The longing …

..for snow. It happens every year, as soon as November comes round the corner..

Daughter keeps a look out for snow as soon as winter starts. Every morning she looks out of the window to see if it snowed at night. So far, this year has been surprisingly mild. October had a week which felt like summer. November was extremely mild. It felt too good to be true. We were all happy, except for daughter.

She could not understand why it was already winter and yet the snow refused to make an appearance. Apparently winter meant snow. Once I asked her why she wanted snow so badly. ‘Because, children love snow, Amma!’

Can’t say anything to that, can we?

Last evening, we were returning home when we had a sleet shower. Checking the BBC, I saw the prediction of light snow. I can’t say I did not feel a tiny bit of excitement too, at the prospect of snow. There is something about it – at least the day it falls. Two days later, I would be back to cursing it ๐Ÿ™‚

This morning, I peeped out of the window, and saw a dusting of snow over everything. Waking up daughter was never so quick. The word ‘snow’ was enough to have her jump out of the bed and run straight to the window. ‘Wooow!’, she said, and went on to relay the news to Daddy.

The day soon progressed with us getting ready for school. Just before stepping out, I glanced out of the window and saw gently falling, light snow flakes. That looked so peaceful and beautiful. That would be an enjoyable walk to school, I thought.

We stepped out, locked the door, and started walking when the snow suddenly became heavy – really heavy. We had snow flying into our eyes, and mouth. We could hardly see where we were going. After minutes of walking in the snow, daughter totally fed up says, ‘I asked for snow, not a SNOW STORM!

 

29 thoughts on “The longing …

  1. Haha!!!!! So cute… I read about the snow in the north this morning… Being out of Chicago, some part of me is also missing snow… from what I gather, snow in London = city being stopped = hot coffee and snuggling in with a book. Not bad, I think!

  2. Hahah ๐Ÿ˜€ Poor you!!
    Your daughter is too cute ๐Ÿ™‚

    Just before stepping out, I glanced out of the window and saw gently falling, light snow flakes.
    I was just imagining this scene of the snowflakes….sigh…

  3. you had SNOW already .. we havenot got it yet .. though tonight they say it migh ..

    It was really heavy in the morning, and it completely stopped by 11:00. Now it is actually sunny ๐Ÿ™‚ All the best ๐Ÿ™‚

    and ooops on snow storm ๐Ÿ™‚

    I Know!

  4. because children love snow poohi is super duper cute ๐Ÿ™‚

    I don’t think she is going to ‘ask for snow’ in the near future ๐Ÿ™‚

    uff at snow storm ๐Ÿ˜ฆ on the lighter note..recalled the line เคฆเฅ‡เคจเฅ‡ เคตเคพเคฒเคพ เคœเคฌเคญเฅ€ เคฆเฅ‡เคคเคพ ,เคฆเฅ‡เคคเคพ เค›เคชเฅเคชเคฐ เคซเคพเคกเคผ เค•เฅ‡ ๐Ÿ™‚
    I swear! That is so true ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Ha ha ha! She is so sweetly right ๐Ÿ™‚
    That is one dream I want to be fulfilled. Watching snow flakes falling all over ๐Ÿ™‚ Sigh! We just missed it in Shimla ๐Ÿ˜ฆ There ws snow all around but no snowfall!

    Waiting for the pics ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I wish I could exchange places with you ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It is horrible today – no snow, but all the roads are icy. Cant walk, can’t drive, and have to get that child to school – because she had her concert filming today!

      • Dont talk of Snow girls… we are having a Summer in December !!!!

        Add to that I bought so many sweaters for Mrs and Junior from my Shimla trip and they havent been worn once !!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. Buhahahahaha !!! Thats what happens to people who keep ‘longing’ !!! ๐Ÿ™‚ adhikam aayaal amruthum vesham ennu kettittilley??? right proverb at the wrong situation, eh?? oh well, you understood what I meant, rt ? ๐Ÿ˜›

  7. lol!!! Well trust God for not giving things in small measures ๐Ÿ˜›

    Yeah ๐Ÿ™‚ Trust god for that ๐Ÿ™‚

    But yes I too love Snow though have experienced it only once ๐Ÿ™‚

    Snow is nice if you can stay at home the whole day ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Hahaha! Kunju is a darling! God, Smits for the nth time I envy you! How I wish I could just fly by and join you guys in the walk in the snow! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy, girls! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You wouldn’t call us lucky if you saw us walking to school today ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It took us 25 minutes to reach there. All the roads were icy, and we slipped and fell a bunch of times ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It was a complete horror! Couldn’t take the car, because driving was equally dangerous. I met three mums who had accidents this morning ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Am just keeping my fingers crossed that the ice melts by afternoon, or we will have to do it all again …

      • Oh Oh! :(. That must have been hard! Dont the schools close for winter? If it has started snowing so bad already, they should declare it and spare the poor kids the horror of travelling up and down in this bad weather,na ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

        • We have just 2 weeks of hols – from christmas to new year. And the snow has stopped – it stopped yesterday itself. Today, because of the sub zero temp, all the moisture on the roads, have frozen, making it dangerous, but not dangerous enough to shut down schools ๐Ÿ™‚

          I hope tomorrow is better, because Kunju has her Christmas concert, and is super excited about it ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I obviously can’t ask for snow but I know how it is poohi coz when I love rains but sometimes the place gets flooded and its then that I think did I ask for this??? ๐Ÿ˜€

So, what do you think?

