Thanksgiving and other randomness.

First things first, thanks all of you, for those wonderful ideas to the question in my lastΒ post. I don’t know what I would have done without you guys!

So I am leaning towards Alice in Wonderland. Mainly because I am lazy – this seemed the simplest to put together. Secondly, I am also cheap – I don’t want to buy a costume, nor do I have the creativity to put together something spectacular. So I decided to be creative in my interpretation of Alice in Wonderland. Most of the costumes have a blue dress and a white apron over it. I remembered that Poohi has this apron.

image

It is blue, and has a rabbit on it – remember the White Rabbit.Please ignore the bad quality picture(phone camera) – I was too lazy to get the camera out to take the picture. Yes, it is not a White Rabbit – but that’s where creative freedom comes into it πŸ˜‰ So she could wear this over a dark blue dress – because that is the only shade she has. Now all I have to do is convince her. Or she can wear her witch costume. Lets see.

They have a travelling book fair going on at school, I had to literally pull daughter away from school this afternoon. We had to go to ballet lessons, and there was no time to go to the book fair. Luckily it is on tomorrow as well, but daughter is extremely worried that all the good books will bought, if we don’t go and buy them today. I have somehow managed to convince her, and am now hoping that the books she wants, is still available..

I think I mentioned earlier about how much daughter was looking forward to learning about dinosaurs. She even read up about them, and was delighted when they started the topic at school. Yesterday, they had a dinosaur workshop, where somebody from a museum came and brought with him, parts of a dinosaur skeleton, a fossil of a dinosaur footprint and a dinosaur egg. I have never seen her that excited ever! She was in seventh heaven, and still can’t stop talking about it. She even told her ballet teacher all about it!

The days that I have here, makes me realize how much I have got used to the life here. Suddenly it dawns on me, that I will have a very different life in India. Different, mainly because it is going to be a totally different place, and secondly all the things I take for granted here will change. Not that it will be a ‘bad’ different- just ‘different’ different. Somehow all the times I moved cities, countries, this seems to feel the most unsettling. Probably because daughter has a life of her own here as well. And maybe because I have too much time on my hands to worry.

Although I have a feeling that I will look back on this and laugh at my worries πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Thanksgiving and other randomness.

    • Come along then πŸ™‚ I have to take her to the Natural History Museum in London – I made the mistake of telling her what is in it, and she won’t let go now πŸ™‚

  1. most certainly you will laugh at this πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I certainly hope so πŸ™‚

    We humans are strangely adaptable… πŸ™‚ Whilst it might take us time… we adapt so so well… πŸ™‚ Its our strength πŸ™‚

    That is true , Hitchy πŸ™‚

    kids just need a few friends and they are always home πŸ˜€

    I agree πŸ™‚ They are far more adaptable that us πŸ™‚

    I speak from personal experience. Hriday settled so well in Bharuch from Indore πŸ™‚
    Hriday is a sweetheart! ANd he has you and Hetal as parents πŸ™‚

  2. Aww, hope Poohi finds all the ‘good books’ she wants πŸ™‚ And don’t worry, I’m sure everything will settle right into place once you move here.

  3. can we see the Alice in wonderland? πŸ™‚ Dino work shop sounds cool.. Does she watch TV or videos in youtube? If yes, do you know about the show “Dinosaur Train”? May be you can show them to her in youtube.. title song is here – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNpoEoXi1lE .. We used to sing this song together πŸ™‚
    Adi loves this show but she gets to watch this only on Friday and Saturday as it gets telecast ed at 9:30pm..

  4. I love, love, love the sound of your daughter’s school. Dinosaur workshop, travelling book fair and a fancy dress competition. πŸ™‚ Wow! I wish I could have studied that way!

    They have a great time at school πŸ™‚ Which is why it is a nightmare she is ill πŸ™‚ She hates missing school πŸ™‚

    That apron looks so cute. But would the audience be able to interpret it as ‘Alice in Wonderland’? 😦

    Hopefully they will – it is just for fun, so hopefully she will have fun.

