Randomness..

You know those weekends where you whiz through stuff and Monday leaves you gasping for breath? Well, we had one of those.

Monday is a holiday for daughter as it is a training day, and both of us just wanted to laze around, doing nothing. We did that and some more. We went to the City Centre and shopped(not as much as I wanted to), and ate (pigged out – way more than I wanted to). We had planned to go to the City museum. It used to be our regular haunt a couple of years ago. We hadn’t been there in a while, and thought it would be fun to revisit the places we loved once before we bid adieu to the city that has become home for us, for the last 4 years. Unfortunately, for us, it was closed. I hadn’t bothered checking the opening timings before we started.

Now we that we wasted the day effectively, I spent the rest of the time on FB and daughter did Mental Maths for ‘fun’! We had picked up a book today and daughter enjoyed the first ‘test’ so much that she sat and did 12 tests in a sitting. No, I am not complaining at all 🙂 Am just happy I don’t have to fight with her to do work. Although how long this phase will last is something I am not too optimistic about. Did I mention that we’ve been having marathon sessions of Monopoly in which she has been beating me hollow 😦 Yes, I don’t play like a mercenary, the way I play with husband 🙂 We’ve had so much fun with Monopoly that I’ve decided to take it in my luggage back to India, rather than shipping it. I’m sure I’ll need it to keep her occupied. And after today, I’m stocking up on mental maths workbooks as well 🙂

I had plans to pack and plan my packing, but nothing concrete seems to be happening. Although I have to say, I have done considerable research on all the makes of refrigerators and dishwashers in India. And scoured pictures of Model homes that we had hoarded up, all those years ago when we dreamt of moving into our own house. All those had been kept aside when we realized that we weren’t going back anytime soon. Now of course, it is back to those days, when I spent hours staring at my floor plan trying to figure out where I could do what. Daughter and I have been pouring over colour schemes and room decor. She, of course, has already planned out her room 🙂 After years of living in rental homes, I can’t wait, and neither can she. Husband, unfortunately has to wait a bit more before he can join us, and he is already feeling bad. Fingers crossed, it shouldn’t be too long.

As I said, I just can’t wait to be back in Bangalore! Every passing day brings more excitement now 🙂 Wish me luck, and do drop me all the info you can – tips for getting the furniture, appliances and the like. I’m going to be setting up home from scratch and totally excited about it 🙂

27 thoughts on “Randomness..

  1. woww.. setting up home from scratch is so much fun.. “your own space in the way you want it” is all we need 🙂 wishing you loads and loads and loads of luck.. 🙂 happy moving 🙂

    • How am I too busy 🙂 Lets hope Bangalore is better for blog meets 🙂 I have met no bloggers in the UK 😦 I guess UK and blogmeets don’t go together 🙂

      • Would have loved to meet you before you left UK :(. Any chance you might come towards London? Let me know. Do keep the book reviews coming. I am reading a lot more authors than I used to do previously. Thank you for that.

  2. Ohh i love setting up home from scratch. If only I were in Bangalore, I would have tagged along with you to shop for everything from the kitchen dustbin to curtains 😛

    All the best and I am sure you and Poohi will have loads of fun.

  3. Welcome to Bangalore!!! Which part?
    Want help? Want someone to take you around in the first few days? Want me to get some stuff to get you started? Anything you need, just holler 😛

  4. so looks like ur packing is almost done.. hmmm i know how it feels when u have to shift to ur dream house, and u can buy dream furniture’s too.. i too have so many house plans, which i designed and got it from magazines..
    all the best.. so shifting to b;lore.. its a great place.. will let u know few good places there…

  5. so much work lined up ahead yet it all is so exciting cause it’s going to be your own space 🙂 I’m so eagerly waiting for you to shift back…our all girl’s meet is in the pipeline 🙂

    come soon you!!! Hugs and good luck on the move

  6. Setting up your home the way you want it from scratch is one of the best feelings in the world. I am still at it, even after about 3 years of buying our house. 🙂

    Welcome to Bangalore! I would be more than happy to tag along on all your shopping expeditions. Honest. I crave girlfriends with whom I can go shopping, talk and eat out to my heart’s content. 🙂

  7. Mental maths! Give Kunju a same pinch from Namnam,ok! She loves doing mental maths and story sums too!
    And you’re being beaten black and blue at monopoly..awww! Way to go Kunju..keep at it! 😀

    • Same pinch done 🙂 They enjoy it so much na? I just hope they continue to enjoy it just as much, as they grow older!

      I am being beaten at Monopoly 😦 I should get my killer instinct back 🙂

  8. awesomeness at the Mental Math thingy!
    I want my future kid(s) to be math geniuses too!! 😛

    And I wish I was in Bangalore.. what fun times we would have had!
    and I could have pitched in and helped you in any way I could have!! Sigh…

    i can’t wait to come back home either!! 😀

  9. Ah! the planning & plotting to put up in your own home!!! Even I have staretd dreaming the same though there is some time for it.

    We started this process in 2001 – checking out properties, model homes, designing our house, and then finally gave up , because we realized that we were here for a while. Now the excitement is back – 11 years after we first started thinking of our own home 🙂

    I dunno how useful Dishwasher would be in Indian conditions but yes it does give you an indepedence from the maids. I dunno how Bangalore is in that terms.

    I haven’t a clue. Will figure out once we are there. I did read that Dishwashers are also economical in terms of water usage. Lets see.

    And so good na that Poohi keeps herself busy? What a blessing I must say!

    She does need me to correct her tests 🙂 But yes, she’s alright – most of the time 🙂

    And I packing? Errr I usually postpone it till it is too late and then just stuff the stuff 😛
    Packing! Don’t even get me started. The movers will do most of it, I wanted to do my clothes at least. Lets see how much gets done by me finally 🙂

  10. All the best, Smita!! Welcome to Bangalore 🙂

    I can so imagine the excitement and fun in setting up the house from scratch… best of luck for all the shopping too 🙂

    Poohi seems really sweet and smart.. She is atleast trying do something herself.. without bothering you in all this pressure.. 🙂

  11. helloo ,
    i’m first time here.. Relocating.. do you know i did it 6 times till now and 7th one is on the way
    in these 3 are across countries
    1.us to india
    2.uk to india
    3.india to us.
    so i can understand exactly how you might be feeling.
    Banglore is a great place. i like weather ,people and food..and schools.. i’m sure you will love it.(i stayed for 2.5 years there..south banglore ,one of my favourite place..)
    once you settle there.. there are lot of weekend getaways sort of places there.
    got school admission etc sorted out?

    • Welcome here:) I did relocate across countries earlier as well, but this has been my longest stay abroad. So I guess I have loads hoarded which need to go:) Plus, all the other tines was pre-daughter era:)

So, what do you think?

