Bookless in Bangalore..

..and other related/unrelated nonsense.

I’ve run out of books, and am trapped indoors because of the work that’s happening in the kitchen. Not nice, is it? Have to find a way of getting hold of a book, until then, I’ll have to keep myself happy, re-reading stuff. To add to it, even the newspaper did not turn up! Talk about everything happening at once. I should seriously not complain, at least the workmen turned up- that has to be my silver lining, don’t you think?

So in other updates, my kitchen is getting done. Hopefully it will make the house a wee bit more liveable, not to mention – organizable, if there is a word of that sort. It does mean that the next 1.5 weeks is not going to be very pleasant, but then it would all be fine if the end result is worth it. Fingers crossed. I’ve also come to the conclusion that getting work done while staying in the house is a complete no-no. Initially, we had planned to move into a rental place, get our flat done up, and then move in. Unfortunately, we did not get a flat of our liking, so I decided to just move in here. Well, its not been too bad, but its not been the easiest either. Especially when there’s work going on, and dust everywhere. I came down with flu-like symptoms which I think was dust-allergy related, so I’m taking extra precautions today to ensure that no dust comes into the living areas of the house.

I’m going to stop my interiors work once the kitchen gets done. Everything can wait until husband gets here, and then we can move into a service apartment or something while the interiors get done.

House doing up woes aside, Bangalore is such a wonderful place. It makes me feel at home. Of course, having my aunt and cousins nearby helps loads, and even some wonderful new friends who have asked me give them a shout anytime I need something – makes you feel very, very comfortable. Blessings which I am truly grateful for. Talking of blessings, daughter can ab absolute darling, when she wants to be. Yesterday, I was ill, couldn’t get up, and she was just a star. Entertained herself, kept herself busy, did her work and today asked me to go and get some rest while she is at school.

The only thing I could wish for is to be able to carve out some time to meet friends and family. Hopefully soon. And go shopping – for myself πŸ™‚

Going back to the subject of house decor and stuff. I haven’t managed to do much elsewhere, but we do have plants in every balcony πŸ™‚ Daughter and I are both plant crazy. And we’ve also planted some seeds. Such fun it is to check how tall the saplings have grown – every morning! I know, I must be crazy, but seeing some green soothes me.

Enough of my ramblings, how have you been? I plan to blog hop today – if everything goes as per plan, and I don’t need to spend my day supervising people πŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “Bookless in Bangalore..

  1. Run out of books? Maybe you can order some on Flipkart till you find some library. They deliver quite fast πŸ™‚
    Getting your house done while staying in it can be painful. Hope everything gets done soon and you are able to settle down properly πŸ™‚

  2. Re-Reading is a good option till you find a library….pata chale, you go on and buy loads of books and then end up having no space to store them eh? which means more interiors to be done πŸ™‚

    That is a worry πŸ™‚ I’ve taken a justbooks membership -so I can get books from there -just waiting for them to deliver πŸ™‚

    take care of your health rey…

    I’m being extra careful today. Covering up my nose while stepping into the place where they are demolishing everything πŸ™‚ Can’t take a risk with falling ill.

    Big hugs to Poohi, sweetheart she is na πŸ™‚

    Sometimes πŸ™‚ SOmetimes she is a brat πŸ™‚

    Wish I had a green thumb, whatever I touch seems to die away 😦

    I’m alright so far – touchwood πŸ™‚ I bought a rose bush – because madam wanted it. And was petrified that it would die. But I saw some new shoots sprouting, and just the sight of them makes my heart jump with joy πŸ™‚

  3. Poohi is such an adorable darling! πŸ™‚

    It can be tough having your house done up while living in it. We realised that too, the hard way, some time back. 😦 Take care of yours and Poohi’s health?

    It is tough, isn’t it? Today was comparatively less taxing. Fingers crossed the next week and a half will go by quickly πŸ™‚

    Hope we get to meet up soon. πŸ™‚
    Yup! As soon as all this madness ends πŸ™‚

    Great to know that you got some plants. I do the same too – check on seeds every day after I plant them – to see how much they have grown! It is not crazy, no. πŸ˜€

    Same pinch πŸ™‚ I check them a million times. I am crazy that way πŸ™‚

    Bookless and stuck at home? Now, that is tough. Blossoms? Church Street? You have wonderful options! Also, you could spend time just being idle at home – that is a wonderful thing to do, too.

