I count my blessings.. Post 17

..every time that I go to daughter’s school.

We had an open morning at school, where parents are invited to come in and observe how their children work at school. It is an amazing experience, and every time I go for an open morning, I come back impressed.

Impressed at the teachers’ patience, the gentle way in which they impart knowledge. I could see every child participating, every child was involved, at some level or the other.

What I really liked was the way the slightly fidgety , not exactly naughty, but more disinterested children were handled. There was a child who was more interested in doing whatever pleased her rather than participate in their group’s activity(the children are divided into groups, and each group was doing a separate activity).  The teacher who was handling the group, would gently bring the child’s attention back to the activity. Gently but firmly, not once losing her temper. I was amazed at her efforts.Eventually, the child started participating. Even when children give the wrong answers, they are just asked to try again and then congratulated when they do come up with the right answer. You could see how the positivity helped the children focus, and improve at what they were doing. By the end of that 15 minute activity, all the children were equally involved and focused. Each activity worked towards a  specific goal. Activities which looked like fun, actually taught them counting, handling money, adding, taking away…

I had written about how we learn better when we enjoy what we learn, sometime back. It just gets reinforced when I see the way daughter’s school works. The children genuinely bond with the teachers, they wait to go to school, last time one of the children hugged the teacher as soon as they got in the class. I was so touched. It just showed to me how much the teachers cared for the children.

Despite the gentle approach, not one child misbehaved. Most of the children were vying to answer questions, they knew the protocol they had to follow, and any time they digressed, all they needed was a gentle reminder from the teachers. Who says children won’t learn unless they are forced?

I might have said this before, but I want to put it on record again, I truly feel glad, that daughter is able to go to a school like this. Where she feels secure, happy and is learning so much.

18 thoughts on “I count my blessings.. Post 17

  1. i did some voluntary work in a school ages ago, I lerned a lot of patience from there ..

    I doubt I would ever be able to be as patient as the teachers there! They are amazing!

    in india it was different but then thats india..

    here its different both have good and bad points .. :)

    I am sure, both have good and bad points, but for me a school which makes every child welcome, included and happy, is a wonderful school.

    I ma gladd Poohie is having a lovely time unlike me what i had in my school ..

    and guess what i missed the spot today :)

  2. Kunju is truly fortunate to be going to this wonderful school with such loving caring and understanding teachers around to guide. So happy for her, Smits.

    I so agree, a school which provides a secure and happy environment makes a world of difference in shaping our child’s future:)

  3. Quick….tell me the name of the school..
    I’m relocating to UK and …er…having my baby there!! :D :

    Your daughter is truly lucky to stay in an environment like that. I can’t say if she would have had the same atmosphere if she were in India…

  4. Good to know poohi is studying in such a good school…first few years are foundation years and school has big role in developing child thoughts/habits…
    In India too now a days schools are adopting techniques for UK/US and are putting equal importance to studies and extra activities..Though its different story that they charge too much :-)

  5. Lovely Smithu! Loved the environment that Poohi is getting in that school.

    I hv seen quite a few schools in India now following such nice methods too! Esp. loved the fun maths and science ideas. We have infact made our own kits like that, to teach in govt. schools now :)

  6. It is such a blessing when kids get such solid foundation right from the beginning.

    We almost always put down government schools. It was a pleasant shock reading about some schools in Kerala which does amazing work.

    You have given me fodder for my next post, thank you :-)

  7. I used to make the excuse of stomach ache everyday when I was Poohi’s age to not go to school. :P
    Says a lot about how a child feels in her school right?
    I bet kids in her school would never want to do that :-)

So, what do you think?

