Appliance love – Post 26

What is the one appliance which really makes life easy for you?

I am a kitchen appliance person. Every time I see an new appliance, my heart beats faster, unfortunately. Unfortunately because living a nomadic life in a rental house means that every new thing I buy means, more to transport the next time we shift houses/cities.

The one time that I bought things with gay abandon, was in Bangalore 7ish years ago. It is another story that I had to pack it all up in storage boxes, and they stay in storage boxes in Bangalore after all these years. When we first moved to the UK, we were sure of just the next six months. That meant that we bought only the bare essentials.Of course, renting out fully furnished apartments did make it easier. It was after 3 years there that I bought a full fledged, fancy food processor, mainly because husband had moved to a UK based company, and it meant that we could chose when to return to India, and were not at the mercy of the company we worked for. Then on, we started to get a little more adventurous. Little appliances, that caught our fancy, we would buy. I now have a few little things, which I tell myself, will be easy to ship to India, although husband maintains that it will be cheaper to buy there rather ship all these things from here.

Among all these things, the one appliance that I am deeply thankful for, is one that I did not buy, it came with this house. My dishwasher. Husband had been quite insistent that we look for a house with a dishwasher, but when it got down to house hunting, with all the criteria that we have, a dishwasher was one that got knocked off, quite early in the search. Given the condition of rental properties here, getting a rental property in an area we liked, is difficult enough. The last move of ours though, we got lucky. We found a house, which fit our requirements almost entirely, and had a dishwasher! Funnily enough, it was the only house, husband and I saw together – all the other viewings, I had done by myself. Does that make him lucky, I wonder?

Anyway, getting back to the topic of my dishwasher, I have actually come to recognize how much it eases my life. The pure pleasure of stacking the dishes, and pressing a button. Knowing that after a long, tiring party, I don’t have to worry about washing every dish that I own, or that I can use that fancy food processor, because I don’t need to wash all those fiddly parts anymore, knowing that by the time I get back after the school run, the dishes will be sparkling in the dishwasher.

Makes me wonder if getting a dishwasher is a feasible option in India? Sounds better than a maid, doesn’t it? No worrying about whether or not, she’ll turn up, or maids going on holidays? So, do tell me, do you know if it is a feasible option in India?

 

24 thoughts on “Appliance love – Post 26

  1. It’s the D/W for me too! Washing dishes by hand has got to be the most painful chore ever. At least when you cook, you look forward to the end results. But when you do dishes….who cares?!

  2. my MIL has one, but what she tells me is that it washes only china crockery well. For the steel utensils she has here in India she still needs a maid. Since she has a maid, i usually find the dishwasher being used as a storage for all the crockety she has…:D

  3. No idea about using a dish washer as i have not seen anyone using here in india cause we have maid option but what u said is right,with dish washer no need of waiting for the maid and no need to be behind her to clean properly with less amount of water.

    I love my microwave which i brought it from dubai…

  4. ha ha ha, its washing machine for me. I hate hate hate washing clothes, in fact I even find putting wet clothes for drying and then folding them back in after drying quite cumbersome. Precisely why I love the dryer option in washing machines. I am actually waiting with bated breath for that day when someone will invent a washing machine which will take care of the folding of clothes too πŸ˜†

    Deeps – that would be a wonderful invention! Getting the clothes all folded! and ironed πŸ™‚

  5. I don’t really think its a feasible option in India and moreover having maid is fun sometimes… You can keep talking to them while doing your daily chores…. πŸ˜€

  6. Nope!
    It won’t work with Indian cooking.
    Our food is too oily.

    Oh 😦 I don’t cook oily – so I still have some hope πŸ™‚

    We don’t use crockery as much as we use stainless steel.

    That is a point – unless we shift to crockery entirely.

    Besides, most of us don’t have space in our kitchens and you need to do special plumbing perhaps?

    Oh yes! That is true – not easy to make all those changes in a kitchen – unless we plan to design a kitchen from scratch.

    As forgottogrowup rightly said,it will merely become a container for crockery.
    With maids easily available, this is one item which is rather low in our list of priorities.

