIL’s kids complain of the same thing when they come to India – that India has no snow! They are based out of NJ in USA so they love their winters and Xmas hols.

    Even after having lived just one year in the UK, I have to agree. Christmas is a really special time to be there. It’s so warm and joyous and festive! πŸ™‚ Sigh…

  6. I can feel what poohi is missing….You will be soon there poohi kutty…..and you will have good time with dad….

    Here house are decorated for Christmas and they look so beautiful…

So, what do you think?

