This happened last night..

You know how some books you can reread a million times and not get bored? Reread again and again, and still want to turn the page are find out what’s about to happen? It happens to me a lot. And the sad thing is that it happens with the Poohi’s books more than mine.

Poohi has been reading quite a lot of interesting books these days. I had bought her a set of Enid Blyton’s The Naughtiest Girl (TNG) series some time back. She did not enjoy it as much as I did initially. She preferred Roald Dahls more. Probably because Roald Dahl books also had illustrations, while TNG books are just loads of words on a page, right?

Then she started reading other books – more contemporary ones, the ones about those Princess Fairies and I think slowly she realized that books without pictures are interesting too. All these days, she would listen to me read TNG but would never attempt to read more than a page at a go. Last week, she started reading one of the TNG books, and off she went, captivated by the story, unable to put it down. Ever since, there has been no looking back.

Last night, she was ill, down with a flu, and all she wanted was, ‘Amma, could you please read me the Naughtiest Girl book, please?’ Now how on earth can I refuse that? So I started reading, and before we knew it, it was 9:30 pm. Horrified, I asked her to sleep off, it was way too late(although she did sleep for a couple of hours after coming back from school – because she was not well, so she was not actually missing out on sleep, but I still feel bad about keeping her up).

She was dozing off, and all I wanted to do was read the rest of the book. I sneaked open the book, to read the rest of it. There were just two chapters left – I couldn’t possibly not read it! That makes no sense, does it? So what if I have already read it, like a million times πŸ™‚ And just as I settled in, chuckling at Elizabeth Allen’s antics, I hear daughter’s voice,’ Amma, that is cheating! You can’t read my book without me!’.

29 thoughts on “This happened last night..

  1. Poohi!!! Muah to you…TNG is like my favorite book ..infact for one of the contests in Womensweb, I had entered Elizabeth Allen as my favorite female character ever :):) Wait, isnt Poohi 5 years? or is it only in my world??? *wonders* and she reads EB…I am impressed!

    • Oh is it? I have to look up that post of yours πŸ™‚ I loved all those Enid Blyton characters. Have you read Malory Towers and St Clares? I used to wish and wish and wish that my parents sent me away to boarding school πŸ™‚ And I also used to wish I had an identical twin πŸ™‚

      Pooh is almost 6. She loves reading! I am not sure if it is all that impressive or not – I am just glad that she enjoys reading πŸ™‚

  2. Enid Blyton! Sighghghghg!
    The Mallory Towers series, The Clare’s series, the Famous Five… the school series were the best though! I so want to pick up one now and read πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Hope Poohi is better now!

    • The school series are wonderful, aren’t they? I am enjoying it all over again with Poohi πŸ™‚

      She is better now,no temperature since last night. I would have liked her to stay home and rest, but that child! She wants to learn about dinosaurs – so she HAD to go to school. Finger crossed, she will be fine.

  3. Hahaha πŸ˜€

    I’ll tell you this. I went home for chutti recently…and found my mother reading all my old collection of Enid Blyton books! And eventually i myself couldn’t resist and started to read them! πŸ˜€
    I’m sure someday my daughter will lay her hands on it too…! πŸ™‚

    • All us moms seem to love our daughters’ books more than our own πŸ™‚

      ‘I’m sure someday my daughter will lay her hands on it too…!’ – Amen to that πŸ™‚

  4. Poohi is a darling πŸ˜€
    I too am a big fan of Enid Blyton, they are indeed books of the type you could read over and over and over without ever getting bored πŸ˜€

    They are, aren’t they? Such fun books! I can never have enough of them!

    Hope Poohi gets well soon πŸ˜€

    She is much better now – hopefully she will come back from school hale and hearty πŸ™‚

  5. She is adorable! You bunch of looney Matildas πŸ™‚

    I still remember that post where you put up a pic of Poohi flipping pages of a book and wishing earnestly that she grows up to love reading as much as you do… Am I right?

    You remember that post πŸ™‚ I used to hope and hope that she loved to read too πŸ™‚

  6. Aww ofcourse u can’t do that Smithu! I luv her more bcoz she is already one of my book-worm gang too! Hugs and hope she feels better soon πŸ™‚

    Btw, did I miss ur call this morning? Was it u πŸ™„ 😦

  7. Awwww
    Is that cute or what?!

    Enid Blyton was one of favouritest authors in childhood. I would love to read her books again. I don’t usually re-read books that I have read ones (because there is so much else to READ!), but I am sure I wouldn’t be able to stop myself from sneaking a peek if I came face-to-face with a childhood favourite. πŸ™‚

  8. Aww you cheater mama!! :). But I can so understand that sneaking in as well :). Hugs to both of you! You both are cuties πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ I just could not resist πŸ™‚ Hugs back πŸ™‚

    Hope she is fine now! Her term break over?

    She was better, and then the temp came back to haunt us, so I kept her home today – it was tough getting her to agree, but she was to tired to be going to school. It is a flu apparently. Yes, term break is all over 😦

    • Aww, poor baby! The flu has been troubling the kids here too 😦 Namnu had an eye infection, followed by throat pain, her friend had an ear infection while another one had high temp. The ped clinic was flooded last week!

      • Aww! Poor Namnam! Eye infection, followed by throat pain! The poor little darling! Is she better now? It seems to be the season of illness here as well. This one just has the flu, but it has drained her so much that she is just taking it easy today – that and the fact that she desperately wants to go to school tomorrow – she is very unhappy that I kept her home today.

So, what do you think?