    True. But I guess with the horror stories with maids that we get to hear, I can’t help wonder..

    I saw this for the first time at my daughter’s place in USA where she lives.
    I never felt we should have one at home here in India.

    Blognostic is right. Husbands make good dishwashers!

    πŸ™‚ That depends on the husband I guess πŸ™‚
    Regards
    GV
    (Occasional family Dishwasher)

    Welcome here GV !

    (Came here,this lazy Sunday afternoon, hopping from blog to blog via Shail’s nest and looking for a place to litter with my comments)

    Your comments are wonderful πŸ™‚ Thanks for chosing my blog for your comments πŸ™‚

  7. Dishwasher – Sounds interesting..my aunt got it installed..but didnt like it one bit because she says she doesnt get the satisfaction of cleaning with real hands..its like the Washing machine Smitha, I dont like the washing machine because I think it doesnt clean properly! Weird family we are πŸ™‚

  8. My aunt bought one, but ws nt really satisfied with its performance πŸ˜‰ She hs now gone back to saying our maids are the best, even if they bunk often, hv their own sweet needs πŸ˜› and come at whatever time they want to!

  9. There are good dishwasher available in India, but people still not ready to use dishwasher over the maid, I see them cribbing its not meant for Indian type cooking, but here I do Indian cooking and I don’t wash anything using hand..I think its the mindset we have to change.

  10. I love love love my dishwasher. But I cannot live without my washing machine. I don’t mind doing the dishes, but clothes are a big No No πŸ™‚ Btw, Smitha, a neighbour in India actually has a dishwasher. I can find out from them how feasible it is. Do you want me to?

    • Washing machine is a default – there is no question of not having a washing machine – at all πŸ™‚

      I would love to know if it works – because I can’t see why it won’t, you know..

      • I don’t want to prejudice your thinking.
        But I just would not buy this in India.

        I saw it in action last year at my daughter’s place in California. My daughter proudly demonstrated it to me and was rather disappointed that I didn’t look too impressed.

        You weren’t impressed ? πŸ™‚ I guess we got tired of washing all the dishes by ourselves πŸ™‚ Esp after a party – it gets painful

        I wasn’t too impressed with her super sophisticated washing machine either.
        It would even dry the clothes fully.

        πŸ™‚ You are tough to impress. I have a great dryer too – but I prefer using the clothesline when it is sunny and bright. But the dryer is very useful in the bleak winter months, when nothing dries here. But in India, I agree- it is not required -we don’t have any dearth of sunshine there.

        I preferred to hang my clothes out to dry on a clothesline. It was fairly sunny and also breezy. Putting the clips on, and taking the clothes off the clothesline, clean, dry and fresh, after a couple hours in sun, folding and sorting them, gave me something to do during those long and lonely hours inside the house, while the couple was out working in their offices.

        πŸ™‚ Yes, I can understand that πŸ™‚

        Keeping the clothes cooped up inside the drier and spending all that electric energy to dry it when nature could do a fine job of it, was what put me off. I told my daughter so. She just dismissed my opinions and told me I didn’t know how to live!

        πŸ™‚ Here most people do use clotheslines in summer and whenever it is sunny, actually, I think, in the UK, people are more conscious of energy usage.
        Anyway, do what you feel is best for you. We old fellows are rigid in our thoughts and prejudices and won’t change.

        πŸ™‚ We will have to figure it out when we get there.. And I have a feeling that I will change my tune once there.
        How much will it cost? Any idea?
        Let me know how much I am saving by not buying it.
        πŸ™‚ I have no idea as of now!
        Regards
        GV

      • Smithu, the reasons that go against buying a dishwasher in India are:

        1) Water supply may be problematic
        2) The machine might Rust
        3) Power cuts or fear of increasing electricity bill!
        4) People might dump the utensils into the machine without clearing the junk and end up clogging the drain
        5) Repair facilities – whether or not available
        6) And lastly, the easy availability of cheap labour that will do the job!!

  11. I think I am obsessed with my washing machine like that…never had the opportunity of owning a dish-washer….when it comes to it, I think I’ll go for it…. πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

