Playing Favourites

It has been ages since I took up a tag. For some reason, tags and I don’t work.. Nancy tagged me last week, and a particularly tough tag too. Not only did she tag me, she has also been checking to see if I put it up yet(so much for hoping that Nancy would forget that she tagged me ) πŸ™‚ So I thought that I should do it. At the very least, I would end up reading my archives, something which I never do.

As I said, this tag of Nancy’s is tough. It is called the 7 meme post. And here is all about the tag.

What this is about:
To unite bloggers (from all sectors) in a joint endeavor to share lessons learned and create a bank of long but not forgotten blog posts that deserve to see the light of day again.Rules:
1) Blogger is nominated to take part

2) Blogger publishes his/her 7 links on his/her blog – 1 link for each category.
The links are:
– Your most beautiful post

– Your most popular post

– Your most controversial post

– Your most helpful post

– A post whose success surprised you

– A post you feel didn’t get the attention it deserved

– The post that you are most proud of

3) Blogger nominates up to 5 more bloggers to take part.

4) These bloggers publish their 7 links and nominate another 5 more bloggers

5) And so it goes on!

Here’s my take…

– Your most beautiful post

Goodness! How on earth could I decide that? How about I ask you guys to nominate? It’s bad enough to have to read what I write, but to judge my most beautiful post? Let me move on and come back to this later(This is what I used to do during exams while answering tough questions, but back in those days I would have had some idea of what would be the answer)

*Back later, still clueless*  
This is tougher than I thought.. Ok, the best that I can come up with is, Unharnessed Thinking.  I’m not sure if it is beautiful or not, but for me, it records an important learning.. To let daughter do her own thinking – a learning which motherhood seems to be teaching me again and again

– Your most popular post
Ah! This should be easy – my stats should give my an idea, don’t you think? But the stats seem to point to posts with pictures. So I think people land here after all sorts of searches – some of them mind-boggling to say the least:)

The top most post which does not have pictures is this I don’t want my child to be obedient

– Your most controversial post
Controversial – I haven’t written controversial stuff.. And even if I did, I’ve not had trolls to make it controversial.. But this post, I think generated a few differing comments.. The Bad Bad West

– Your most helpful post
This one is easy – at least I have one post which I know, some of my friends referred to, and people seem to land up on my blog searching. How to Make a Princess Cake. I spent hours on the internet researching this cake, and I have put together whatever I learnt in this post.. And I think it might have helped a few folks out there?

– A post whose success surprised you

Why I am happy to oogle at girls! was my first Blogadda post, and I was pleasantly surprised, to say the least πŸ™‚

– A post you feel didn’t get the attention it deserved

This is tough.. I don’t think I have any posts which haven’t got the attention it deserved.. For that matter, how do I judge how much attention a post should get?

I can only come up with this – Managing Expectations.

– The post that you are most proud of
The only post I can think of is my post on the Bhopal Gas Tragedy. Why this one? Because I did some research for this post. Normally, I post, as and when I feel like. I always wished to be the sort of blogger who writes well-researched, well thought out posts, but it never happened. Well, what can I say, I am one lazy person πŸ™‚ But this post, as it was part of the Bloggers Premier League contest, I actually did some research, and planning, for a change. So I am proud of it -or rather of myself for having done it, at least once πŸ™‚

And that’s it! I am done with the tag!

And while I’m at it, let me also share some stats. It has been over three years since I first started blogging! Three years! How time flies! And have notched up 393 posts – that surprised me more than anything. I mean, I knew I could talk, but 393 posts? No wonder husband has learnt to tune out my rants! For those who did not know, I started blogging when husband started ignoring my rants 😦 And you know what? These days he reads my posts without any prompting from me πŸ™‚ Infact, he is one who goes – you should write this down in your blog. Especially my travel tales, they are here, mainly because he was after me to jot them down before we forget everything.

That was a tough but fun tag! Thanks so much, Nancy, for tagging me.. It was fun browsing though my archives, cringing at some of the posts, laughing out loud at some of the comments(I miss those days of blogging madness!), just reliving the last few years when blogging added a totally different dimension to my life…

And now to tag 5 bloggers. How about I try and get some old timer to blog again?

