Be careful what you wish for(2)

Is something I come to realize again and again.

You see, I have been telling friends how I used to wake up to birds chirping, in Leeds, while here, I have the melodious tones of horns honking to wake me up(and keep me awake, sometimes). So fate decided to take away my compliants. Now I get to hear baby pigeons in a nest somewhere, but they just can’t stop chirping! I wonder if there are multiple nests there – I can’t see it , it’s somewhere hidden away… I feel sorry for the poor mum and dad pigeons. Actually not so much. If they are the ones who break off my saplings, well, they deserve it. I just wish their nest was at another floor!

And remember how I find Americanisms everywhere these days? I found some more. Our good old ‘zed’ has become ‘zee’ and Maths has become ‘Math’. Zee I can still accept. Math, somehow, feels incomplete to me! I know, I sound crazy, but it still feels foreign to me 🙂

In other news, I am having a ball doing container gardening. I’m so tempted to plant more/buy more planters. The only reason, I have been holding back is the uncertainty of our situation. How I would love to buy some colourful planters, and some hanging ones, to add to my balcony. Hoping hard that things turn clear, and I can go to town with my gardening 🙂

Can someone inspire me to bake again? Although my heart jumps in excitement at the idea of baking, for some reason, I don’t seem to be able to get down to it. Anybody up for a baking challenge?

27 thoughts on “Be careful what you wish for(2)

  1. 😀
    We have pigeons regularly in our backyard in Mysore.. and some other kind of birds as well… mum didnt take any pics…
    And when we cut down one of the trees, some of the birds were most displeased apparently!! 😀

    I need inspiration to bake Pound cake too!! I even went and bought the mix, because it makes life easier… Let’s bake Smithus! 😀

  2. Pigeons are a menace! They make nests in balconies, shit like crazies, get stuck and can’t find their way out and keep coming back again and again even after you shoo them!! 😐
    Math is so weird!
    If I take the baking challenge with you, you will win hands down, coz I dont bake at all! 😀
    Happy baking! 🙂

    • Not that kind of challenge, Shilpa 🙂 The kind where we all decide on a recipe and give it a try 🙂

      So far, I don’t have nests in the balcony – thank god for that! There is a nest somewhere behind one of the bathrooms, from what I can make out – but it’s outside, and thankfully away from us.I can tolerate everything, but it breaks my heart when I see them destroying my plants 😦

  3. I’m sorry…zee and math??? Really??? Sheesh. If I hadn’t left India already, that would definitely spur me to leave! If there’s one thing I cannot stand it’s the lazy Americanisms. I always had arguments with my cousin who was born in the US about spelling…and why it was so difficult to spell ‘socks’ instead of ‘sox’. And math doesn’t even make sense when it’s actually short for mathematics. Plural!! Argh…sorry…I went on a totally Grammar/Spelling/English nazi rant here. Apologies.

    And hope you get back into baking soon…looking forward to living vicariously through your posts…

    • I totally get you, PB! I feel the same way. Every time I see people writing Sms lingo, it drives me nuts. I can’t understand how lyk is easier to spell that like. It sounds even more juvenile when people my age try it to look trendy!

  4. LOL @ the pigeon babies who just can’t stop chirping. 🙂 They sound adorable, but I understand it must get on your nerves if you have to hear it 24/7.

    Hope you get a clear picture of your situation soon, and be able to garden the way you want to.

    I am not up for a baking challenge at the moment, but can encourage you with mails, calls, SMSes and comments, if you want. 😀 And, of course, I can come to your place to encourage you by eating all the goodies that you make. 🙂

  5. Pigeons are nice only when I see them near Bombay Gate pictures. Math came into being quite some time back, when I was in school ( early 2000’s). For challenge, motivation and support – try to join the Home Bakers Guild on facebook. A bunch of zesty woman posting inspiring stuff all day.

  6. LOL on the waking up to horns now 🙂

    Arey, you want to bake..acha lets do on thing..next SAturday, we can have a baking thing together…get me some nice easy recipe…you do it on Saturday..if its easy enough , I will do it on Sunday 😉

    Does that inspire you???

  7. thats nice that you enjoy the chirping of birds.. Bunty get really annoyed when she hears this sounds when she is sleeping. i have to get up to close all windows, so she doesn’t get disturbed, one day, she was so angry that, she got a stick to punish the poor birds.. what do i do with such a daughter, who doesn’t enjoy nature.. 🙂

So, what do you think?

