Nothing much to talk about… Post 18

My weekend began today.

No, it was not a long weekend, but we had a fun baby shower planned for 3 friends – yes, three pregnant friends – it is baby season here, for sure πŸ™‚

It was a long, busy, fun day. I had foolish hope that I would get some time to post, but clearly, my expectations were anything but realistic. So I end up on a Friday evening, exhausted, and with no idea of what to post. I do have post ideas running through my mind, but no energy left to actually draft a post. Guess I will have to wait for that.

This afternoon, I ended up in daughter’s school without a jacket. It was a cold, cold day, with showers and wind, and I looked like a mad woman for sure, standing in the school grounds, shivering. I could not help wish I had skin like hers. Daughter, for one, does not mince words, ‘Amma, you are silly! Why have you not worn your jacket?’ Did wonders for my confidence, I tell you! In my defence, I was in such a hurry to reach school that I forgot my jacket at my friend’s place. The weather, of course, does exactly as it always does. It pours when you do not have anything to protect yourself from it, but of course, the sun will shine if you go prepared with jackets, forcing you to take it off!

See, every time I have nothing much to talk about, out comes the ‘weather-talk’. That should show how ‘British’ we have become πŸ˜‰

20 thoughts on “Nothing much to talk about… Post 18

  1. “every time I have nothing much to talk about, out comes the β€˜weather-talk’”

    Gosh, I do that too! Only just realized that!

    PS: When I first read StuffWhitePeopleLike.com I was nodding my head vigorously and wondering how I became so “white” without realizing it πŸ™‚

  2. You are right… Weather is the most befitting n neutral and most interesting topic whereever we are… Works fine always. And i thought i was turning dutch πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ So it is a common characteristic globally πŸ™‚

    Btw, i never ever step out without jacket even when its 30 degrees πŸ™‚ so much for bad experiences n unpredictable weather

    Same here, but I was worried about being late to school and forgot my jacket in my hurry 😦

  3. Ha ha ha, trust our kids to give us reality check πŸ˜€

    And Smits, I’ve told so many times…you are most welcome to come and take all the sunshine from here! Its getting miserably hot here 😦

    πŸ™‚ I wish, I wish, Deeps πŸ™‚ That would have been the perfect solution.

  4. Of course, talking about weather works well all the time when you have nothing to talk about. For example, while chatting on phone, when you run out of topics, you ask about weather…and you can ask this question irrespective of who you are talking to πŸ™‚

    Welcome here, Reema πŸ™‚ Yes, the weather is a very safe and versatile topic πŸ™‚

  5. ha ha I totally agree…. only once you are in the UK do you realize the prime importance of weather in your life!! You are totally Brit now πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

  6. wowo so many new babies coming in the world ..
    yeah i know the weather stupid british weather .. it was so nice and warm toay and now its all cloudy and COLD..

    And I agree your comment that living here drives home the facts as to how important weather is

  7. But the Brits are always obssessed with the weather na..when i was there, thats all was needed to start a conversation πŸ™‚ and LOL on daughter’s scolding πŸ˜‰

  8. LOL !!! Whenever I carry an umbrella, it never rains….so, I stopped carrying an umbrella for a long time now…it sounds silly, but I am having the strongest belief that the umbrella in my bag is a rain-stopper…. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    Talk abt the sun and the moon – LOL !!! πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: All you need is a son.. « Any Excuse to Write…

So, what do you think?

