Regret

‘I wonder if we made the right decision in moving back to India’, said somebody I had just met at my apartment complex.

The place we live in is full of people like us who have lived transitory lives, and there are quite a few who have relocated at the same time as us. So its really nice, in so many ways, having friends who are in the same phase of life, facing similar challenges and situations. The icing on the cake was the fact that daughter even has classmates who joined at the same time as she did. So it really has been great, mostly.

So when some one expresses regret(not one of my friends but someone else who has just relocated), I can’t help but thank my luck. Thankfully, we regret is the last thing on our minds. The only thing we really want is for husband to join us soon, everything else can be managed fine. As for the actual problems, yes, there are problems, there are things which are different. I could wish the traffic were more orderly, for instance, but if it affects me only if I let it affect me. I do get frustrated at times, but that is something I am sure would happen in similar situations anywhere. Some things are intrinsic to being in India, but then, I can’t expect every place to be exactly the same, can I?

So do I regret? Most certainly not. Things like being close to my parents, finally being able to share my childhood memories with daughter(more on that in another post) all makes our life so much more richer. I can’t even complain of not having enough books anymore. I’ve learnt to schedule my library pickups really well. That, my apartment library and flipkart are enough to keep me happy, very happy.

Daughter is busy once again with activities, which are all based out of our apartment complex, so that makes life slightly easier for me.

Regrets? Certainly, not for me, at least not at the moment. And let’s hope that it stays that way.

22 thoughts on “Regret

  1. Hello Stranger πŸ™‚

    Well end of the day its depends on you how you make it there, how you adjust what you do, yes we have lot of things we want to change but whats the fun in that.

    You will be fine and once as you said your husband comes back it will be more fun times .. how is the little one doing ..

    Take care you and hugs and love to little poohie ..

  2. Glad to hear you don’t have any regrets. I’ve seen what regret can do to people. And you put things so aptly when you said “but if it affects me only if I let it affect me.” Enjoy Smita! πŸ™‚

  3. Touchwood, Touchwood, glad things are working out for you πŸ™‚ and I loved your positive nature…people would have complained and cribbed..you are so cool πŸ™‚

    • I am one of those cribbing and complaining types. πŸ˜›
      I miss a few things, if you can call that regretting.
      I miss the fact that in UK I could get on a train and go to a beautiful place in another part of the country. Here, you have to plan and it is always an overnight journey. 😦
      And I miss order. Definitely. The chaos chokes me at times.

      • I miss some things too:) but I try not to let that come in my way of enjoying things here:) I miss the ease of walking everywhere. Here, I have to worry about potholes, people bumping into you, and smart people who think its cool to drive in the wrong direction, or better still on the pavement. But look at the bright side, I don’t need to go and pay in an amusement park to get scared;)

    • I am actually having fun. There are so many pros to being here. Plus I no longer worry that I will turn into those NRI parents who try extra hard to hold on to ‘Indian Culture’ πŸ™‚

  4. This is exactly why I love coming to this space. You are not a moaner, you are a doer. If you were so deeply affected by the cons, I know you would not have moved at all. πŸ™‚

    You are a happy person Smitha and you do what you can to be so. I would love to meet you someday πŸ™‚

  5. Touchwood. Your attitude is inspiring Smitha. I’ve met scores of people who’ve made this move and cribbed and cribbed till they’ve driven me up thr wall. This is such a refreshing change. Keep the spirit.

  6. So glad to know that you are happy with the decision you took. It is a welcome change – usually people crib and crib and crib after relocating to India from overseas. They have their own reasons, of course. To each his own.

    Apartment library??!! Wow! This is the first time I have heard of an apartment having a library!

  7. Love your positive outlook Smitha and best part is Poohie took to the relocation with such ease, the girl amazes me πŸ™‚ Hugs to you both and here wishing that your hubby joins soon too. There will be things you’ll miss, may be it’ll stay that way for a very long time because lifestyle changes can’t be made and be adjusted to so quickly. But that is fine, as long as you feel you’re home.

  8. I believe firmly in not regretting anything… I mean if the glass is half full or half empty is completely upto us… just feel blessed that you got to experience so many varieties… observe and enrich your brain πŸ™‚

  9. Guess it stems from the fact that you were mentallly prepared to come here and secondly being a happy person makes a hell lot of difference. If you are generally satisfied with life these things become inconsequential and you find happiness from what you have and wherever you are.

So, what do you think?

