Weekend Tales..

.. of going round and round in circles, and a wonderful movie..

In short, that was what our weekend was all about. I started the weekend rather badly(or should I say, painfully), with a horrid, horrid migraine, which started it’s assault on Friday morning. I went to bed on Saturday hoping that sleep would chase away the migraine – but no such luck! Saturday morning dawned with daughter’s voice ringing in my ears, and the migraine pounding away at my head. I envy all those who get to sleep in on the weekends – I never ever get to do that 😦 Either I wake up – thanks to my own internal alarm, or daughter does the job. And then on, it is a mad rush Saturday.

Last Saturday, I also had an appointment for a facial. Now, I never normally book appointments for relaxing things on a Saturday -it just beats the purpose. This time, I had no option. Husband, when I was in India, had bought me some spa vouchers in Groupon. They were wonderful treatments -but in some far away locations, which husband being husband, had not noticed at that time. So he offered to drive me there. The appointment was at 1, which meant that we needed military precision to get there, after daughter’s swimming lessons.

We somehow managed to reach the place, at 1:06(I did call and let her know that we were running late), and I did not feel too bad because she had called and cancelled my appointment at the last minute twice already. And I was thankful that husband drove me there – because we were not able to find a parking, which meant that he had to go around the little village searching for one. As for the facial – it was totally worth all the hassle.I should go in for such treatments more often! I was hoping for my migraine to disappear miraculously, but that might have been hoping for too much.

So after the facial and massage, all I wanted was to go to sleep – and that almost never happens Β – I cannot sleep during the day, unless I am really ill, so husband drove us back home, although he wanted to step out. So we came to a compromise that we would go out for dinner, if my headache went away.

Luckily, headache decided to cooperate, and we planned to meet some friends at a restaurant at the city centre. We wanted to go to another branch of it, but it was booked until 10:00 pm. So we checked out the one in the city centre, and were told to just come down -no bookings needed. Now, just to give a background to our city centre visits – we both don’t like to drive there. Parking is a nightmare. Normally I go to the city centre by bus – because it is just so much easier. Or we take a cab.

So we reach the City centre pretty quick Β – reach the restaurant, to find no parking anywhere close by. So we decided to go to the nearest, closed parking lot, which was a 5 minute walk or so. As I said, the city centre is full of one ways, and ‘no left turns’ and ‘no right turns’. Every time we needed to turn left, there would be ‘no left turn’, or if we had to turn right, it would be a ‘no right turn’ road! Just as we thought we would be able to get to the parking we came across a ‘road ahead closed’, and Β ‘diverted traffic’ road signs. Following the diverted traffic signs, we ended up outside the city centre, and had to make our way back to the restaurant. And we almost did a full circle, and landed up in a weird alley, which we had never seen, and we were the only car on the road. As we were getting out of that place(following the GPS for direction), the GPS froze. It just stopped functioning. That was all that we needed at that point! The only solution that both of us could think of was ‘reboot’ it. The only problem being, the GPS is integrated with the car, so the only way to reboot would be to park somewhere and shut down the engine and then restart. So off we went in search of a place to park, while I tried to get our locations using my phone.

It was already over 30 minutes that we had been circling the city centre. Our friends who were supposed to meet us, called us then. They had reached the restaurant, only to be told that there was Β waiting of a hour! That was the last straw. We decided to get out of this place and go to a restaurant somewhere else. Being Saturday night, almost all the places were full. We finally managed to find a place at a decent restaurant quite in the suburbs. We did not care. all we knew was that we wanted to get out of the city centre and eat something quickly!

Alls well that ends well, they say. We did manage to have a good dinner, fun conversation, and a relaxed time.. The one thing we know for sure now is that neither of us will plan a dinner at the city centre on a weekend, ever again!

Sunday was a relaxed day, the only highlight being, Hugo. We had been planning to watch it for ages, and had not managed to make it to the movie until yesterday. And were we glad that we did! I’m going to do a short review – just because I enjoyed it so so so much πŸ™‚

Hugo Cabret is a 12 yr old boy who lives in a Paris Railway station. He used to live with his father, a clock maker. Hugo and his dad were trying to fix an old automaton that writes. Hugo’s father had found it in the attic of the museum he worked at. One day, Hugo’s dad dies in a fire at the museum, and Hugo finds himself at the mercy of his drunk Uncle Claude, who takes him to the railway station, and teaches him to maintain the clocks at the station. His uncle then disappeared, and he has no hope of him returning. Hugo keeps the clocks running, in the hope that no body would come searching the his Uncle Claude’s apartments as far as the clocks run on time. All the while he keeps trying to fix the automaton in the belief that the automaton will bring a message from the Β He lives on stolen foodstuff, evading the cruel station master, who catches orphans and hands them over to the orphanage like his life depended on it. One day he tries to steal a clock work mouse from George Melies’s toy shop and gets caught.

What happens next? You have to watch the rest of the movie to know what happens next.Β It is a wonderful, touching and poignant story of the young boy, George Melies, and of the power of dreams.. All the characters are beautifully drawn out, and wonderfully portrayed. Β We all loved it – even daughter. The picturizationΒ was breathtaking! The views of Paris, the whole feel of the movie.. It made us want to visit Paris again. It was one of the best movies I’ve watched in a while. I just read that it is based on a book, and I am now going to get hold of it as well.

