All set for any emergency?

How well are you set for emergencies? Husband thinks that I am always ready to think of the worst. He says I jump every time the phone rings, that I am totally paranoid.

Paranoid or not, I cannot step out of house without my phone.. Nor can I go to sleep without the phone beside me. How on earth did I survive those years before mobiles? Or even landlines for that matter.. Clearly, my paranoia has grown over the years..

I never step out without my wallet with me. Husband on the other hand, is known for forgetting his. It has happened more than once that he has gone out, and realized at the checkout that he has forgotten his wallet at home. Normally, I am there to rescue him. Once, right after Poohi was born, we went for a walk and had planned to pick up a few essentials from a nearby supermarket. We got everything and stood in the queue, only to reach the checkout and realize that neither of us had our wallets. Now this was just a few of weeks after my delivery. I was not supposed to do any thing that exerted me. My mum had decreed that hauling my handbag was hard work šŸ™‚ So I was without my handbag, husband had no money on him, and I was already exhausted after the walk. We had no option but for me to wait there while husband rushed home to get his wallet.. And yes, those days we did not have a car either! That was probably one of the only times we ended up like this – without any money. Husband, as I said, is still unfazed about walking around without his wallet, cards or money. I am the other extreme. I feel extremely uncomfortable. I might not have cash, but I always have cards and my phone. Husband is not bothered about the phone either. His phone’s primary use is to browse the internet. Calling up people or receiving calls are much lower in priority šŸ™‚

Once chatting to a friend, I was jolted out of my complacence. She said she kept a couple of hundred pounds with her at all time! My jaw-dropped! There would be days when I could only find pennies in my purse.. And husband is of no help either. Goodness! Here I was, thinking that I was all set for emegencies, only to realize that I wasn’t! Money was added to my emergency kit. Now I always have cash as well šŸ™‚ Can’t take chances, you see! Not 200 pounds – Ā I would be scared to walk around with that much on me – but something for sure.

Is it a wonder that you can find just about everything in my handbag? Everything except the one thing that I need at that moment šŸ™‚

So tell me, are you all set for emergencies? And what do you consider your must-haves?

33 thoughts on “All set for any emergency?

  1. ‘There would be days when I could only find pennies in my purse.. ‘ – that pretty much sums up my story!!! There was a time (when I was working!) when I carried a bit of cash around…definitely no where close to 100 quid. But yes, not penniless as I do these days!! Two things I cannot venture out without – mobile phone and purse. Everything else is secondary! Infact Smitha, I can quite triumphantly say my bag does not contain junk. I end up having almost nothing in my bag these days, except a purse and a pair of gloves!

    • I wish I could say that mine does not contain junk šŸ˜¦ Unfortunately it does šŸ˜¦ All my hanbags are due a big clean one of these days šŸ˜¦ And nothing excites me more than finding money when I rummage through all that junk šŸ™‚

  2. getting the things we need and waiting in the queue just to see we don’t have cash is one of the worst things to happen.

    Isn’t it? So so annoying!
    Well… I always take my purse… very few times I miss it and still will have some cash as I have this habit of keeping money in pocket which is easily accessible šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

    šŸ™‚ That makes sense šŸ™‚ I just carry my purse šŸ™‚

  3. I hope I am ready. That’s my job.

    I remember once I had gone with friends and after a few drinks I had found myself alone. No money no wallet no phone.. I had to walk miles and miles imagine drunk and walking all way this was in some countryside.

    Since then I make sure I have my wallet with me… And also is card it helps…

      • Got it šŸ™‚ Yes, ID card – that is a must too – if you have one. One of my friends filled petrol, went to pay and then realized that she had forgotten her wallet. Thankfully, they asked her to come back and pay within the next 24 hours – but it was scary for her..

