The Cheat that is..

..Spring.

We woke up to glorious sunshine. What joy! There is something about sun streaming through the windows. It was as if summer was already here! Well, not quite summer, but spring is here for sure!

I made plans to pack away our winter coats – those horrid warm coats, without which life here is miserable in winter. But those coats also mean that half our clothes are hidden behind those voluminous coats, unless you are adventurous enough to do things like this. I think I will certainly be happy to leave behind the English winter for good! All you really want is sunny, gorgeous weather that makes your heart sing with joy.

With summer(and summer clothes) dancing in front of my eyes, I stepped out, dressed in my spring jacket, only to feel the cold hit me – and hit me bad. I did not have the time to change into something warmer – daughter thankfully was dressed more appropriately. I was sure that I would get warmer as we walked to school. In a few minutes, I realized that I was wrong – it was freezing. Daughter pulled out her gloves – yes, it was that cold. She, then, kept my fingers warm by holding on to them – she would change sides every so often – so that my other hand does not freeze. What did I ever do to deserve a child like this, I don’t know πŸ™‚

By the time we reached school, I was freezing, despite all of daughter’s efforts, and all I could do was somehow walk back home, cursing myself, and promising myself that never again, am I going to be taken in by this deceptive weather!!!!!

It is still sunny, and gorgeous, but I refuse to get cheated again. I plan to step out fully prepared. But what do I know? In all probability, when I go dressed like an eskimo, it will be so warm that I will have to pull off layers 😦 I tell you, this spring is a big cheat!

PS: I also realized that ever since winter has been on it’s way out – I have also stopped checking the weather reports – it must be weather god’s way of teaching me a lesson.

15 thoughts on “The Cheat that is..

  1. Ouch! I can imagine the hurt this sort of cheating by the weather would have caused 😦

    It was horrid while it lasted. Never has my home looked more inviting, I have to say πŸ™‚

    Poohi is a caring darling πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I was touched to see how concerned she was πŸ™‚

    Hugs to the little princess…and I hope the spring temperatures soon reach your end of the planet πŸ˜€
    Here’s to that hope πŸ™‚

  2. πŸ™‚ he he he Have you seen the weather outside .. its so sunny BUT SO COLDdddddddd brrrrrrrr.. I got froze today when I was running , it was nice and not that cold so i did not take my warmer and I tell you I was almost blue ..

    Glad I was not the only one fooled by the looks of the weather πŸ™‚

    It is cheating and I just spent a lot of time this weekend outside putting new bulbs and sowing seeds now I wonder if they will grow .. and it snowed too jsut a litte here for a few seconds more like ..

    I know 😦 It snowed here as well – it snowed for almost an hour, but thankfully did not settle.

    and God bless Poohie takeing care of Mommy DEar πŸ™‚
    πŸ™‚ She is a darling – sometimes πŸ™‚

  3. Poohi is one caring daughter, lots of love to her..

    I hope after returning, you would have served yourself something hot to drink or eat…
    PS: please check weather forecast and real feel temperature πŸ™‚

  4. yup!! The weather has been cheating here too!! So, even though the weather outside has been glorious, I’ve been stepping out with a coat in my hands!! 😦

    Poohi is a sweetheart!! πŸ™‚

  5. Awwww @ Poohi protecting you. THat’s so sweet and adorable! πŸ™‚

    I know… it just sucks when you think the day will be gloriously warm and sunny, but it is cold instead. 😦

    PS: Bangalore is so warm and sunny these days that it is difficult to believe that it is Bangalore. πŸ™‚ You will love it when you are here. You’ll be in Bangalore, right?

  6. Hahahah been there, done that. This was a constant all through my days in UK.
    The sky would be blue, the clouds floating by gently, and the sunshine would be so bright that it could hurt one’s eyes. The room inside would be toasty warm due to the heating, hence one would not know the difference while sitting inside.

    The moment you step out…..a blast of freezing cold air hits you. And you are running inside for your life, scrambling to change into your gloves and coat and shoes! πŸ˜†

  7. Poohi the lovable and caring daughter.. I have asked myself many times “What did I ever do to deserve a child like this”.. we are blessed πŸ™‚

  8. Hw much more sweeter can she get? Hugs to the li’l darling πŸ™‚
    I wud so luv to sport some coats like that, but Hyd never never needs them 😦 All of them are bundled up and have been adorning the attic for 5 yrs now 😦

So, what do you think?

