Daughter in India

Daughter has settled in quite nicely. She is happy in our apartment complex, with all the play areas, and the school, her new friends. What delights her is that even after rains, the play area dries up really quickly. Back in the UK, rains meant no playing in the park, as everything would stay wet for a while.

However, there are some things that get her goat. Mosquitos, for one. They seem to love her, which she finds rather unfair, because they don’t bite me half as much as they do her. She also gets huge bumps on her skin, which is just not pleasant. She has become obsessed with the mozzies, so much so that when asked, which is the most common animal she gets to see in India, pat came the answer, ‘Mosquitoes’.

The other thing(s) that she is absolutely petrified about are Ants. She is absolutely terrified of them, and cannot understand how they come all the way up, to our floor. ‘They must have a secret ant elevator’, apparently πŸ™‚

The other day there was a baby lizard in the house. It had both of us in a tizzy, scaring the life out of the poor lizard. Finally, I had to coax the poor thing into a bag, and leave it outside before madam agreed to get off her bed.

She can’t understand that running on a wet floor can be dangerous. So used to carpeted floors, she sails across on the tiles, and sometimes lands on her bum, scaring the life out of her mum.

She is, however, a consummate road crosser. She is totally adept at it, while I still get palpitations of the heart. We need to cross the road, everyday to get the school bus, and we end up taking 5-10 minutes because I am too scared to cross the road, until it is completely safe by my standards πŸ™‚

School is just as much fun, if not more. She had much more work back in the UK. Here she’s having a ball. The only thing she misses is the library in school. Touchwood. May she continue enjoying it. I, being an Indian parent, is slightly worried that she might forget everything she already knows. I know, I know, I am being silly : )

The one thing she misses is the pastas we used to get. For her, even the mildest pasta is spicy:( Which makes it very difficult for us to eat out. But that also ensures that she eats home cooked food everyday. And her low spice tolerance also ensures that she doesnot try out any junk food here πŸ™‚

All in all, I would say that she’s quite happy to be here. If only her dad could bring the tv we had back in the UK, because she finds nothing worth watching here. I am, of course, delighted that whatever little tv that she used to watch has also stopped.

21 thoughts on “Daughter in India

        • Smiths, u should really see how difficult it is to cross roads here in Hyderabad πŸ™‚ Most people I know are petrified and my friends keep pulling me back when I try to show my hand to the running vehicles and try to cross the road. There is absolutely no sense of signals or zebra crossing here πŸ˜‰ It is def. lesser in other cities too, but Hyderabad still wins hands-down πŸ˜›

  1. Aaah she is adjusting sooner than you expected huh? Isn’t that the best thing about kids? πŸ™‚

    Oh the tv in india – lesser said the better. I actually enjoy the programmes here – how stuff is made, myth busters, or those scientific programmes or even horrible histories.

    I always said I would soooo love to have an Indian Mythbusters being aired. Don’t you think so?

    Mozzies drive me nuts. Roaches are my sworn enemies and lizards are equivalent to fire breathing dragons. My mother kept the home free of all these just for me!

    Does Poohi like all the lovely fruits you get in India? I miss the fruits here. I have promised my local fruit vendor a share in my will if he can find me custard apples. πŸ™‚

    • I am not sure what was there for kids there, but I know there are programs which you can definitely watch even here too πŸ™‚ NDTV Goodtimes has some great travel shows and ofcos there are the wildlife channels! I wonder what I would do without them sitting at home all day without any work – ofcourse there are books and blogs, but still for a change πŸ™‚

  2. Secret ant elevator? How imaginative can kids get! you should ask her to paint how she thinks it is. With my donkey years, I do not know to cross a road peacefully yet 😦 Glad, she loves the new place!

  3. Super duper to read this..

    Glad she is adjusting so well..kids usually do na…its only us who get worried whether they will

    LOL on the most common animal being Mosquitos πŸ™‚ she is adorable…try using the Himalaya mosquito repellent on her skin (Try a bit on the knee to know whether she is senstive or not) and then she can go out to play..it will be easier perhaps πŸ™‚

    I have heard Bangalore has great libraries for kids (Not very sure which ones though) perhaps you can ask around and join one..

    When is her dad joining you guys?

  4. nice that she is adjusting well.. nice way describing about the ants, mosquito and lizards.. they have equal share with us in our house na.. :)..
    library.. may be u have to join British council at b’lore.. if u stay near Richmond circle, i can suggest you a good library. :)..
    crossing road is lawys difficult for me too.. 😦

  5. Kudos to the little one for being such a darling and settling in so well so soon. And yes, mosquitoes can drive me up the wall too. We don’t open windows in the evenign and have mosquito nets on few of the frequently opened windows. Those are the ones you get wth velcro that you can stick around the window and snap shut. Air can pass, mosquitoes can’t, ha! πŸ™‚
    Road crossing is definitely a skill and I’m glad your daughter has got it so soon. Very important.
    And I can’t stand lizards either. ewww. You can send suggestion to her school for the library I’m sure they would have enough money for one.

  6. Oh! She is actually adapting quite well re. To be honest I had thought that she might have a difficulty in adjusting here and I rememebr saying it here. So this is very good re!!! As far as Mosquitoes are concerned, I am like u, ppl around me get bitten and I stay scathless πŸ˜€

    There was a time when I was scared of crossing roads but after I started staying alone I got over that fear and the case is such that now ppl are scared when I cross the roads becasue as soon as I see a gap I dart across πŸ˜‰

  7. So good to know that she is adjusting well here. πŸ™‚ And have I told you, she is super cute? πŸ™‚

    Ant elevator? LOL. So imaginative that is!

    PS: This post gave me a glimpse of what goes on in the minds of people who shift to India after having lived abroad for quite some time. Very Jhumpa Lahiri-esque.

  8. That is so good that she stopped watching whatever lil tv she was watching… My son just doesnt let go of his cartoons… especially now that it rains and he cant go out and play cricket πŸ˜₯

    The mosquitoes in our country are a serious nuisance… I always keep remembering that saying If Noah were smart he would have swatted those mosquitoes ! sigh…

  9. LOL! Totally the cautious mommy oozing over in this post,aren’t you? πŸ™‚

    Good to know she is adjusting well πŸ™‚

    LOL @ mosquito issue. Reminds me of hubby’s cousin who came to stay with us for a couple of weeks! :mrgreen: She said mozzies and she are sworn enemies! stab at sight category! πŸ˜†

  10. I’m very happy to know that she has adjusted so quickly and is liking her school too… πŸ™‚
    Lol at mosquitoes being the most common animal… Very soon she will start calling them the national animal too… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  11. wow good to know that poohi is settling down πŸ™‚ with kids settled down it becomes easy for parents too to settle down…

    how’s the house taking shape now? Waiting to see the pics…

    ants have secret elevators? just how cute is this one!!!!

    I’m so hoping that our B’lore trip happens soon so that all 4 of us girls can meet up πŸ˜€

So, what do you think?