  4. Yup I am paranoid too. Money (atleast 500 rs in these days in India!), some loose change, cards, an emergency card (it has sanjay’s and my dad’s nos on it plus sanjay’s work address and my blood group), my cellphone. sanjay has the same kind of card with my number on it. Of course I always tell him its of no use if i have an accident cos he NEVER picks his phone šŸ™‚

    • Oh I have the same issue with husband – he NEVER picks up the phone! These days he is slightly better – he rings back when he gets a chance – but that happened only after I blew my top once šŸ™‚

  5. Errrr…I am like your husband…(Though my phone is not the one that can browse the internet) but I am known in the circles to forget wallet, mobiles, house keys and hold your breath even R’s school bag when we leave for her school!!! I am definitely getting old!

  6. Hi..
    First time in your blog and enjoyed reading your latest posts šŸ™‚
    I’m just like you. Just CANNOT leave the house without my cell phone!!
    I can relate so much to this post. I just emptied out my bag and I had just about everything in it but money save a few cents šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  7. I always keep money ‘hidden’ in ‘secret pockets’ of my handbags – yeah – all of them…Well.. you never know when the car breaks down AND there is no ATM nearby AND you are alone/sans spouse AND phone battery is drained out (if I am carrying one šŸ˜‰ )….

    šŸ™‚

  8. I hate to carry my purse.When husband is with me i put my mobile in his pocket and go without any money.With kids i am forced to carry my handbag which i hate to…..But i never miss carrying my phone with me and i keep phone near my pillow when i go to sleep…

  9. I’ am never prepared for emergencies just never… Forgetting my phone on the office desk is like a daily routine for me… And wallet, I never forget to carry wallet but then I always forget to put money in it… So you know wallet or no wallet is equal for me… šŸ˜€

    I know I need to change but I don’t know when will that happen….

    • LOL! I can never leave my phone- I feel so very incomplete without it šŸ™‚ And I take my bag, even to school – even though it is just five minutes away, and I wll be back in 15 mins – max – I am crazy šŸ™‚

  10. I think I fall in both the categories. By that, I mean I will be paranoid for the safety of my folks. Phone calls make me jump. I am always fearing the worst and sincerely praying for everybody’s well being. But when it comes to myself? I am extremely careless. I have often walked out of the house without my wallet, keys etc.

    And in my wallet, you will find mostly only cards. I carry very little cash compared to most of my friends. 20-30$ is all I usually have. Sometimes, not even that. Maybe I should be more cautious.

  11. I can relate to what you wrote here… But I know I am not well equipped to handle any kind of emergencies… My phone is always dying or has very little charge everytime I desperately need it!!

  12. I think I am fairly prepared for minor emergencies. I carry my purse, a few hundred rupees, my debit card, a book, a notepad, water, tissues, pain balm, lip balm, ID cards, my phone, a scarf, a foldable shopping bag, mint and a few other sundries in my handbag at most times. If I have to be stranded somewhere or wait for someone for an hour or so, or suddenly have to rush somewhere, I can manage. šŸ˜› šŸ˜› šŸ˜›

    • My big bag contains all this šŸ™‚ When I am out walking, normally after dropping of daughter at school, I carry a sling bag with just my purse and phone…

  13. It’s a joke around here that I carry my entire home in my bag šŸ˜„ Yup, I come definitely under your paranoid category and err even carry a small toothbrush in my bag šŸ˜³

    The husband on the other hand likes to travel light like a helium balloon I swear….he doesn’t even bother to take the home keys when he is stepping out šŸ˜”

  14. I’m very much like your husband in this respect. Never prepared, never bothered. Half the time I have no idea where my phone is and I end up missing several calls. I’ve run out of the house several times only to discover at the store that I don’t have any cash in my wallet. Luckily the cards always bail me out. Perhaps I should try to be a bit more prepared. But I doubt I can ever change šŸ˜€

  15. my must haves include money purse having cash, a card and an id and my mobile! and after shifting to this stupid apartment houses, front door key.

So, what do you think?

