Write – the right way?

In a comment to my previous post, Ash asked me to write down my list! Write, the old fashioned way? Goodness! It has been so long that I have written anything more than my name – while signing it that too, I get horrified if I have to write anything!

I remember taking up some certification in 2002. It was just 3-4 years since I graduated, but I had already forgotten how to write. While studying for the certification, I never practised writing. On the day of the exam, I struggled. It was one thing knowing the answers, writing them down, was just another story! My fingers ached at the end of the exam – I had totally lost practice with writing on paper. The next time I took a certification, I checked first if it was a written paper- there was no way, I was going through that ordeal again. I can study, prepare, stay up nights, wake up early, everything but write another exam!

I used to envy people who come to supermarkets armed with handwritten lists. I find it so cute! Once I found an abandoned list in a shopping trolley. I stood there admiring the handwriting. Gorgeously formed letters, lovely words – almost felt like an ancient, forgotten art. In my previous house, we had a nice board in the kitchen, where we could pin up shopping lists. I always planned to do that, but ended up making lists on my phone in the end, after forgetting to take those lists when I stepped out. At least with my phone, the list is sure to be taken with me. Also it is much easier to use.

So it was after years- 12-13 years of only signing my name, or at the max, filling up forms in capital letters, or signing a card, with a few words, that I realized that I would have to learn to write again. Thanks to daughter. Try as I might to avoid writing, I would still have to write sometime. Sigh! And to add to that, I am used to writing in cursive, while daughter’s school still teaches the other style. So now, I have to learn to write letters without joining them! Can you even imagine it? And when I do write, I realize that daughter has far better handwriting than I do! How on earth can I ask her to work on her handwriting when mine is a scrawl! There was a year, I think it was when she was 3 and in nursery, when I had to write out 35 or so Christmas cards – not easy! Thankfully now she is old enough to write them, so that is one piece of writing I don’t need to do. At least the rest of the mums will not figure out that I am the mum with the worst handwriting!

So maybe, Ash’s suggestion, is after all, a good one.. Writing down lists might actually give me handwriting practice πŸ™‚ Or better still, maybe I should borrow a few of daughter’s handwriting practice books and work on them. And maybe give myself a nice sticker for completing it too πŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “Write – the right way?

  1. Nooo dont spoil th little ones drawing books now πŸ™‚ …

    The art of writing is being lost.. I remember a blogger nrigirl once had this idea we write hand written letters to each other so we did..

    Hope u get to make the list….

  2. yes yes yes…I can so relate to this post..thanks to the computer, I hardly write..and my handwriting is yuck! I need to start practising seriously..thanks for writing this post at the right time…R has just started writing and I will practice with her…. πŸ™‚ you are a rock star πŸ™‚

  3. So true. I have so lost touch with writing too, and that makes me feel sad at times.

    I know! I wish I could write – properly write..

    Just the other day, I was struck by the urge to write something – I don’t remember what – but there was no electricity and I missed a blank MS Word document to jot down my thoughts. It was later that I realised that I didn’t even think of ‘writing’ as writing on a piece of paper with a pen.
    Of late, I have been trying to write more. I have a scribble pad, in which I try to scribble down my thoughts on various things. I have also started writing handwritten letters – though it is a tall task, and I make my shopping lists on paper. It is fun, but I don’t want to let my handwriting just die. 😦

    That makes sense! I should give that a try too!

  4. i write a lot smitha.When ever i am down i write it on a paper my feelings and then i tear it.I make my shopping list on a paper.I learnt cursive writing from varunavi,her hand writing is far better than mine.I jot down the recipes shown on tv in a book which i had been maintaining since last 15 years.

  5. I feel like a 5 year old when I write with an actual pen πŸ˜› I do sometimes write letters to friends. Recently I wrote to a friend who is recuperating from Surgery. He was so touched with the gesture…I guess a handwritten letter is a real treat…

    I am sure a handwritten letter today, is a huge treat!
    Have a great New Year Smitha πŸ™‚

    Thank you, and Wish you the same, and hope you get back to blogging πŸ™‚

  6. I can’t believe my innocent comment prompted you to write an entire post! πŸ™‚
    *preens a bit * :mrgreen:
    * Ahem ahem * back to the point!

