Freebie love

I hadn’t realized how many freebies I had collected over the last few years.

One of the stores here, has offers on and off, giving away tiny samples of their products if we spend more than a certain amount on some of their products. And sucker for such stuff, that I am, I totally totally fall for them. Every single time, I end up buying stuff just to get those goody bags. To be honest, I do use stuff from this store, so I justify it by saying that I just end up buying things I will use, with a bonus gift to go with it.  I was tidying up my stuff, when I realized how much I have been hoarding. Stuff that I never touch. Eye-make-up, lipliners, what was I thinking? And this is after giving away loads. I remember a blue eye-liner, that I gave away to someone who loved it 🙂 She thought I was crazy to not use it. Some of the stuff I really like – like hand creams, and even some nail paint. A shade that I would have never bought, but tried it because it came free, and loved it! That still did not get me to go and buy that shade again, because it was such an outrageous pink, but that is another story!

Here is my loot, what is left of it. I haven’t picked up a ‘free gift’ in some time. Time to go shopping, don’t you think? Have to replenish stock, don’t I?

When I think about it, what draws me to freebies is not just the contents, but the whole process of it, you know. The gift packs come in a box, or in a little purse or bag. There is something magical about opening a present, an unknown, you know. Yes, it is not totally unknown, but I still love it! Each sample, that is in there, somehow makes me happy – in way things that I buy never do. Is the fact that it is free? I guess, and the whole packaging of it, like a gift, I think that certainly makes me very happy.

I just realized that I have passed on my genes ,those genes that lust for freebies, to daughter. The other day, she wanted ot go to that restaurant, where children get toys( some of her friends had been to MacDonalds – we plan to steer clear of it as long as we can). Apparently she does not want to restaurants where they only give paper and colouring pens – too boring. That free toy, no matter how useless it is, still carries that ‘fun’ element of an unknown gift, I suppose!

While I know that there is no free lunch, that is certainly not stopping me from getting free stuff when I can!

21 thoughts on “Freebie love

  1. ah ha freebies You know i got so many of those Happy meals and all .. and when i go to india they all come handy in making the kids happy the little ones 🙂

    That is an idea 🙂 I don’t go to MacDs because I am paranoid of daughter loving the place 🙂 I know kids who refuse to leave a shopping mall without going there- just for the free gift – so I steer clear, plus I am not too excited about daughter eating there.

    ANd yes i have this urge or fetish or whatever it is caled that any hotel i stay in i have ot bring back the soaps and shampoo’s I got TRuck loads of them 🙂

    Aha! Lots of people do that too. I don’t do that – I feel it adds to the clutter at home 🙂

    he he he he Good one little one .. 🙂 good for her yes after all it depends what we get to decide what restaurant to go tooo and she is right 🙂 he he heh

    She does not get to go there, though 🙂

  2. A lot of people I know tell me its a very Indian trait. 😀 .. I have no idea and no enthusiasm to think or verify that. Lol.
    I like freebies as long as they don’t give you junk for the heck of it. Your stuff seems so good!

  3. Pepper you know what..a lot of people have told ME that as well..its a very Indian trait..but who cares..as long as the freebies are there, we go and get them 🙂

    @Smitha: this baby of yours is getting smarter by the day 🙂

    • I certainly don’t care, as far as I get my freebies 🙂 Smart daughter? Well, she has a smarter mother who makes sure that she goes nowhere close to McDs!

  4. As the above commenters say, it is a typical Indian trait, esp. in Chennai everything is offered with a free accompaniment! Or people will bargain…if they don’t get it, they just leave. GR Thannga maaligai, a jeweller, always quotes a price first, nearly 25-30% more and then reduces saying ‘ungalukkaaga kuraichchirukkaen’! First I thought he was remembering our faces and reducing, but, no, he was doing it for everyone! If people bargain more, they get 1% discount extra!

    Discount even for gold! Wow! That sure must be a crowd puller 🙂 But then, I wonder how much he must be inflating his prices to be able to afford so many discounts!

    I have got some 21 Tropicana free plastic boxes, which I don’t know what to do!

    Am sure you will find some use for them 🙂

    When we too are suckers for free gifts, it is no wonder, Poohi goes for free toys…at least she will definitely play with them!

  5. Me too love freebies and I get them only if I feel I can use them… usually it will be balls these days..

    Earlier had huge craze on boomer tattoos and the big fun cricket cards 🙂 🙂

  6. hmm freebies…now that you’ve written about it I’m wondering whether I love them in this form I mean? 🙂 usually here we get sachet of shampoos,creams et al as freebie stuff..so may that’s why I’m not very keen on them cause half of the stuff is what I never use 🙂

    I give away a lot of these freebies. These are just some of the remaining ones, and I am actually surprised that I still have so many 🙂

    Oh yes, one freebie gift that I fell for was a Revlon clutch. There was some scheme that if I buy 3 nail polishes I get that clutch for free…and I any way was looking for a shade or two so following this scheme I purposely purchased 3 and got that awesome black Revlon clutch 🙂

    That must have been totally worth it! Yes, I had a few of those too. I gave away most of the clutches, because I don’t use them 😦

  7. ooh! I loved your collection of freebies! 😀

    You get loads in the US too! Am sure some will come your way.
    I haven’t gotten any yet, but I’m quite sure I would be thrilled to be given free cosmetics!!

    Come here if you want free cosmetics 🙂
    Blue-eyeliner?! perfect!! I love such colours! 😀

    Now I know what to get you when we meet 🙂

  8. I think I love freebies not for what is inside it, but like you said the packing and the whole process. I am a sucker for little bags and pouches that holds these samples 😥 I keep the wrapping and usually give away the stuffs if I don’t use them 😆

    ‘I am a sucker for little bags and pouches that holds these samples ‘ – Me too! They package them so cutely, don’t they? As I said the whole thing makes it so much fun!

    Amen to keeping Poohi away from McD. My boy says proudly about how McD food is all junk and not good for his health but you should see his disappointed face when he sees their ad where they show the Toy for the season 😐

    Aww! Poor S! But then I am sure he wil thank you in the years to come. Poohi has not seen commercials of McDs – so she is quite oblivious to it 🙂 Apart from what her friends tell her 🙂

  9. Where do you get this free stuff?? I have never got anything free at the shops like that! But I admit, gotta love the freebies. I used to go to all these talks and functions just for free food during uni days! 🙂

So, what do you think?

