There is a right time for everything..

..so they say.. I have come to the conclusion that there certainly is a right time for everything, and a wrong time for everything as well.

– Reading yummy looking food blogs should have a statutory warning – ‘ Do not read if hungry – can lead to disastrous consequences’.

– Grocery Shopping while hungry – same warning should be displayed – in huge letters, preferably. Or they should have a tummy rumbling sensor which bans us from entering. If only those darn supermarkets thought of public service instead of their bottom lines!!!

– The absolutely wrong time to shop is in the run up to Christmas – atleast in this country. The other day, I got stuck in a shopping trolley traffic jam. Too many people, too many shopping trolleys. All I wanted was milk, and I still got stuck!

– While on supermarkets, the sure fire way of ensuring that some thing gets sold out is for me to desperately want it. Once a supermarket was out of eggs! That never happens – but it happened when I had to bake – and then I had to hunt for an egg-less recipe!!!! Sometimes it is our favourite brand of bread – somehow, it gets sold out! Once the lady ahead of me had it!

– The wrong time to start playing monopoly is definitely any time after 8 – for me. It does not finish on time, and even if it does, I stay up half the night thinking what I could have done to win!

– The wrong time to join any exercise class is certainly after the Christmas-New Year break. The whole world and their cousin is out to work away the holiday excess(new year resolutions?). Classes are packed! Forget about classes, even the roads are full of joggers out to make you guilty! And it gets less and less crowded as the new year sets in, and we get used to our extra weight.

– The totally wrong time to bake is when you already have cake at home. And I must be one of those crazy people who think that it is a good idea 😦 So now, I know all about freezing cakes. I have two varieties frozen!

Now that I have it all jotted down, I should take a print out and put it on my refrigerator -maybe, that could stop me from doing weird stuff. At the very least, it might stop me from baking when I shouldn’t!

 

22 thoughts on “There is a right time for everything..

  1. πŸ˜† that is why I never ever think of what I am doing…no point I say…I never learn πŸ™„ Ohh the same thing happens to us too…..all our favorite brands either running out or worse closing shop πŸ˜₯

    So I am not the only one πŸ™‚ That makes me feel better πŸ™‚

    Freezing cakes? now now how come there are left over cakes to freeze eh? :mrgreen:

    That happens when I bake too much 😦 Or when disaster strikes – once my bundt cake refused to come out of the pan – so I cut it up, and made a chocolate trifle, and still had half of the cake left over – which is now in my freezer:)

  2. Send the cakes here *goes away in hope and then comes back to read the post again*

    When I move to India – pakka πŸ™‚

    I so agree on the yummy blogs thing…I read, I want food, I eat and then I am fat….so whose to blame for RM’s excess weight – All those bloggers who put up pictures which are drool worthy and excite RM’s tongue and tummy

    I know!!! It is all their fault πŸ™‚

    Hugs πŸ™‚

    Hugs back to you πŸ™‚

  3. Take a print out?? Lazy bones! πŸ˜› Get a pen and paper and WRITE it the old fashioned way, for Pete’s sake!! πŸ™„ πŸ˜›

    Write??? Are you crazy? I find it tough enough to sign my name!!

    I like this list though. I particularly love the grocery shopping and reading food blogs while hungry. Sooo true! Also watching cookery shows while eating one’s meal. Disastrous!! I keep feeling like taking more helpings!

    Same here! I end up eating something sweet just because I have been reading about food!

    The totally wrong time to bake is when you already have cake at home. And I must be one of those crazy people who think that it is a good idea So now, I know all about freezing cakes. I have two varieties frozen!
    What!! 😯 Send them to meeeee!! :mrgreen:
    * cough cough * I will forget I am supposed to be losing weight … πŸ™„ You na!! 😑 :mrgreen:

    I wish you lived here! I would have packed it all to you πŸ™‚

  4. Today while i was feeding daughter (with a growling stomach), saw the nursery rhyme – “If all the little snowflakes were cupcakes and milkshakes…” and they have milkshakes falling from the sky…It made me so wanted to have one of that,and you put in the blog at the right time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Well,am happy am not the only one…OH!!And about the jogging thing,how true…

  5. Hahaha! I must take a print of your post and stick it on my refrigerator! These ‘notes to self’would stay true to me in more ways than one πŸ™‚
    I wish we were neighbors,Smits, I would never ever hv let you freeze the cakes! Would hv helped you in gobbling them up for sure πŸ˜€

    • I wish you were my neighbor! We could have had so much fun!!!! You might change your mind if I sent over too many cakes πŸ™‚ I baked today again – I must be crazy πŸ™‚

  6. True true true.. all true. Specially the bit on ‘everyone’s out to exercise’. I’m dying for the gym to go back to it’s quiet self. Can’t even stretch a hand to exercise without bumping into someone.. sigh.

  7. Pingback: Write – the right way? | Any Excuse to Write…

  8. LOL!!! I am also ending with more snacks by evening.. all high-high calories 😦

    Me too, Kanagu! Me too 😦

    Now taken a pledge to have only fruits from canteen πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I should do that too – but I give up in the face of tasty food πŸ™‚

    New year thing is the best one!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  9. Oh its a thumb rule for me too…never shop for grocery while hungry!! are there no small grocery and essential items shop there like in India? For every little thing one has to go to supermarket?

So, what do you think?

