Busy, busy, busy!

That’s my life at the moment.

We’ve booked our tickets to return to India, and suddenly there is just too much to do.

Last weekend, for instance. It started off with Friday. There was a Fashion and Beauty Night at school for the mums, and I had planned to go. I never end up going to these events because husband is never around. This time the event would go on from 7 to 11 pm. Daughter had dance class until 7:30, and husband would be back by then. I had it all planned out. Drop daughter off after dance class, handover-takeover with husband, and off for my fashion and beauty night. It is another story that daughter wanted to know, ‘ Amma, you are not Fashion or beauty, so why do you want to go?’. If she ever finds me looking good in anything I wear, her biggest compliment is, ‘You look Fashion, Amma!’. Which by the way, does not happen much, as much as I would like it to 😉

As I was saying, I had it all planned, sorted to the last minute. Until I received a text from husband -‘Flight delayed by an hour’! That was it, all my planning down the drain. Fashion and beauty was not going to be a possibility. That was Friday sorted. Saturday was the usual saturday rush, to get to swimming, get back home, and this time, instead of rushing out again, I got daughter to sleep. We had a dinner at a friend’s place, and I wanted to get her to sleep. We are bound to stay later than her usual bedtime, and I will have a cranky, unhappy child if she doesn’t take a nap. I lay down with her, and before I knew it, both of us were in dream land. Thankfully my contribution to the evening was already made – Tres Leche – I put on weight just thinking about it!

Dinner, of course, was loads of fun. And for me, tinged with a bit of sadness as well. I am going to miss my friends here.. Its been such a great time, full of fun, laughter, and loads of food! My friend had made some yummy, yummy food! I drool thinking about it! It was just yum! A perfect evening it was- stuffed to the gills with food, cheeks aching after laughing way too much, just the perfect weekend treat!

Sunday started early – for me. Somethings happened to me, no matter what time I sleep, I wake up at 6:00 in the morning! Six in the morning on Saturdays and Sundays! I must be mad! Since I can’t go back to sleep, I use the time to drink a leisurely cup of coffee sitting in my conservatory, listening to birds chirping, and basking in the warm sunlight. Of course the peace only lasts until daughter wakes up.

Daughter had a ballet exam on Sunday. They had been planning it since ages, and finally it was here. It’s funny how exams are such fun things for these children. She and her friends were super excited about it. The excitement dimmed a bit only when they(and we) realized that we wouldn’t get to know the results until another 4 weeks. That was a little disappointing but never mind, nothing keeps us down for too long.

We had planned to go shopping after the exam, but the weather was just gorgeous! Too gorgeous to waste on shopping! So off we went to Yorkshire Dales, and landed up in a gorgeous scenic place. We parked the car, walked to a river bank, with cows and sheep gazing at us, soaking in the gorgeous sunshine, relaxing and having fun doing nothing. Daughter found herself a new hobby, collecting stones! We now have a bunch of stones in our car boot. We could stay there forever and ever.

We then managed to go further and find a cute pub which would accept credit cards( I ran out of money and husband did not bring along his wallet. Sigh!). Before I forget enroute, we passed a car boot sale. Normally car boot sales are in the mornings, and I always have a million and one things to do in the morning. I saw signs advertising a car boot which would end at 4. It was 3:30 then, so we decided to stop and check it out. They waived off the entry fee for us, we realized why when we entered. It was almost empty. Needless to say, we did not buy anything. Infact, I felt I could donate some of the stuff I have in my place:) We left with an ice Lilly for daughter.

So going back to the cute pub. We landed in a tiny village where most restaurants accepted only cash. It was daughter’s dinner time, and we gratefully entered the only pub which was ready to accept cards. Daughter had her dinner while we snacked on onion rings and we started our journey back home.

That was it for the weekend. Monday and Tuesday seems to have whizzed past. Why does time fly so? I’ve got all the sorting and clearing left to do, while squeezing in meeting up with friends, planning playdates and hoping that I don’t miss something important. Also the realization that you have just a month to sort everything out, and you have two holidays scheduled in that month! I suspect though, that the month after I land in India will put this one to shame.

PS: I’ve been reading you guys, I’ve just not been able to get down to commenting.

27 thoughts on “Busy, busy, busy!

  1. Hugs!!
    Your weekend sounds busy busy! I should write about mine too! This weekend was super fun!
    Welcome back home Smithus! Wishing you all the best for a great time coming back!

  2. Your Sunday outing sounded like such a nice place that I googled “Yorkshire Dales” and saw some beautiful pictures 🙂 of the place.
    Enjoy your last few days there 🙂 Hope you get lots of sunshine during this time 🙂

  3. Sounds super hectic but fun!!! I am sure you will miss this kind of fun when in India but we will welcome you with a different kind of chaos here 😉

  4. I echo Smita. Your weekend sounds super hectic, but super fun too. 🙂
    Going driving and finding small, beautiful villages with cute pubs – sounds like something out of a dream for me.

    BTW let’s meet up once you reach Bangalore, eh? Would love to!

  5. Can’t tell u hw excited am abt ur coming here 🙂 How much did we plan to meet up in Wayanad that time!:) So glad its all gonna be easier now!

    That def. sounds like a busy but fun fun weekend 🙂

    Sigh! And i so understand how it feels to leave the gang of friends behind! Hugs 🙂

  6. Oh my quite a busy weekend, but fun too nonetheless, isnt it?! And I want to know the recipe of Tres Leche? You have shared it in one of your earlier posts have you? Need to dig through your archives 🙂

    Hugs Smits tight tight hugs! I can understand how difficult it will be for you to bid good bye to the place that gave you so many memories and friends who gave you so many cherishable moments! But I am sure you will make just as many moments and wonderful memories when you’re in India as well. Take care 🙂

    Hugs!

  7. Surely will be a really busy till you leave, rt?? Its difficult to move from any place.. and friends there…

    But have sometime to meet us here 🙂 🙂

  8. for me,whatever I’ve seen you, you always looked ‘fashion’ to me Smiths…gorgeous is the word for you 🙂

    oh this getting up at 6 in the morning whatever time you sleep in the night is husby’s habit and somewhat irritates me especially when it is a holiday/no rush day!

    whoa ballet exam? sounds tough to me but I’m sure poohi did well 🙂 like you said exams are fun things for children !!

    so packing and packing it is now…come soon and come well 🙂 Hope the transition is not much a hectic thing for you all 🙂

So, what do you think?

