Venice – A Bird’s Eye View

So this is for all of you who wanted pictures -first installment πŸ™‚ More about where we clicked all this – in the next post.

St Mark’s Clock Tower

Check out the Bell and the two figures on the top. The winged lion with the book is considered the symbol of the City of Venice.

The Doges Palace

The top of St Mark’s Basilica

The Grand Canal

Isola San Giorgio Maggiore

Piazza San Marco. There was a concert going on there.

Look at the restaurants dotting the square.

More to come in the next few days πŸ™‚

29 thoughts on “Venice – A Bird’s Eye View

  1. lovely pictures , I have a week off coming in july/aug , maybe go there .. I dont know
    how is it , expensive or what , we will be 5 of us if we go ..

    It is an expensive place – hotels are quite expensive, although food and stuff – I felt was more reasonable than Greece – and far tastier too πŸ™‚ I met someone who mentioned that they stayed in an apartment – self catering – you chould check that as well, if that makes sense for you..

    how long did you go for and did poohie enjoy the time there .. did she have a good time ..

    She did πŸ™‚ She did get tired with all the walking we did – we walked a lot πŸ™‚ But she had a great time over all.

  2. W.O.W!!! thats all I can say

    *RM to the jealous voice within herself – Dont be jealous be happy that Smitha is at least sharing the pics hehehe*

  3. wow wow wow and wow
    awesome pics! I echo RM. πŸ™‚
    I am reading Frances Mayes’s Bella Tuscany, and her chapter on Venice had me literally entranced, with mouth hanging open and all. The husband was super amused. πŸ™‚ Now I get to see, on your blog, pics to match Mayes’ descriptions. I am thrilled. πŸ™‚
    Looking forward to hear the travel tales. πŸ™‚

    BTW did you get around to reading Under the Tuscan sun and A year in the world? Both of them would have made awesome travel companions!!

    • πŸ™‚ You should go to Italy – it is an amazing place! This is our second time there and I can’t wait to go back – if ever πŸ™‚

      I started reading ‘A year in the world’ in Venice -but did not get much time – I would be asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow πŸ™‚ And for some reason, not been reading much since I got back – back-from-holiday blues πŸ™‚

  4. Wow! lovely lovely pics. Reminds me of my visit there :). Btw I didn’t go up the clock tower 😦 … some amazing views from there… waiting for more details πŸ™‚

  5. what a place to click pictures from πŸ™‚ loved all of them, of course πŸ™‚

    especially the grand canal one…your shadow is looking lovely on it πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Venice – Day 1 | Any Excuse to Write…

So, what do you think?

