We’re jumping on the bandwagon as well.. Post 27

.. the Kindle one, that is.

After talking, and discussing, and wondering, and pondering, we decided to go in for a Kindle. I had written about how I find real books far more fun, far more my way of reading. Well, it looks like we have been converted. Actually husband was always convinced that this was the way forward, I was the clingy, ‘refusing to let go of my books’ person. And now I have been convinced too.

I still plan to read books – real books, that is. I somehow, cannot give up books for an electronic device all that quickly. Especially, since we have the most wonderful library system here. I just love the huge library, full of books, and that wonderful feeling of browsing through the library holding books in my hand.. Yes, I am old-fashioned like that. An electronic device cannot give me that happiness, or so I feel. What finally tipped the balance towards Kindle is the fact that we are returning to India next year. Which means that I would have to buy books, instead of borrowing them – most of the libraries I have been to in India had been disappointing. I am hoping that things have changed, though. So given the fact that I would be buying more than I do now, I felt that Kindle would make more sense. More eco-friendly perhaps?

Husband has already ordered the first book he wants to read. I am still in my real book mode. I do plan to make full use of it during my India holiday. Instead of carrying books around, I could download them on the Kindle. Oh, now, I am excited! I am now waiting for it to be delivered! I can’t help wonder how we are going to decide who gets the kindle. I am sure we are going to be fighting over it ๐Ÿ™‚ Husband says he has first right on it , ‘Coz he’s the man’, and apparently men have first right over gadgets. We’ll see, shall we ๐Ÿ˜‰ This gadget might be a different ball game altogether.

Why do I feel like a turncoat, though? I wish I could push away that feeling of being ‘disloyal’, about turning my back on ‘real books’…

So all you Kindle owners, how do you find it? Are you happy with it? I know I should have asked this before ordering one… better late than never? And does it really feel the same as reading a ‘real book’? And how long did it take before you stopped reading ‘real books’ altogether?

 

25 thoughts on “We’re jumping on the bandwagon as well.. Post 27

  1. I got my 12 yr old the nook last year for Xmas. She loves it. I have not touched it till date. Then I got the iPad 2 4 weeks ago. And downloaded an app called iBooks. Because I wanted to read a book for my book club which was taking too long in my library system. Bought the book, downloaded it and sat to read. And almost instantly hated it. It just felt strange. I read the first ten pages and stopped reading.

    Oh dear! I hope it does not come to that for me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Fingers crossed. I have heard that the nook is rather good.

    Eventually I made myself finish the book but I don’t think I am reading another on ereader again ever.

    I am getting a little scared now!

  2. I wouldn’t buy a Kindle now. I was tempted earlier.
    I feel the money is now better spent on an IPAD 2

    It’s now available in India for a little over Rs 29000/- with 16GB and Wifi. Pay about 4500 extra get a 3G enabled Ipad2.
    It does all that a Kindle does and much more.

    We did the analysis.. And came to the conclusion that we wanted just a reader. We both have smart phones for everything else, and Kindle seemed perfect for what we are looking at. And the IPAD, apparently, as a reader, is not as good as Kindle..

    Anyway good luck with your Kindle.
    Regards
    GV

    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ And we can always buy the IPAD as the second buy, if we are dissatisfied with the Kindle.

    • There is one great advantage that the Kindle has over a printed book.

      No one will borrow your Kindle!

      I have lost count of the number of books that I lent to friends and relatives and never received back.

      Update:

      I went to the local I Store to get myself an Apple Ipad2
      I have been planning to buy one for the past four weeks.
      It’s sold out.
      Not a single store in Bangalore has an Ipad2 in stock just now.
      They advised me to try after 10 days when fresh stocks would arrive.
      I offered to pay in advance and book it.
      They declined and told me they will keep my number and would call me if stocks arrived and it was upto me to get to their shop in double quick time before even this stock was sold out.

      It’s a seller’s market for now as far as this product is concerned.

      Regards
      GV

    • LOL, now that is a good idea ๐Ÿ˜‰ You know what Smitha, you should let N keep the Kindle, since he claimed it first. And then you should get yourself an iPad ๐Ÿ˜‰ He he he ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. no you are not a traitor or anything..if its easier to carry around and gives you the same satisfaction..why not? though I still recommend a solid printed book, a bag of spicy chips and nice maaza lying down on a hammock ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I think having an ebook reader makes sense, given that its super portable, you can carry so many books at the same time. Kindle is amazing, I like the fact that you need actual light to read from the Kindle, so no strain on your eyes . When you do come back to India, you will have flipkart.com for all your reading needs ! ๐Ÿ™‚ If you come back to Bangalore, you will have mylib.in as well .

    • I really like that too – ‘ I like the fact that you need actual light to read from the Kindle, so no strain on your eyes ‘! We are coming back to Bangalore – that is home for me ๐Ÿ™‚ That sounds wonderful!

  5. I’ve been using my Kindle for around 4 months now and it’s great. I don’t step out of the house w/o it in my bag. You get access to the new releases first and get to sample before you buy. The battery life is unbelievable.

    That sounds wonderful! Yes, all the reviews I read said the same thing.

    I do suggest that you buy 2 of them though! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s highly likely that you’ll both refuse to let go.

    I do think that, it is a distinct possibility ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. u know i am going through the same dilemma. i love my books and i love to hold them and read them, the feel, the smell.
    but then there is the whole thing about convenience and availability. so i am confused if i should convert or not..

    • I will let you know how I find it. I am the same – I love my books but after weighing the options, I do feel that Kindle does have it’s advantages..

  7. Oh Smitha! I am old-fashioned that way too ๐Ÿ˜‰ There is such joy in browsing books and picking them like that!
    I do not hv a very big library nearby and so hv ordering so many books on flipkart!

    I know – I plan to try Flipkart the next time I am in India. I have heard so much about FlipKart from you!

    U r nw sort of convincing me to buy one bcoz I still carry books to read on trains and stuff! So may be this is a good idea for such times ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Yes, I think it is convenient when we are away from home.. As in we can carry loads of books on a Kindle ):

    And am soo waiting for that next yr thing ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yes – just a year to go now.

  8. R is hooked to his e-reader and he has only good things to say about it. While I’m still not very comfortable with it. Guess I’m in love with my real books way too much to shift my loyalty :).

    Happy e-reading ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Deeps, I hope we like it too.. I love my books too – to be honest, I am a little worried about how much I will like my ereader.. And I do think until we are here, I will still continue on my library trips and reading my ‘real books’ ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. As a kid, I used to sleep with books. That oddity is long gone, but my love for books lives on.

    Well, I still have books near me, while sleeping. Because I always read in bed,

    I bought the Kindle last year and have never looked back since. It’s the best thing money can buy besides food!

    Wonderful! That makes me happier to know.

    My Kindle is crammed with books…including The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie.

    Wow! I am so excited already!

    By the way, if you’re a blog or news junkie, you should try Instapaper. It has a special feature allowing web posts to be automatically formatted and delivered to the Kindle. It works like a charm.

    I sure will – that makes sense!

    If you are into RSS and want automated posts to your Kindle, visit http://www.kindlefeeder.com/.

    Oh even better! I will be getting in touch with you on all my Kindle doubts ๐Ÿ™‚

    If you want free Amazon books for the Kindle, lemme know. I have resources to cram your Kindle in no time and at no cost!
    Will do! Sure will! Thanks loads for all the pointers!

  10. oh I have said what u felt multiple times I thought I would hate the kindle but its actually good. the key is to go back to touching books once in while… it works well from every angle I would say enivormment and the space at home

So, what do you think?

