Just because..

..I am too tired to think of a title, but don’t want a lecture from Ashwathy πŸ˜‰

There are reasons that I tell you that term breaks are pure torture. Reasons like this…


What’s wrong with this? This is a 3D puzzle. The box warns that it takes 2-3 hours to complete – but when we bought it, I somehow managed to miss it. Or perhaps my subconscious must have dismissed it – 2-3 hours – that has to be an exaggeration, right? Wrong. It takes that long and more. As I discovered to my horror.

Last week, Poohi’s school had a Maths puzzle workshop. We had been to it, and they had a little shop. And this was what we picked up from there. Mainly because Poohi loves puzzles, and she is quite good at them. So I thought(mistakenly), that may be it would be fun to do a 3D one. Maybe it would challenge her a bit. Challenge, it sure did. It just challenged the wrong person – me. I know, I know, I should have known!

This week has been a week of broken promises. We had planned to go out for lunch, just the two of us, but it never happened. Today we had planned for it again but there were some last minute change of plans. So we decided that we would go out in the evening. By the evening Poohi was a little tired, so we decided to stay at home and do something fun. That ‘something fun’ turned out to be that 3D puzzle.

Little fiddly pieces, trying to figure out what needs to be done, over the constant chatter of daughter’s(if you have met her, you would know what I mean), eager little fingers which are sometimes a bit too rough with cardboard pieces, with a million and one questions(does the real Tower bridge have giant batteries that makes it open?).. make a deadly combination.

At the end of the Β 3+ hours, my back is in pieces, I am ready to demolish the whole thing, if I could, and all I want is, for it to be assembled, and out of the way. I can’t help cursing myself for buying the darn thing, when daughter gives me a sudden hug, and says, ‘Amma, that is magic! It almost looks real ‘.

Can’t ask for more than that, can I? I guess a little ‘magic’ does work wonders to soothe a mother’s aching back and grumpy mood πŸ™‚

PS: I haven’t been blog hopping much, haven’t been responding to comments. Come Monday, I will be on it, I promise πŸ™‚ This week has been crazy!

20 thoughts on “Just because..

  1. Ha ha ha !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I just would love to see you getting up after finishing that bridge holding your back and grimacing !!!!!! πŸ˜€

    You sadist! Laughing at my aching back πŸ™‚

    btw a really good job done !!!! πŸ˜€

    Thank you, thank you πŸ™‚

  2. Awwww
    I agree – a mother can’t ask for more than that. πŸ™‚

    That bridge looks super awesome!

    Thank you πŸ™‚

    And Poohi sounds so cute, chatting away nineteen to the dozen. πŸ™‚
    She can talk, that is for sure. If she isn’t chattering away, then she is sure to be ill – as she is right now 😦

  3. A disclaimer dedicated just to me!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I’m flattered! :mrgreen:

    See how scared I am of you? Petrified enough to not leave the title blank πŸ™‚

    Oh wow that tower looks fab! And if you really thought that massive thing can be assembled from tiny little pieces in less than 2 hours, then you need your head examined! πŸ˜› It’s back breaking work….and i’m sure you have learnt your lesson well now! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

    Yes, I sure do need my head examined – I have reached that conclusion too 😦

    Nothing like your kid’s smile to take away all the pain right ? πŸ™‚

    Absolutely πŸ™‚

  4. I can so relate to the constant chatter and million and one qns things – I have a 5 yr old who’s a non stop radio. The 3-D puzzle final outcome looks cool. The whole effort was worth it, isn’t it !!

So, what do you think?

