The Krishna Key by Ashwin Sanghi


Dr Ravi Mohan Saini, a star professor at the prestigious St Stephen’s College in New Delhi is given a seal by his old friend Anil Varshney for safe keeping. Varshney had told him that it was part of a set of 4, and would sit on a base plate, which he had locked away in a locker. In case anything happened to him, Saini would be contacted as the main signatory. The seal is the key to the secret that Krishna is said to have left for the generations later to decipher and is called the Krishna Key. The other 3 seals are with three other people.

The next thing he knows is that he is implicated in Anil Varshney’s murder. As the last person who saw him alive, and with his fingerprints all over the place, Saini looks set to be convicted. Saini manages to escape with the help of his doctoral student, Priya Ratnani. Saini realizes that he needs to uncover the mystery of the Krishna Key in order to prove that he is not the killer of his friend. As he rushes to the others who have the seal, he finds, to his horror, one by one, they all get killed and he gets even more embroiled in the mess. To add to it, there seems to be a person who believes that he is the tenth avataar of Vishnu – Kalki. Now Saini has to try to stay alive while trying to uncover the Krishna Key. All his expertise in History, Mythology and skill in connecting things, are crucial to his survival. It doesn’t help matters that Radhika(Sniffer) Singh, an ace policewoman, is trying hard to catch him and prosecute him for what she believes is his crime. It’s tough enough to escape her, without having to worry about serial killers who seem to get everywhere.

First Impression – it was pure Dan Brown in genre. Conspiracy theory abounds, linking historical facts and exposing different facts and concepts that make you wonder if everything you knew was actually not true. Fascinating read, in terms of all the revelations. So many revelations that it made my head spin, that it made me google and check it out, just as I did when I read my first Dan Brown. It came with all the twists and turns that one would expect, with trusted people turning rogue and corrupt officials that are willing to do everything for the right price.

The best part of the book were the non-stop revelations. It was a walk through history, of a different kind. Right from prediction of the exact time when the Mahabharata was fought, using the astronomical events that were mentioned in the texts, proving that Krishna was not a mythological character but a real life person, who indeed lived on this earth, linking events till the later parts of Indian history, and even world history and the other religions. It was fascinating, to read all that. At the same time,I think the storyline got kind of muddled, somewhere in the process. In the sense that while all the revelations tied up together, it was just too much of it. By the end, I felt it was more about these startling revelations/conspiracy theory than the actual story line. And the ending, for me, it was quite lame. Disappointing in the way that Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol was.

What really amazes me is the amount of research the author must have done to come up with a book like this. Research as well as a thorough knowledge of the subject that he is writing about. So many things are linked up so well, Mythology, history, possibilities of nuclear technology in the olden days, Chemistry, Symbology, it’s almost never-ending.. Even to do the research, one must have a clear idea about what one is looking for, that I believe is just amazing. And to put it all together in a story, takes talent, and for that, I have immense respect for the author.

While it was a great read, I wish the ending was more powerful. And I wish there was a little less information. I love historical books, but in this one, I felt there was a bit too much information, which after a point, started getting a little boring for me. But then, that’s probably just me. What I loved about the narrative was Krishna’s story that was narrated alongside the happenings in the story. I loved that. It came across really well, added to the flavour of the storytelling. All in all, it is still a book I would recommend. Despite the shortcomings, It’s still an interesting read, but for me, probably a one-time read, yet I would still go ahead and try to read the other books by the author.

This review is a part of the Book Reviews Program at BlogAdda.com. Participate now to get free bo

33 thoughts on “The Krishna Key by Ashwin Sanghi

  1. I am glad someone found Lost Symbol not matching expectations..especially after the Da Vinci code…I am yet to read this book…seems interesting honestly…I liked Chankya’s Chant, though my friend found it very boring and confusing! I am getting this one for sure

  2. I am hearing a lot about this book in blog off late.. will add it to my list.. that’s a wonderful review Smitha.. you don’t know what a great job you are doing with these book reviews.. Its a treasure that people like me and even Poohi will cherish when she grows.. she doesn’t have to be confused at all to pick a book as she can always refer to mommy’s encyclopedia of book reviews.. I will direct Adi also to your reviews.. thanks again.. keep up the good job and review more and more and more books for our benefits 😀 😀 😀

    • Ani, You are a sweetheart 🙂 Thanks!!!!!!

      Although Poohi is reading faster than her mom these days. I do think very soon, she’s going to be the one recommending books 🙂

    • Oh yes I found Angels and Demons supremely thrilling! Go for it TGND! 🙂

      Didnt you like Da Vinci Code, Smits? I read that first and quite enjoyed it. Then I read A&D and I loved that even more 🙂

      • I did like Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons – the rest of his books I felt was quite repetitive. I enjoyed Angels and Demons much more though. I read Da Vinci Code first too 🙂

        • Agree, his other works were quite repetitive indeed! Some were a bit of a drag, I felt ! Didnt like Digital Fortress one bit..had to literally run through the pages to finish it off!! 😀

  3. BTW have you read this book called A Thousand Days In Venice by Marlena de Blasi? I read it recently and just ADORED it. As much as I loved Frances Mayes’s books. I think you will love this one, too, particularly since it is about a place that you have visited and loved.

    • Nope -will check it out for sure 🙂 I saw your review come up in the reader -haven’t had a chance to tackle the unread posts yet – I’ve been having a migraine attack so not reading too much on the phone.

  4. I got and finished this book yesterday! Was planning a review on it, but then fortunately landed on to this post and discovered that you have said exactly what I felt about the book!!! I liked the book, but somewhere at back of my mind, a little voice kept whispering – ‘Dan Brown, Dan Brown..’ 🙂

  5. I have been quite intrigued by this book after hearing so many different views on it. Comparison with Dan Brown books was one of them :). I thoroughly enjoyed reading Chanakya’s Chant! I am certainly picking this one up as well 🙂

    • I’m yet to read Chanakya’s Chants – waiting for the library to deliver it 🙂 It is a good book, although at places, I felt it was just too much information 🙂

  6. Pingback: Chanakya’s Chant by Ashwin Sanghi | Any Excuse to Write…

  7. Pingback: Chanakya’s Chant by Ashwin Sanghi | Any Excuse To Read

So, what do you think?