    If only I could go out! If only! Sitting idle is tough 😦

    Hope you get to pamper yourself soon. πŸ™‚
    Hopefully, when the work gets over.

  4. Sigh! The first, well one of the first things I did after the fall was to order loads of books on flipkart too πŸ˜‰ What would we do without books really πŸ™‚

    Doing up the home is so thrilling na πŸ™‚ I plan some makeover as soon as I am fine too. Even minor moves make it all look so nicely different πŸ™‚

    And same pinch on the green thingy. I have plants wherever there is any possibility too at home and some people think I have totally gone bonkers he he πŸ˜› I was able to [slipped away when everybody @ home was busy in their own work πŸ˜‰ ] go into my balcony only yesterday and saw that my rose plant has grown up so much – such a lovely feeling that was; had a huge grin on my face πŸ˜€

    Hope you are feeling better today, hugs. And special hugs to Poohi for being the darling that she is πŸ™‚

  5. Ordering on flipkart is a good option.
    You have enough time with you but don’t have books to read and my situation is the reverse! πŸ˜› Pah!

    The only thing I could wish for is to be able to carve out some time to meet friends and family. Hopefully soon. And go shopping – for myself
    Soon. Have patience πŸ™‚ Hang in there.
    While the work may seem never ending right now, you know this is only till the phase of settling down lasts. After that, it’s one smooth ride.

    • Thanks so much, sweetheart. No, I’ve ordered already. Should be here any time. Plus I do have a good book that I am rereading:) And plenty of work that needs doing too:)

  6. It sure seems like a lot of work! I guess doing up one’s house, always is. Good luck with the whole project.
    On the plus side, Bangalore is so likeable πŸ™‚

  7. Take it easy I would say .. how is the little one doing. and Hope you get to have some books soon enough.. But dont let the books distract you from continous monitoring of the work going on πŸ™‚

    and good on the plants , greenery is always a pleasure to seee .. os what all plants have you put up , when do we see the pictures …

    • She is fine. Enjoying school, having fun and hardly any homework- paradise for her:)

      Pics. That’s a long story. I have to resize all the images I have already uploaded, to make apace for more. Will do when I get some time. I end up getting busy when there is all this happening at home.

  8. Interiors when you’re at home isn’t a good idea, esp if you are allergic to dust, but you know that already. πŸ™‚ But seeing things getting done in front of your eyes is a different feeling. I hope it gets done soon. And you can go online and read stuff no? Awesome Poohi being her darling self. Muah to her.

  9. oh oh! I hope your books have been delivered now! I ran out of books to read a few weeks back and had to wait a day for K to get me my books from the library and that day was not very pleasant!
    and Im so glad you are enjoying Blore πŸ™‚
    my most fave city !! πŸ˜€

    • I can so imagine! It’s horrible isn’t it to not have a book to read! My apartment has a library so I got a book in the evening, and flipkart delivered the next day. So became a happy bunny:)

  10. Smitha , you could also join a library called Just Books. They do home delivery of books. Check it out…good luck for your house interiors. Once it is done please put up pics πŸ™‚ would love to see them…

    • I’ve already joined justbooks. They do 4 books at a time, and between daughter and me, its falling short:)

      I will put up pics after all the work a done. There’s loads to do at the mo.

  11. I can totally relate. We went through this phase last year. Took us 3-4 months of living out of boxes while interiors were being done. Other things took almost a year and now we are kind of settled in and still have items in wish list pending. After this past year, we are like – this is heaven, whatever is pending can wait…

  12. my house is being re-done for the past 5-6 months and we live in that very house… currently two cupboards lie in the hall one in the dining room and one in the kitchen as the bedrooms get their tiles done 😦 😦 😦 ! gee… look who is complaining !

So, what do you think?

