A Month

Sometimes a month just flies by, while other times, you wonder, has it just been a month? I’ve had one of those months, when I feel – has it just been a month? Last month this time, was I really in Leeds, just getting ready to fly to India(No return ticket – as my friends joked:)).

It has just been a month, but it has been a wonderful month, but for the fact that Husband is far far away. It would have been so much better with him around. But then, we’ve got to take what we get, yeah?

Normally Julys are months when school gets over and we head over for our summer hols, right in the middle of the monsoon. This year, it was for a whole new start, a new life, in a home that we had dreamt of for years. We had been apprehensive, with some of my friends being quite optimistic that we would be back in the UK soon – which I sincerely hope doesn’t happen. I don’t think I can handle one more relocation, nor can my bank account – we’ve spent way too much money and effort on the apartment here 🙂

Hopefully, that will not happen, given the fact that we are quite happy to be here. Daughter loves her school – that was my biggest worry, and it is such a relief to see the same enthusiasm in her to go to school everyday. The bus ride seems to be fun for her, and not too long. Over all, things seem to be in place.

I still have a lot to do in my apartment, the whole day passes off in a flash, and I am completely and totally exhausted at the end of the day, but it all feels worth it. Hopefully, I will have something to show for all the hard work I have been putting in, at the end of the day year.

As I put together our home, in a completely random way, I have to say, I just hope it turns out decent. Time to time, I wish I had the luxury of time and space to plan the flat better, to tour around Bangalore before deciding on stuff, knowing what to look out for… Times when I wish I had two of me to be in two places. Times when I wish I could just forget all that I need to get done, and just go and relax in a spa 🙂 There are times that I feel so lonely that all I have energy is to just sit down and cry. The only thing that stops me is daughter – that would be way too scary for her. But those moments pass, only for me to wonder what made me feel so desolate and lonely, when there had been so many things going for me.

Missing old friends, making new ones, finding help from unexpected quarters, getting a domestic help who is extremely sweet, a pleasant surprise after all that I had heard from friends, seeing daughter happy… I can only be thankful at the end of this month in Bangalore.

While there have been challenges, there have been far more blessings, and that is that matters in the end, isn’t it?

15 thoughts on “A Month

  1. I know this feeling..I can imagine Smiths…but I’m sure you brave enough to wade through this all and come out cheerful ..like you are already doing for Poohi…I’m glad poohi is liking it there 🙂 I’m so eager to see how the apartment comes out 🙂 Sometime at the year end maybe I’ll make a trip to meet you girls 😀

    I haven’t been brave or anything – just doing what needs doing 🙂 And to be honest, it hasn’t been too bad- It really has been much easier than I thought – I can just be grateful for that 🙂

    Just hang on those difficult moments and you’ll be fine,I know 🙂 Hugs!

    Yup:) Thats the plan 🙂 Hugs!!!!

  2. Absolutely Smiths 🙂 As long as the blessings and those joys outnumber their opposite 🙂
    Soo soo happy for u and wish I could be there and be of some help. Hugss!

  3. Hugs hugs hugs Smitha…hopefully things will settle down soon and you will be able to make it as good as Leeds eh?

    Great to hear about Poohi enjoying school..thats like the most important thing na 🙂

  4. Ah! I could see the glimpses of frustration but in the end it was your optimism which shines thru this post 🙂 Setting up a home is no mean task and that too when u r doing it all alone.
    Tell you what, take a days break, when daughter is at shcool go pamper yourself in the Spa 🙂
    When is hubby planning to join you?

  5. Missing old friends, making new ones, finding help from unexpected quarters, getting a domestic help who is extremely sweet, a pleasant surprise after all that I had heard from friends, seeing daughter happy… I can only be thankful at the end of this month in Bangalore.
    I think that’s a pretty decent collection isn’t it? 🙂 Hugs! hang in there…
    It will all be fine.

    P.S.: And refer that household help to me as well as when I shift there! 🙄 :mrgreen:

  6. It is so good to know that you and Poohi are settling down well in India. There truly seem to have been more blessings than challenges in your case, and yes, if all is well, that is what really matters.

    Do feel free to chat/call/e-mail whenever you feel down. I can totally understand the loneliness part.

    PS: It is OK to take a break just for yourself once in a while. Curl up quietly with a feel-good book, gorge on some delicious food, or pamper yourself at a spa. 🙂

  7. Setting up house is as daunting as it can be exciting. I’d be terrified to attempt it all by myself. Hats off to you for all your efforts!

So, what do you think?