Evenings like these… Post 11

These days, most of our evenings are packed. After school activities, playdates swallow up so much time. We barely have time for dinner before it is bedtime.

Today, daughter announced as soon as I picked her up from school, that she had thrown up at school, and that she felt ill. She wanted to go home and rest. Today was her ballet day, and normally, we rush from school to the ballet class. I had come prepared(with snacks and her ballet paraphernalia) to do the usual routine, but decided to not go to the class, as she looked miserable.

So this evening, we decided to spend time together doing whatever she wanted. So she made me play with her doll house, then we played ‘hairdressers‘, and we had a serious discussion on the environment. On why we should avoid taking the car to nearby places, and why we should walk instead, on how the environment gets polluted. We also discussed religion but that requires a post of it’s own.

It was such an interesting discussion, and I tried to make it as simple as possible for her. It is amazing how much a child can understand, if we just make the effort of presenting information in away that they can comprehend it. I am not sure how much of all this she will remember, but I do hope that discussing things like this will open up her mind to things.

But what I liked most was that, It was after a long time, that we were not rushing around, or trying to get through with the work that needs doing, or having dinner. It was just an evening, without any agenda, but an evening which was unexpectedly special. An evening, where we did things we wanted to, not because it needed doing. While her activities and everything are certainly fun, once in a while, a relaxed, easy evening has it’s own charm. I think the biggest difference today was that I was completely relaxed too. I did not have things on my mind. I was not looking at the clock, every 10 minutes. Not going to the ballet class freed up so Β time for us.

I had such a wonderful time with her, that I am tempted to bunk classes and do this again. But then I am sure it would have lost it’s novelty then πŸ™‚

* This post was written yesterday, today has just started for me here*

26 thoughts on “Evenings like these… Post 11

  1. Sometimes we don’t realise how hectic life we lead and it is these free moments which make u realise what was being missed !

    May u get more such free times πŸ™‚

  2. Blesss.. thankfully i refuse to work weekends so i do get some ME time in the two days…
    but now summer is here the wedding season has started so i dont see that happening cause its wedding to attend and i hate it cause the whole days goes waste ..

    Here’s wishing that you get pleanty of free -relaxed-happy time with Poohi and WITHOUT her throwing up …

    Hope she is ok now ..

  3. Hopped here πŸ™‚ Thats so sweet rey…getting a free evening with the little one is one of the best things in life na :)Hope Poohi is feeling better now

  4. O lovely,,,thats so so wonerful to have such unplanned evenings that too with our lovely kids..
    i miss this too..life is always rushing and we are rushing slong with it.

    HOpe u get more times like this..and hope she is feeling well.

  5. Oh I soo luv such times when we hv no agenda πŸ˜€ Husband bunked(!?!) office today and I hd such a relaxed time dng nothing too πŸ˜›

    Hope Poohi is feeling better now.

    And am sooo waiting for that post on religion πŸ™‚

  6. I can’t wait for the post on your discussion πŸ˜€
    Looks like mum had more fun playing than the kid πŸ˜€
    May you get many more such evenings.
    Ps: Poohi better now?

  7. Hope Pohi is feeling better now! πŸ™‚
    yup.. evenings like this are very special! πŸ™‚
    Its nice to know mom and daughter had a great time! πŸ™‚

  8. Great post, Smitha! I remembered my conversations with my son, when he was small! He used to ask questions 24 hours a day and we used to call him ‘yein, yedukku’…What, Why…! This questioning habit has taken him to places where I wouldn’t have thought he would be, Smitha!

    Poohi is going to be like him, one day! Love to her and you, Smitha!

  9. Sometimes the regular routine in our life take all our time and energy that we don’t have time to be relaxed and think something different. I am so glad you and Poohi had a nice evening. I hope you have many more such relaxed days ahead..

    • Sometimes I wonder too.. but on the whole, I don’t mind classes which she really enjoys, knowing that we go for these classes because she loves them, you know.

      As for playdates, I have reached a point where we don’t have the time for playdates on weekdays. We have play dates only during term breaks when we don’t have these regular classes.

So, what do you think?

