Banking lessons and Democracy

So we had a banking lesson yesterday. And a lesson in democratic parenting for me πŸ™‚

I was shopping and daughter saw me enter my credit card pin, and managed to see the number I entered. She was so excited that she almost shouted it out loud, much to my horror. Dragging her out of the shop, I explained to her that the pin number is very special and is different for each of us. If we let others know our pin, if you card gets stolen, by mischance, someone else could use our card and buy things – that would similar to someone stealing our money. So we should never tell anyone else our pin numbers, and never say it aloud, even if you see me enter it.

So then started a bunch of questions.

Q. When can I have a credit card?

A. When you are a grown up.

Q. When I am eighteen?

A. Yes, when you are eighteen.

Q. So Amma, I have a doubt. When you are about to become a grownup, when you are about to turn eighteen, how do you get your pin?

A. *Now that needs a lot more explanation, doesn’t it? So I gave a short, retail banking overview – on how you open an account, and then request for a card- I even explained credit cards and debit cards -don’t even ask me to repeat it here πŸ™‚ And then the bank sends you your secret pin number, which you have to keep to yourself.

Daughter: OK. I get it now! And now, I know your pin number too – Β it’s ****!

In full volume by the way! Arghh!!! I should have just gone the non-democratic parenting way and told her, ‘One Β word out of you and no toys for life’! That would have worked far better πŸ™‚

On another motherhood note, TGND shared a post about motherhood and aspirations for our children, it had me nodding away. Do share what you feel.

48 thoughts on “Banking lessons and Democracy

  1. Wah! awesome Poohi..glad you learnt the banking ways..errr…Smitha, did you really get a credit card at 18..awesome…I got mine at 28, when RD thrusted it down my throat saying take it other wise…..

    I still havent used it though πŸ™‚

    Big hugs to Poohi πŸ™‚

    • Are you kidding me? I got one when I was 22 – when I started working πŸ™‚
      I just agree to some things to make things easier for me πŸ™‚

  2. Loved the patient way you took time to explain the correct procedure to get a credit card and the PIN πŸ˜€
    I have read that wonderful article and I couldn’t agree more πŸ˜€

    • That’s because I’ve learnt that I can’t not explain to her – she’ll eat me head until she gets everything she wants to know πŸ™‚ Yesterday, she made a mistake in her Kumon class, and she couldn’t even wait till we reached home so that I could sit and explain to her πŸ™‚

  3. Er… I so hope she remembers the pin till she is old enough to move out you know !!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Yeah, right – And you think I’ll keep that pin until then πŸ™‚

    as kids we always used the sindhi… we brothers would get chewing gum and just tell him to add to our account… moms accoutn…. no pins were required there… till one day my mom realised that the three kids were adding confectioneries to her rations !!!!! πŸ˜› :mrgreen:

    That is clever πŸ™‚ I never did all that – such a hopeless child I was πŸ™‚

  4. LOL!!! Do we see another Mini Shopaholic on the way?? πŸ˜€
    And so much for patience we show towards kids, at the end they do what they have to do!!! Sigh!! And we learn it the hard way!

  5. Haha, thats a cute mother-daughter moment there, quite unconventional too πŸ˜›
    I’m sure this must have got her more curious about the way plastic money works.

    • More curious – don’t even go there 😦 She is right now not very happy that salaries are credited only once a month -what happens if I need more money. I tried explaining about budgeting – but she wasn’t so keen on it 😦

  6. LOL.. have been there Smitha exactly the same incident πŸ™‚ She remembered my pin for a long long time though I asked her to turn around every time I entered the pin for the next few months.. Now, she keeps asking me for the password of home computer every time she has to access it. I told her that its private, I cannot share with her, that she can have her own when she is older.. For this reason, she needs a computer now to have her own password that she don’t have to share with me.. I think the “don’t share” part is bothering her too much πŸ˜‰

    • Aww! That is so cute! I agree, she must not like the fact that we can’t share. My phone had a pin number lock, and daughter hated it. So I changed it to a pattern, which I let her use. With pin numbers, I worry she will reveal it by speaking it out loud. With the laptop – she is not allowed to unlock it – so we haven’t reached that stage yet.

  7. Ha ha, also give your daughter some time to assimilate and digest what she’s learned and come back with more questions!!! Happens with me all the time!!

    • ‘some time to assimilate and digest what she’s learned and come back with more questions’ – Oh yes! The questions never stop, do they?

  8. so, what was the pin number which Poohi kutty shouted out?! πŸ˜‰
    lol!
    she is so cute and so are you for explaining it to her so patiently!! πŸ™‚

  9. πŸ˜† πŸ˜† such a cutie pie she is πŸ™‚

    I have stopped taking the brat along with me to the ATM coz he always tries to sneak in to see the pin. Once he even tried to use the back of my mobile as a mirror 😯 Strangely, he never does that when the husband punches in the pin. So when I asked him why he wants to see mine he says “I wonder how much money you have when you are not even going to the office” πŸ™„ sigh!!

    • That is one smart young man πŸ™‚ He has figured out that people can get money without working πŸ™‚ And using the mobile as a mirror – that is seriously smart of him πŸ™‚

      Here someone things only I have money – because husband forgets his wallet most of the time.

  10. LOL.. now i need to become a friend of Poohi and get ur card i think.. kid are dangerous i say.. i am sure even i would decided to be non-democratic parenting way.. nice term indeed. hearing it for first time..

  11. Hahah!! See? This is why you shouldn’t over think matters. She’s a kid after all, keep it simple silly! πŸ˜›

    BTW loved the link you posted πŸ™‚

    • But she loves to hear about all this. Infact she gets a ‘grown up type feeling’ when I talk about stuff like this with her. She actually remembers and comes up with questions later. She is very curious about things like this.

      There was no over thinking I did – I just explained things – the way we always do with her. She appreciates it more when we explain things to her.

So, what do you think?

