You know you are in dire straits..

…when

– one day before the packers are supposed to arrive, every thing stillΒ  seems to be a total mess.

– more and more things that need doing comes up.

– I feel so guilty about ignoring daughter during all the chaos, that I end up promising(rather rashly) that I would play monopoly after school:)

– I don’t even have the energy to read- now that is dire, in my book. I did read a few great books recommended by TGND – Under the Tuscan Sun, and am now midway through The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Both wonderful reads! I am not going to be have any time to do reviews in the near future to write more about them.

– I get so stressed out that I get terrible migraines that force me to leave dinner parties hosted by my wonderful friends. I’m going to miss my friends here so much.. It’s been such a wonderful time in this place.

– The loads of clothes, knick-knacks that we have given away – I could have held a car boot sale and made good money πŸ™‚ I threw away a 10 year old yoga pants – it was so comfy that I held on to it all these years:) But I think it has to go now πŸ™‚ We’ve got three boxes of books already, and still have more to pack – how much have we accumulated over the years! And this after giving away a lot of older books that daughter has out grown of. I was so hard-hearted with clothes disposal that I stopped myself from keeping clothes, that I hoarded all this while, in the vain hope that one day, I would lose weight to fit into them:)

I hear of people who lose their appetite with stress. I can only wish I were in that category. I eat more, and at a time like this, it ends up being more junk – so not what I need. I will need to go on a proper diet once I am back in India. High hopes, I know, dieting in India πŸ™‚ But then, one needs hopes to survive, doesn’t one?

The one thing I am genuinely thankful about is that we did not invest in a property in this country. Selling off a car is giving me nightmares, I actually have dreams involving selling my car. And funnily, Pixie came in my dream as a consultant telling me what to do to sell my car:) I know, I have certainly gone mad:)

18 thoughts on “You know you are in dire straits..

  1. Here Here!!! I completely understand… packing, winding off, travellling overseas and worst off all.. realising how much stuff one has without even realising it!
    Hang in there.
    It can be stressful, and at least for me, the unpacking was more so! Since ‘nothing fits’ and I was in the ‘comparing’ mode.

    Its just a matter of time, the packers hopefully make the process as painless as possible. After the last box leaves, make sure to take a deep sigh and I know the misty eyes will follow!

    Good Luck!

  2. >>I hear of people who lose their appetite with stress. I can only wish I were in that category. I eat more, and at a time like this, it ends up being more junk – so not what I need.

    LOL! Very true! I am also from same category – i never lost weight during exam times and had to go on diet / exercise immediately after that!

    BTW,Where do you live in the UK? I am getting same nostalgia / wistful thought after reading your post – when i left UK 5 years back! 😦

  3. Totally understand that feeling, it seems never ending…

    Where are you moving to in India? All the best wishes.. hold on tight for the ride πŸ™‚

  4. Well, it is too many things together in a short time, and everything can’t be packed in a suitcase – all the intangibles. Good luck, Smitha, am sure everything will fall into place soon!

  5. rofl… I will wait to see how successfully you diet here in India ! ha ha ha !!!! πŸ˜†

    I log into the reader everyday and see there is no post by you and would always wonder how come she is not writing…must be packing ! I for one once must admit I look forward to reading you and love the way how you weave so much in everyday life… ! No seriously ! I actually love the way you construct posts πŸ˜€ and now that you are moving to India… all the more chances we are gonna meet soon ! πŸ˜€

  6. glad to hear from you…I was going to email you πŸ™‚

    I hope the packing gets done fast eh..

    BTW, what gave you the impression that people eat less during stress…I EAT A LOT otherwise and EAT A LOT MORE when stressed πŸ˜‰

  7. In all the packing madness all you can think of is finishing more book reviews??? 😯 You must be out of your mind!!! πŸ˜› Jeez!!

    Diet in India eh? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ No comments!!

    We leave you to the final trials and travails of shifting. And look forward to welcoming you in India soon! πŸ™‚ Hugs!

  8. i was wondering why no post from u.. then thought u might have packed , shifted and are in unpacking stage in b’lore..
    i can understand how difficult it must have been for u to pack and then discard good things too.. it is all for good..
    i too eat a lot in stress.. but only advantage is i dont put on weight( tht is to make u jealous:)).. i can understand ur weird dreams too.. πŸ™‚

  9. Hugs! πŸ™‚
    Me and Car consultant?! ROTFL!!!
    You can’t diet after going back!! Bangalore has so many many delicious places and you are going to be in such a delicious location as well!! πŸ˜€

  10. He he. I can understand how overwhelmed you would be feeling at the moment. πŸ™‚ All the very best with the move.

    When are you due in Bangalore? Do drop in a mail in detail, when free.

    Glad you enjoyed the books!

So, what do you think?