    See, how inspiring you have been πŸ™‚

    I agree with you…we have really lost the art of writing. Can you remember a time in life when we used to WRITE LETTERS to people? Through good old snail mail post office? πŸ˜€ Ah! Those were the days!

    I know! I used to write letters until the time I was in college – once I started working, that was the end of it..

    Actually there is reason for me to remind you to write. I recently had to fill up my rent receipts to submit as tax declaration proof. I had to write for the last 11 months together including my name, address, rent amount, lanlord PAN, bank details etc. And that, my dear, quite an amount of time…and my fingers were aching like hell at the end of it. And that’s when I realised how little I write these days! With the advent of technology….email, sms, mobile apps etc., we are losing a fine art. In fact I know of kids who write sms language (v r here 2 tok 2 u) during exams!!

    Oh goodness! That must have been a torture! As for sms lingo – if there is something I truly can’t stand -that must be it! ***shudders at the though of dats and lyks***

  7. I used to be in love with writing. I still am, although like you, I haven’t been able to much. Yes, my hand aches a lot too, but there’s something heavenly in putting a pen to that fresh sheet of notebook paper. Mmm..

    Nice style of writing you’ve got, I enjoyed reading!

  8. You know, at the risk of sounding stupid and outdated, I make hand-written lists every time I go grocery-shopping :D. I love writing, Smits! You have no idea how mych i itch to do all those cursive-writing assignments that Namnam brings home ;). The letters look so beautiful, dont they? And this is is exactly why I feel sad to see the art of writing fading with the growing emergence of technology. I have been caught in the whiff of this change and I admit it has made life very easy but still it doesn’t come close to having that personal feeling, a sense of closeness that a handwritten note gives, if you know what I mean πŸ™‚

  9. Been there done that!!! Once my writing was termed as very good now it isn’t evena reflection of it. Sigh! 😦
    But fortuantely I am made to take notes even now & I cringe every time I see the output. You will not believe me but whenever i sit back to jot down something I resolve to do better but end up scrawling down in a hurry 😦

  10. I had to practice writing when my diploma last year had 4 exam papers – all essay type, all written!!! Now my handwriting is even better than what it was when I was in school πŸ™‚ My husband takes his grocery list on the phone like u, but I still have them handwritten πŸ™‚

  11. It’s very true we hardly write longer than signing most of the time. I too had started falling in that trap in the past sometime. But I am a lover of cursive writing and it literally broke my heart when one fine day I realized how bad my hand-writing had become. I started writing more and more from then.
    As far shopping lists, I always scribble them in ink. I so miss using the fountain pens.
    Good luck with writing πŸ˜€

  12. Thanks for this post Smitha.. πŸ™‚ Just remembered I just love scribbling on the papers to see how my handwriting is πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I never had a standard handwriting.. it just keeps on changing and I am trying to write beautifully.. πŸ™‚

    My dad used to tell I have one of the worst handwriting and now I am writing well but there is no exam papers to show him that I become good, at last πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  13. I use a pen for everything….grocery list, reminder notes on the fridge, scarp booking photos with writing down all the details, sticking an apology note or a threatening note inside the husband’s lunch bag 😳 etc etc….. I think i am one of those people who love the feel of paper and the smell of ink. πŸ™‚

    So do you want a Teacher to check your handwriting assignments and give you necessary punishments? :mrgreen:

  14. You should work where I work…we have handwritten medical records…so all my session notes have to be re-written after the session. Apart from that, I still enjoy writing. I do write my grocery lists, my to-do lists and I still have a diary where I write appointments and the lot. Still enjoy writing here… πŸ™‚

    • I am so glad that I didn’t have to write when I was working – but then that is probably why I am like this now πŸ™‚ I would enjoy writing too – just that my horrid handwriting puts me off 😦

  15. Been thinking about this lately and that is when I found this wonderful post of yours… While I am glad that the children continue to write until they are out of school (even if my son cribs), I wonder if even that shall change!
    Tried writing my thoughts on paper but even I couldnt figure out what I had written when I wanted to transfer it to the computer:)

  16. Oh!! u use grocery list on phone. I still use pen and paper. My every purse has a small notepad and pen. Sometimes I write my posts on notepad (the real one) first and then type it out here.Makes my creative juices flow more freely πŸ˜€

    • I wish I could do that – but I run out of patience. Plus my handwriting has become so bad, that I suspect I wouldn’t be able to figure out what I mean πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

