The Day I danced to Chammak Challo.

There- that was something I never thought I would say πŸ™‚ Especially since the only reason I even knew of the song was because Brat would go on about on Facebook. There is a first time for everything, they say, and I have come to realize that ‘they’ are right πŸ™‚

So how did it come about, you ask? Well, remember my non-existent exercise routine? The one that used to involve the coat rack, in it’s previous avatar as the cross trainer? After the non-use of the cross trainer, I convinced husband that I needed to get the Wii Fit. Saritha had asked me what the Wii Fit was. It is supposed to be a video fitness routine, in which you can do a variety of exercises. Real good – if you used it. I used to use it regularly for a while, then as usual, the novelty wore off, and I got lazy. Right now, it just graces our living room. On the rare occasion that I do switch it on, it shames me by reminding me that ‘It has been 376 days since our last work out’! As if I needed to know that! But it is cute, once it asked me how husband was doing, I selected ‘Fatter than before’ and it says,’ Oh! Lets keep that between us, shall we?’ πŸ™‚

The only thing I do regularly was walk. I try to walk regularly – unless the weather was extremely bad. Last February, a friend of mine told me about a Zumba session near by. It was on a Saturday. I went for one class, loved it! Loved the way, muscles I did not know existed, complained about the unexpected activity. But! There is always a ‘but’, in my exercise history, I have come to realize. The ‘but’ this time was daughter’s swimming lessons. The only slot available was on Saturday mornings. Now, swimming is far more essential than Zumba, so that was the end of it. Some of my friends still went – on and off. But that was the end of it for me.

This last December, one of the mums I met at Daughter’s Bharatanatyam class mentioned that there was a Zumba class at a place quite close to where I live. December felt like the wrong time to start something like this. I knew that that the two week break would throw away whatever good that one class would have done.

Finally schools reopened, and I got my freedom back. Along with a friend, I decided that I had to get back in shape. All the food that had been ingested, would take more than a few walks to walk off. Zumba was the only option.

And today, we danced to Chammak Challo in the class πŸ™‚ Thanks to my FB education, I was able to identify at least one song in the whole routine πŸ™‚ That convinces me, FB is not all bad πŸ™‚

19 thoughts on “The Day I danced to Chammak Challo.

  1. he he hehe for some reason that song is in my mind toooo…. for the last 4 -5 days its the first song that plays when i am back from work at night .. and now i am looking foward to it in an hours time when i leave for home πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ It is certainly a fun song πŸ™‚

    yes schools have opened and all that chaos on the road starts again.
    I know! It is back to crazy times!

    I need those zumba classes you will not beleive how FAT i have grown over the last two weeks ..

    They are fun! You should do it πŸ™‚
    and hey i am firsttttttttttttt yipeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    Oh yes you are πŸ™‚

  2. LOL!! Zumba is a lot of fun :)))) Enjoy the dance πŸ™‚ And I loveeee Chammak Challo… Impossible to sit quiet when the song is playing… πŸ˜‰

  3. I heard of Chammak Challo only cos of FB too. Only later on did I realise how popular it is. Your zumba class sounds like so much fun! I want to focus on getting fit too. Let me see what I can do..

  4. I heard of Chamak Challo thanks to R..yes yes…now a days the brat is more updated about songs than me, thanks to the daycare…you are doing Zumba..isnt it tough? but what a super way to keep fit na

    • Really! I think I am going to be in for a huge shock when Poohi starts school in India! As of now, she is blissfully unaware of all such songs πŸ™‚

      Zumba – so far has been fun! Lets see how long I stick to it,

  5. wow!!! I loved the conversation you had with the machine πŸ˜‰

    It is quite cute πŸ™‚

    And good luck with the classes, stick through it, go regularly for a month and rest will follow πŸ™‚

    That is the issue – how to ensure that I stick through it..

  6. 😯
    Wow! That’s quite cut-off, if you found out about chammak chalo only through facebook!!

    πŸ™‚ I must be getting old πŸ™‚

    You need to visit youtube more often and check out the songs, lady!! There are a whole lot of fun songs that released last year…. all of them dhinchak numbers πŸ˜€
    Let me know and I can suggest more to you!

    When I log in, there are so many things that I have to do, that songs on youtube are a low priority πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the classes πŸ™‚ and do let us know if..er…the weight loss worked πŸ˜‰ :mrgreen:
    Will do πŸ™‚ More than weight loss, I would be happy to be toned and feeling fit !

    • Oh I’m already there with the toned and fit feeling….er …um…I mean, the energetic and active feel. πŸ™„ :mrgreen: Thanks to my gym classes.
      But I need to lose weight….so now paying more attention to my diet! πŸ˜›

  7. Now i know what is Wii Fit.If we have a company we can do the exercises at home or else we will try to postphone it.

    So true! I get involved with day to day work, and never exercise 😦

    I came to know about chammak challo from kids,they heard at school and made me download the song to my mobile.

    Really! From school? Goodness! That scares me!

    All the best for your exercising.

    Thanks Saritha – I need it πŸ™‚

    I too went for swimming for one month and stopped that,went to gym for 3months stopped that.Now planning to go again to gym once kids school reopen after pongal holidays.
    I did swimming for a month or so too.. Somehow everything gets derailed.. Lets see how this one goes. School holidays are the worst time for exercising. I always plan to wake up early and work out – but that NEVER happens!

  8. Now its between you, wii fit and us…. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Yes πŸ™‚

    Your zumba classes must be fun… So what other numbers are they playing?? πŸ˜€
    Other numbers – I haven’t a clue πŸ™‚ They were all fun numbers though.

  9. Wow! Your Wii Fit sounds so cute! πŸ™‚
    You found out about Chammak Challo through FB?! It happens, I guess. I also found out about some songs that were all the rage last year through FB. Later, I began to notice them everywhere – blasting on someone’s car stereo or radio, on the TV, everywhere!

  10. Hurray to chammak challo :), the song gets anyone dancing… I am a non dancer usually, but this new year gave in to Chammak challo.

    So true about all exercise gadgets – had 2 treadmills at different times in the house, gave away after it stayed inactive for ages!! I like activities with others involved – badminton is current interest. Planning to join S’s dance class from next week sometime soon.

So, what do you think?