All in all, it was a perfect ending to a weekend! So how was yours?

22 thoughts on “Weekend Tales..

  1. Well some days are like that… and weekend woes, well, are like no other. Glad you had a good time despite all that!
    The movie also, it sounds interesting πŸ™‚ When, if it comes around must try and catch it πŸ™‚

    Yes, we did have a good time, despite all that πŸ™‚

  2. Jeez reading your round and round car adventure is making me nurse a headache now πŸ˜₯ I must say N is very patient to drive around for 30 mins looking for a parking space. Here the husband has set an unbreakable rule – if he is driving only 5 mins will be spend searching for parking or else I drive and hunt for a vacant space while he and the boy is playing in the back seat 😑

    He was amazingly patient that day πŸ™‚ He loves driving – the only time he lets me drive is when I drive my car 😦 Which is too sad for him to drive apparently 😦

    Oh we loved Hugo too…like you said one of the best movies I have seen in recent times. Btw I guarantee you will love the book too πŸ˜›

    You liked it too πŸ™‚ I should have known πŸ™‚ I so have to get hold of that book now!

  3. Oh damn! Both me and Mint read such rave reviews about Hugo. We went to watch it a while ago with such HIGH expectations. Honestly, I thought the movie was just about okay. Both of us weren’t very impressed with the story line, or the picturisation, or anything at all. We even thought it was a lil bit of a drag towards the end. I wish we had enjoyed it more. Next time, I am going to watch movies with no preconceived notions. Maybe that will help.

    • We went with no expectations – that might have helped.. We all loved it. I was wondering how Poohi would take it – but even she enjoyed it. And for us, Paris reminded us of the time we spent there -so I am sure the picturisation felt extra special, because of that..

  4. sounds like an interesting weekend that started with migraine but moved towards a relaxing facial, dinner out and ended with a nice movie.. πŸ™‚ Hugo is on my list.. will get to it soon..

      • oooh you been pampered this weekend πŸ™‚ ..

        end of the day thats what matters you had a good meal and enjoyed the food ..

        the movie sound good , I am wanting to go to see a movie for a long time jsut dont get the time ..

        all in all you had a good weekend πŸ™‚ os yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy to that

  5. baap rey..you guys are really patient…I would have thrown a tantrum, walked out of the car leaving R with RD to find a parking Gah!

    Its a book as well…need to search for it..thanks for the reco πŸ™‚

  6. Oh, that sounds like a very stressed-out weekend, for sure! Anyways, all’s well that ends well. Glad your weekend ended well and that you had fun. πŸ™‚

    I can relate to the ‘internal clock’ thing. Being hyperactive myself, I try to squeeze in as much life into each moment as possible, and as a result, I end up doing something or the other. I hardly sleep in the afternoons, except when I am really tired and really need the sleep or when I am ill. Weekdays or weekends, my internal alarm goes off and I wake up early in the morning, looking sheepish. Some weekends I wake up so early that there is nothing to do, and I feel like I still need more sleep, so I go back to bed. πŸ™‚

    Same pinch – I am just like this πŸ™‚ I can’t go back to sleep once I wake up in the morning – I so wish I could do that!

    The movie sure sounds lovely. I love the sound of it. Will try and catch up with it here. πŸ™‚
    Do watch it – and do let me know how you find it.
    Which book is the movie based on?

    It is based on ‘The Invention of Hugo Cabret’

    PS: Sorry for the long rant. The internal clock thingie got me ticking. πŸ™‚
    I love love comments like this πŸ™‚

  7. I didn’t read your review of the movie as I am looking forward to see it. πŸ™‚
    Some days are like that. Everything goes wrong and you wish the sun to fall on Earth and finish off everything for once and for all. πŸ™‚ But then the next day is all right and you get reasons to smile.
    I saw “Midnight in Paris” yesterday. Did you see it?

  8. Ah! I can do with a facial & massage! Only need to take out time for it. Sigh!!!
    But your parking woes were real irritating. It was quite surprising that the migraine didn’t come back πŸ˜€
    The movie sounds different!
    So no baking??

  9. You need to take facials regularly (at the risk of sounding preachy). Does wonders to your complexion. And it also offers some precious ‘me-time’. πŸ™‚

    I used to – but have become a little lazy these days.. Plus I need to book appointments and I seem to have no time 😦

    Hugo, eh? Need to check it out!!

    I hope you like it too!

  10. I cannot sleep during the day, unless I am really ill, – Cn so relate to that Smithu. My weekend was spent on the bed, thanks to both Su and me ending up with a fever, but it ws still so boring to keep lying there. Thank God for books. I don’t even know what I would have done without them in such cases! Phew!.

    Facial – I so soo wanna go for some such pampering session now πŸ˜›

    Your weekend sure sounds like fun. It’s been ages since the husband and I caught up on a movie too, thanks to our lack of interest + no good movies being offered. Lemme also try getting that book in hand.

    Btw, I have given Sri M’s book to Ma now. Thought she will like it too πŸ™‚

    Am so glad we read and like similar books. Thanks much again πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