Hitchy – Does he need any intro? Jump on to his page, and you’ll know πŸ™‚

Ashwathy – I miss your matrimonial mishmashes so much! Any chance post wedding series πŸ™‚

Swaram – I would love you to dig through your archives and post some of those wonderful posts – I am sure I must have missed a few 😦

R’s Mom – I have started reading you very recently, and being lazy, I would love to read some of the wonderful posts that you churn out!

Bikram – The same as RM, I started reading you very recently, and I am so sure that I would the posts you come up with πŸ™‚

Scribby, I wanted to tag you too, but the number of times yo uhave shifted blogs, make me wonder if you could take up this tag 😦 But if you could, then please consider yourself tagged πŸ™‚

I know, I am supposed to tag only 5 – but what’s the fun if you don’t tweak the rules a tiny bit, eh?

42 thoughts on “Playing Favourites

  1. Oh thanks for tagging me Smiths…I loved this tag and by the history you’ll know that I’ve always loved tags πŸ™‚ Shall take it up !

    Aiiyyyo Haven’t changed blog a lot of time 😦 Just once shifted from blogspot to WP and recently changed the URL for some reasons! but wherever I go you’re the one to know,hai na? πŸ™‚

  2. wonderful tag Smitha… loved the way you have done it!!! the posts you have mentioned are very special. I always think you put your efforts before posting anything.

    And 393 posts is a tremendous number considering some breaks you have took. Congrats on that πŸ™‚

  3. I will be back to read the posts and to do the tag ! I think I Have read most of the posts though πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Tera mera yaarana to kaafi purana hai πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› :mrgreen:

  4. Unharnessed thinking is my favourite…..I remember how we all went crazy trying to guess what Poohi drew :-D. And ur how to make a princess cake is more than helpful….it makes me feel like I can do it too.

    And hey no need to thank me …it was my pleasure :-)!!!!

    • And where is Swaram….she was making me feel so guilty abt not tagging her :-(.
      and I had told her not to worry and forcasted tht she’ll be tagged b4 the end of 2 weeks & haaaah it happened in a week πŸ˜€

        • Hohoho nice try….the guilt vanished as soon as I saw tht Smitha has tagged u.
          Gift….huh…..I have to gift u…Christmas is going to be celebrated by me…..so u must gift me. And while we are at it, what r u gifting me :-D????

          • I was hoping to jump on to Swaram’s bandwagn as the one who helped erase the guilt πŸ˜‰ I celebrate all festivals – so all gifts are welcome πŸ˜‰

  5. Thanks so much for tagging me Smithu! And my, this is so tough!
    I hope I cn choose a few from all my blah-blah! Unharnessed thinking is one of my most fav posts of urs’ too πŸ™‚
    And we r kind of close, I am somewhere at 380 posts πŸ˜›

      • πŸ™‚ I should probably add that link here – courtsey Swaram πŸ™‚ I went and bought a paniyaram pan after reading your recipe for non-fried dai vadas – so that was super useful πŸ™‚

  6. Great compilation there, Smits and I was soooo happy to notice that I had read all but one of those posts. The one that I hadnt read was the ‘happy to oogle at girls’ post. so I went and read that as well. So now 5/5- full marks to me..yayyyy! πŸ™‚

    My personal favorite has to be ‘ I dont want my child to be obedient’, that is the ONE post which always stands out in my mind. Unharnessed thinking comes a close second! :). Actually I love your blog in totality, whatever it is that you share, it is always engaging and a pleasure to read πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: 301st « Me and My Random Thoughts

  8. All you lucky people out there who can choose from so many posts for this tag….err I envy you πŸ˜₯

    As I love anything and everything you write, I can’t choose a fave among the links. But i had a hell of a time reading “Why I am happy to oogle at girls!” and the comments that followed after πŸ˜† I must say this…in that post your replies were full of masti err how do I put it? *sakshi scratching her head for the right kind of word that will make sure Smitha won’t hurl a ShoeFlower pot at her* Somehow I had this image of yours where you are Ms. Perfect and nothing can make you loose your nerve πŸ™„ and so fighting with the bad guys to save SRK’s reputation on that post kinda knocked me out 😳

  9. Pingback: The 7-meme tag « C'est la vie, mon ami!

  10. Pingback: Let’s play TAGGY! « This & That

  11. Pingback: Tag Time – Phew!!! | R's Mom

  12. Pingback: When tags come to the rescue :D « The Song of Life

So, what do you think?

