That bitter-sweet feeling..

As the house starts to empty(yes, finally, it has started to feel empty and about time too), a whole lot of bitter-sweet feelings seem to engulf us.

The sad feeling of a time coming to an end. The sadness that engulfs you when you realise that the familiar surroundings that you called home, will soon not be home. That some other people will soon be living in the house that we came
home too, in which we made memories that will stay with us for life.

It was particularly sad, saying goodbye to friends and teachers at daughter’s school, the school that gave her such a wonderful start in life, where she has made some great friends and had so much fun. Our other friends, I have hope of meeting again, some time in the future.
We will always remember the time here with fondness and love. Looking back, it is funny how this country we came on a six month assignment, somehow became home, without us even realising it.

Tomorrow is the last day in this house. It makes us sad and yet joyful, knowing that we are going home, truly home, to a place which husband and I started dreaming of, some 11 years ago.

Hopefully, we will transition without too much trouble, and will soon be living in our own house, in a city which felt like home, even when we lived away from it.

7 thoughts on “That bitter-sweet feeling..

  1. Smitha,

    Hugs 🙂 I hope ypu have a safe journey and settle well soon. I somehow loved reading this. It makes me hopeful in a weird way 🙂 I have begun to love this home away from home and I know how you must be feeling, well, to some extent atleast.
    Also wanted to let you know that I am referring to your book list and review among a few others to order my flipkart package for august when i go home 🙂 Thanks much!
    🙂

  2. Hmmm I can understand your feeling, Infact for few days you might feel u r niether here nor there but trust me once in India you will forget everything 🙂

  3. Hey Smitha, I have something for you at my blog. Yes, I know, you must be crazy busy at the moment. Hope you settle down soon and get back to blogging soon:-)

So, what do you think?