    Wish you all the very best with the move to India. I can understand it is a HUGE decision to take, and hope it works out well for all of you. πŸ™‚

    Thank you πŸ™‚
    And here’s hoping that Poohi finds all the books that she wants to at the fair. πŸ™‚

  5. U will def. look bk and laugh at them. Kids rock at carving a life for them wherever they are! I have seen a lot of moves in the family/ among friends esp. in the last 2 yrs and kids have handled it better than parents thought they would. Hugs and the apron is really really cute πŸ™‚

    • I know! Kids certainly handle it better than us πŸ™‚ I have heard this from so many people.. And esp at this sort of age.. Hugs, Swaram! Will call you – once you are back in form πŸ™‚

  6. Your idea sounds good and shortcut bhi hai πŸ˜€

    Shortcut is what appealed to me πŸ™‚

    You know there is/was a book fair goign on in Delhi, I was so sad that I couldn’t even think of think of going there 😦

    I love book fairs! My dad used to take me to the annual book fair in Jamshedpur every year! It used to be magical πŸ™‚

    And you know what, your worries are not without reasons. Life here will be very different & for Poohie it will be a big change but then what is life without some change πŸ˜‰ The kind of kid she is, I am sure she will settle down here in no time πŸ™‚

    Hopefully! Hopefully!

  7. I missed your last post :(.
    Anyway, Alice in Wonderland idea is great and the apron looks apt too :). Do take a snap of the dress-up doll before she leaves for school,ok? πŸ™‚

    Will definitely try. Mornings are mad these days! And I am picking up a friend’s daughter from school in the evening – so I do hope to take a pic in the morning πŸ™‚

    A dino workshop, thats sounds so much fun!
    It was great, apparently! And I am surprised at how much she has absorbed from the workshop. We were reading a book on dinosaurs and she remembered quite a few thinsg she had learnt!

    Can understand your anxieties about moving back, Smits. Hugs! But I am sure you will accept the coming change in life as wonderfully as you did when you started a life afresh at first out of India! And moreover with your family and friends close-by the transition will be as smooth as ever, I’m sure. So dont worry and look forward to the exciting stint awaiting you at home :).

    That is what I am hoping for, Deeps πŸ™‚ And the fact that there will be blogger meets πŸ™‚

  8. I agree with hitchu in this one. As a kid, I was happy with my dad’s transfer and visiting him each time… as long as I had company! πŸ™‚

    That makes me feel much better, Ash πŸ™‚ If daughter is happy – things will be much easier on us..

    And you being an adult…will definitely adapt as per the situation. Sure it will come its share of adjustments, responsibilities and difficulties. But you’ll do fine πŸ™‚
    True πŸ™‚ Hopefully πŸ™‚

  9. Wow dinosaur workshop is a dream. Though I’m a Geology graduate dinosaurs never fascinated me till my son came along now I’m so hooked along with him.
    You’re movng to India?? When? Yes it will take getting used to .. we’ve moved pretty often … but you’ll see Poohi will adapt faster that anyone else.

  10. You will definitely look back n laugh at it… A sweetheart that Poohi is, I’m ure she will be able to adapt quickly to the change… πŸ™‚

    Amen to that πŸ™‚
    The apron looks very cute… πŸ™‚

    I hope she looks like Alice in Wonderland from some angle πŸ™‚

  11. Alice in Wonderland sounds perfect! πŸ™‚ and she would look adorable in her costume as well!! πŸ™‚

    Adorable or not – it seems to be the easiest πŸ™‚

    nice to know she found her books! And yea, Dinosaurs are fascinating! I still have the big book of Dinosaurs and stars back home and its filled with precious memories! πŸ™‚

    Wow! I can imagine! I so can imagine! She got herself a book on Dinosaurs and a Rainbow fairy book.

    I’m sure you will look back and laugh, we humans and kids especially are very adaptable!
    hugs! πŸ™‚

    True πŸ™‚ That is what I am hping for, Pix! And I can see that you are back home and back in action πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

