Paneer Pinwheels – Recipe Variation

As I had promised, I did try to make Paneer pinwheels with wholemeal flour – atta. I only had multigrain atta, so I just used it, but I am sure even the regular flour should be fine.

Here’s how it turned out.

The taste – it was different, but nice different. The pastry was crisp, not flaky. More like Bhakarwadi rather than puff pastry- but that was to be expected. For me, I might use this method more as it is far healthier than the puff pastry. And it tasted just as delicious on the whole. And easier to rustle up. Just use chappathi atta!

I had planned to make a stiffer dough, but ended up with softer dough. I was too lazy to correct it, so went ahead and made it. Thankfully, it still turned out delicious! It was a little more delicate to handle, but a few minutes in the fridge was enough to sort that out.

Ingredients

For the pastry

Whole meal flour – I cup( I tried with scaled down ingredients)

Water – to knead- I did not measure, I’m afraid

salt to taste

For the mixture. I used the same amounts as I used for the earlier version. Just made stuffed paranthas with the remaining mixture.

Paneer – One store bought block- 9oz approximately

Oil – 1 tsp

Turmeric – 1/4 tsp

Red Chilli Powder – 1/2 tsp or to taste

Chat Masala – 1/2 tsp

Amchoor – 1/4 tsp

Salt – as per taste

Corainder leaves – a handful, chopped

Green chutney – Enough to spread lightly on the pastry.

For the pastry, combine the flour, water and salt and knead well until it comes together in a nice firm dough. Mine went a little softer than I wanted it, but it did not really matter much in the end.

In a little oil, lightly saute the paneer with all the ingredients mentioned. This time, I just added the green chutney to the mixture – laziness, that is me! Keep aside for to cool down.

Roll out the dough. Brush a tiny amount of oil, fold it and roll it out again. I used very little oil, but I am sure a little more oil would taste better. I did this about 3 times. Had my dough been stiffer, I could created more layers. Once the layers were done, spread the paneer mixture evenly, and roll it up, firmly but gently. Seal the ends with a little water.

I had to put mine in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes before cutting the roll into equal sized pieces, Place them on a greased baking tray and bake them for about 15 minutes at 400 deg F or until golden.

21 thoughts on “Paneer Pinwheels – Recipe Variation

  1. i will try this soon.. on the rolling part for layers.. do you roll it into rectangle shape apply oil, fold it into two, roll again into rectangle shape, apply oil and repeat the process? will layers be formed in this process? sorry if I am asking a dumb question 😉

  2. Am going to try this one once the MIL leaves..errr..she doesnt eat paneer or onions so whats the point of making only for us 🙂

    thanks for trying out and letting us know..you are a sweetie 🙂

  3. Thanks for trying it out with wheat flour and letting us know, Smitha! 🙂 Would love to try out this version.

    BTW how do you make the green chutney? Just grind salt, green chillies and a bit of coriander, or add something else too?

So, what do you think?

